ANOTHER CHRISTMAS PROJECT IDEA: Christmas crackers

I made these about 3 years ago for Christmas gifts for friends & family. I popped a little gift such as candy or a small hand cream tube inside each cracker.

It is an ideal way to use up your scraps of Christmas fabric & trims as well as bits of lace, beading etc that you have short lengths of.

This is also a great opportunity to try out those pretty decorative stitches on your Janome sewing machine. Many of you tell me that you don’t use them………I always wonder why as decorative stitch embellishment is one of my favourite parts of sewing. I embellish pretty much everything I can! It is one of the reasons I was SO EXCITED when the Janome Horizon arrived earlier this year as I was getting a little bored by the dec. stitches on my other machine. Now I keep discovering new stitches I have not used yet….FUN…FUN…FUN!

Christmas cracker instructions:

  • Scraps of fabric, trim, lace, ribbon etc
  • Selection of decorative threads in Christmas colours as well as metallic gold & silver etc.
  • empty toilet rolls or flexible cardboard scraps
  • cut a piece of fabric approx 8 x 6-8 inches.
  • Neaten 2 opposite sides with a rolled hem or zig-zag/satin stitch  finish. These will be the edges that wrap around the cardboard roll.
  • Add ribbon or lace to the other 2 sides – these will be the ends of the cracker that you tie closed.
  • Now draw a line with a ruler and marking pen from one neatened (zig-zag) edge to the other side.
  • Use this marking to do your first row of decorative embellishment. This may be a short length of trim or ribbon which you sew down with a straight or decorative stitch. It may be a row of one of the lovely dec. stitches on your machine. You will probably want to use a sheet of tearaway stabilizer under the fabric to prevent stitches from getting distorted or puckered.
  • Now use the side of the foot to guide you either side of the middle row to do rows 2 & 3 of embellishment.
  • Alternatively you could use the BORDER GUIDE FOOT to do all your embellishment rows. Keep watching this blog for more  on the Border Guide foot.
  • Once you have completed all the embellishment, roll the fabric around the the empty toilet roll cardboard and tie a ribbon or cord around the one end just beyond the cardboard.
  • Pop the candy or gift inside at this point.
  • Trim the cardboard if it is too long.
  • Now tie the other end closed with the same ribbon or cord.
  • These may be hung on the Christmas tree or you may lay them on the side plates at the dinner table. Either way they are wonderfully appreciated and are totally GREEN as they are re-usable. You are not left with a pile of paper to go out with the garbage!
  • I have made tiny crackers as little tree ornaments and I have made larger ones which would take a largish candy bar – the choice is up to you.
  • 

HAVE FUN!!!

About lizafrica

I work in the Education Dept at Janome & Elna, Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Horizon MC7700QCP, Janome Accessories, Janome Fun, Janome Sewing Machine, MC 11000, MC 6600P, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your comments

