GEISHA QUILT – NOW COMPLETED

Please peek at my blogpost on 30th June 2011 where I gave a preview of my Geisha quilt. We have had Japanese gentlemen visiting our office so I asked them to help me by translating the Japanese writing on the quilt blocks. Turns out that the Japanese ladies in the 4 corners of the quilt are quite famous. These are prints of famous and centuries old (1600-1800) artwork depicting the era of the geisha’s and samurai’s. The originals of this artwork can seen in a museum in Tokyo.

Little did I know when I bought a pretty piece of Japanese print fabric what I was actually buying….. Way to go…..Liz!  Naturally I have now renamed my quilt: Geisha’s. The quilt was pieced and machine quilted on the Janome Horizon and the embroidery of the 2 Koi fish was done on the Janome MC11000 Special Edition (Square hoop)

Please see next blog post for step-by-step pictorial review of how I used the Janome Quilt Binder to bind my Geisha quilt.

About lizafrica

I work in the Education Dept at Janome & Elna, Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Horizon MC7700QCP, Janome Accessories, Janome Embroidery, Janome Fun, Janome Quilt, MC 11000 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to GEISHA QUILT – NOW COMPLETED

  1. Lori J says:

    Lovely quilt! I can’t wait to see how you bind it. I’ve purchased the quilt binder and just can’t get the hang of doing the mitered corners.. 😦 Still trying, but it is frustrating when there is no one in the area that can show me.

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Thank you for your kinds words…..the quilt did turn out rather well.
      In case you have not checked again: the 3 part series on using the Quilt Binder has been posted on the blog. Hope this helps you get the hang of it!
      I do understand a video is also in the works. These things sometimes take time as the educators are on the road a lot and we also do other work besides just product training. But thanks for hanging in there and being patient.

      Like

Share your comments

