SASKATCHEWAN STITCHES CONFERENCE 2011

One of Jodi's lovely quilts using her Square in a square technique

I REALLY do love to attend this annual Conference…….held every year end of May/beginning of June at St Peter’s Abbey in the tiny town of Muenster, SK. It is about 1.5 – 2hrs drive from Saskatoon……… trust me, it is worth the drive!

Jodi explaining the technique using her rulers

2011 was no exception. I got to demo and sell machines as well as teach 3 classes: A great big tote bag using a whole lot of our feet & accessories; needle painting and how to achieve professionally finished quilts.  I am currently dreaming up fun and exciting short classes for next year which will BE A BIG YEAR:  2012 is the 10th anniversary of the Saskatchewan Stitches Conference. Wendy and her staff at Haus of Stitches in Humboldt, SK have EXCITING things planned. One such thing is a Challenge using fabric which was on sale at this year’s conference (and is sure to still be available at the store).  Check out her website for more info.

Wendy, owner of Haus of Stitches and Jodi holding up a quilt during the trunkshow

You may have heard about the Square in a square system of making quilt blocks? This year, Jodi Barrows of Texas was back at the Conference teaching and passing on her brand of quilt block magic. I attended her evening presentation which was riveting (well I doubt my husband would have been as riveted as his wife…but you know what I mean!)

She showed how her system works, did a fabulous trunk show of quilts and enthralled us with stories about her family history: going way….way back to the days just before that big war between the North & the South over many issues  – but slavery was a biggie.  Turns out Jodi had some brave and courageous ancestors who set off westwards in those wagons and had exciting as well as terrifying experiences along the way as they sought to make a new life out West. The way Jodi tells her family story, you know her grandmother was right on the button when she asked Jodi to write their family story in book form. She is planning on about 12 books I think. I bought the first 3 and have read them all from cover to cover. I heartily recommend them. Jody weaves an incredible story based on truth as told and handed down through the generations in her family. I stupidly forgot to ask Jodi to sign the books for me but I will take them back to SK next time Jodi comes!

Fun……fun……fun……..so many opportunities to learn, sew and have fun!!  If you have not been to this Conference, I would check it out and be sure to be there in 2012.

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your comments

