Liz’s recent sewing

Stretch knit black & white print

Stretch knit summer skirt

Pink & black floral skirt

These are some of the pics of my recent sewing. All made on my Janome sewing machines and serger. I would not dream of sewing clothing without my 5 thread serger: seams are done quickly and cleanly and stretch fabrics are so much easier on a serger. However, interesting to note that I made the black & white skirt entirely on the Janome Horizon (in a hotel room while I was “away” from my serger) and I think this one is my fav. of all 3 skirts. The Janome Horizon handled the 4 way stretch knit with ease and the result is lovely.

Great fun and wonderful to have some new and unique garments in my closet: Black & pink floral skirt pattern: Lotus Skirt from the Sewing Workshop collection. This skirt is a little more involved to make but is well worth the effort.  Has side zipper and front & back yokes. However, I eliminated yokes & zipper on this skirt to make elastic pull-on/easy to sew & wear.

Other 2 skirts are Kwik Sew with straight hem on one & angled hem on the black & white skirt. Dead easy and quick to make – Only 3 pattern pieces with elastic waist so no zipper. Cut out & sew up to completion in a couple of hours. I could keep going but have now made 3 so I think it best I choose another pattern for variety in my closet.

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in 1200D Serger, Horizon MC7700QCP, Janome Sewing Machine, MC 6600P and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your comments

