Eye Candy

I finally found it! As I had mentioned in my very first blog, I love to look at beautiful things and be inspired by them. I had taken this picture of this pillow in the show room windows located in the International Centre, during the spring Creativ Festival last year. When I saw the woven strips,  I thought of our 1200D Professional, 5-thread serger.  It has so many optional accessories, including a belt loop foot. The foot automatically folds under the edges of strips of fabric, and then using the cover hem stitch, it top stitches and finishes the underside. I can purchase any home dec fabric or any other fabric for that matter and make the matching decorative accents. At the bottom of decriptions of the accessories for the 1200D, there is a link to download a manual on using all the optional accessories.

So here is my version. I created a few meters of strap and began laying them over my 16″ square of base fabric. I used a corkboard underneath so I could stab the pins into the strips as I figured out how to weave them. I started with the horizontal and vertical strips and then the diagonal. Lots of pins later, took it over to my sewing machine to sew around the perimeter. I am still trying to decide whether to use a single decorative stitch at each intersection or do some hand beading!

About LindaP

Educational Consultant for Janome Canada Ltd.
This entry was posted in 1200D Serger, Janome Accessories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your comments

