WORK IN PROGRESS……coming soon to a Sewing Show near you

Thought I’d share with you my latest creation: does not have a name yet and…note…..it has not yet been quilted. I will tackle that after the weekend……  HAPPY CANADA DAY ……..ENJOY THE CELEBRATION and hopefully the sunshine!

Japanese ladies and Koi fish

I purchased the central panel at the Edmonton Sewing Show last year and the other panel which I used in the corners at Quilt Canada in London, Ontario last month.  I wanted to make a special Japanese quilt to celebrate Janome’s 90th Anniversary but really was not sure how to use these panels and what the completed quilt would look like. Here’s a TIP: pin the panels or blocks (or whatever you are needing inspiration about) onto your quilt wall and let it sit for a while. Glance at it, think about it, and ….trust me, the inspiration will come.  I did this and suddenly yesterday morning I knew what I would do: the big cream & black panel would be in the center and she would be “trapunto’ed”. The other panel was cut apart carefully and each one ended up in a corner. I was then short of something for the center of the 2 sides……….. suddenly I knew: I would embroider the exquisite Koi fish on the Janome Osawa Collection Volume 3 : Fish. These lovely needle painted embroidery designs were digitized by Kiyomi Osawa of Japan for Janome.  (Part # 253439002 – see your Janome dealer to order your CD)

Black and red borders finished off the quilt top. Not sure about binding yet…….will decide while I do the quilting.  And…….YES…….I will most certainly use the Janome Quilt Binder for the binding as it is SO quick & easy.

Watch for the finished quilt at the Sewing shows this Fall & next Spring (in the West)

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in CreativFestival, Creativity, Horizon MC7700QCP, Janome Accessories, Janome Embroidery, Janome Fun, Janome Quilt and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your comments

