CURRENTLY LIVING OUT OF A SUITCASE!!

Hi to all the folk out there who make up our rapidly growing blog “audience”,

Once again, I feel as though it is ages since I last blogged……apologies but my excuse is that I am currently living out of a suitcase. Since the Labour day weekend, I have unpacked from one trip and immediatedly started packing for the next one. A long time back, I decided it was essential to have 2 sets of toiletries: one always packed & ready to go; the other in my bathroom at home. I find this so much less time consuming and easier.  This is, of course, a great reason to be sewing up little zipper bags to keep my things organized.  Sadly, I have not had the time or resources to have two sets of clothing! My turn-around time is often pretty short with so much “catching up” to do at the office, that I would simply NOT manage without my hubby who faithfully does the laundry and never complains when I use our home like a revolving door!  Thank you…..I know laundry is a mundane job, but it definitely takes some of the pressure off me and is greatly appreciated. He also does the cooking and makes me endless cups of tea…….yes, he is most definitely a hubby in a million.

OK, so it is way too early on a Sunday morning in Vancouver, but I am still on Saskatchewan time so figured now was as good a time as any to catch up with my blogging!!

The Edmonton show was great – we met so many happy Janome sewers and had some more wonderful Swop-a rama projects. The winner of the QDC 4030 went to a most deserving young lady  – as soon as I have a pic of her winning re-creation, I will post it on the blog.

It has come to my attention that some customers are not aware of where we will be traveling and presenting/promoting Janome so I thought it might be a good idea to let you all know where you can find this information. Since the beginning of April, we have been doing Janome Horizon Promotions – either Promotional presentations with demo’s or, since Labour Day, Horizon Test Drives where YOU have the opportunity of sitting down at this incredible new machine to sew and “TEST DRIVE” it. As I tell the folk who attend these sessions: I would always test drive a car before making a purchase decision and so we offer YOU the opportunity to do the same with this Janome sewing machine.

Of course, the colour of the car is also very important but we got it covered there too: our lovely red face plate on the Janome Horizon is universally admired!   

WHERE ARE WE DOING TEST DRIVES??

  1. Our dealers hosting the test drives would have/will be contacting selected customers directly – those who are interested in possibly upgrading their current sewing machine or buying a new one.
  2. The schedule of Horizon Test Drives has been published on this BLOG as well as on our www.janome.ca website. Any interested customers are welcome to contact the applicable dealer and attend the test drives. I realize we have already completed many of these, but we still do have some venues remaining, so please check out the website and phone your local dealer ASAP. Still coming up is Prince George Sewing Center, Prince George, BC  ; Tom’s Sewing Machines, Surrey, BC; and Linda’s Quilt Shop in Kelowna, BC. 

I (Liz) will also be doing my usual Fall Janome days event at Snip & Stitch in Nanaimo, BC on 29th & 30th October (please call the store for more details) + I will be visiting Sewing World in Calgary on 17th & 18th November for embroidery seminars: come and learn how to do my latest digitized project: Ribbon- couching-in-the-hoop.  I will show how to do the digitizing using the Janome Digitizing software and then YOU will stitch my ribbon-couched design out and sew it up into a pillow or tote bag   …..lots of fun and lots of opportunity to learn and ask me questions…………..phone today to reserve your spot as space in each session is limited.

We find it difficult to travel after mid November as we have been stranded too often before in winter weather which is not fun and can be dangerous out there driving between cities in a blizzard! Late one night a year or two back, I was filling up my rental car with gas in 24 below zero weather; the wind was like a knife going straight through me. It is really only on those occassions that I question my sanity in emigrating from South Africa to Canada! I also once sat almost a whole day in an airport watching a snow storm while I waited for a return flight to Vancouver – Maybe that was when I dreamed up these little Christmas decoration mittens while I waited not-so-patiently for that flight?? (Digitized using our Janome Digitizing software and embroidered in our Janome MC11000 embroidery machine – want more info & project instructions? Send me a comment and I will include it in a future blog)However, we will start our travel season again in February/March 2011, so we could conceivably be coming your way in 4-6 months time. 

  1. If we did not visit your dealer’s store this time, please ask your local Janome dealer to contact us about possibly including your local store on a future trip.
  2. You are also encouraged to visit our Facebook page to see what Marvin, our Janome Horizon mascot has been up to….see the blog post previous to this one. 
The Janome Adventures fan Page

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Horizon MC7700QCP, Janome Accessories, Janome Canada Sponsored, Janome Fun, Janome Sewing Machine, Marvin, MC 11000, Sewing, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to CURRENTLY LIVING OUT OF A SUITCASE!!

  1. Liz says:

    Yes, the embroidered pillow instructions were posted last week I think – days run into one another I am afraid!! But it’s there.
    Liz

    Like

  2. Susan Gibson says:

    I would love to get the pattern for your mittens.

    I spoke with you in Edmonton at the Janome booth about using the clothsetter for embroidery with the 350E. Please don’t forget to do a little blurb on it in your blog.

    It was very nice to meet and chat with you.

    Like

    • janomecanada says:

      Hi Susan- Thanks for stopping by. The Clothsetter is an awesome tool to make placement of designs a breeze. We will work on a tutorial on how to use it for the 350, and our other embroidery machines, soon. It is ‘on the list.’ Thanks for the suggestion! Deb @ JC

      Like

    • Liz says:

      Hi Susan,
      I will be happy to supply the mittens instructions. The actual embroidery design was digitized by me in our Janome software. I am not sure how I would include that on the blog but I will speak to the folk who handle our website & blog to see if it can be done. Failing this, I have detailed instructions of how to do the digitizing. Also have similar set of instructions for the little christmas stockings so will include that too. Won’t be in time for Christmas 2010 but you will have areal head start for 2011!!
      The clothsetter blog post went up earlier this month – check it out.
      Thanks for your comments.
      Liz

      Like

  3. Leah says:

    Those are cute mitts! Would love project instructions for those (or any other of your great projects)

    Like

Share your comments

