FAV FEATURE #5: JANOME HORIZON MC12000…………. ONE STEP NEEDLE PLATE CONVERSION

Now we know the following but we don’t always do it…….yes, I know you do but I can be a naughty girl sometimes. I am, of course,  talking about getting out that screw driver, taking off the needle plate screws & cleaning out the bobbin area. It is a little bit like those dust bunnies under my furniture. I know it is there but I’m just a bit too lazy to go get the broom and sweep them away. Now I know you are not like that…….of course…..it’s only me!

So that needle plate really DOES need to come off for housekeeping every now & again. It also needs to come off to exchange the red dot (regular) bobbin case for the blue dot (quilter’s or low tension bobbin case) EVERY time you want to do some free motion quilting or hand look quilting using those wonderful hand look quilting stitches in the Quilt section #4; 73;74;75;76;77.  You also should be exchanging to the single hole needle plate when you do your 1/4 inch piecing, and straight stitch garment sewing. And, of course, for straight stitch free motion – always.

Before the arrival of the Janome Mc12000, we had to use that screw driver and manually remove the needle plate on the MC11000; then remember to do the whole thing in reverse or….you guessed it…..one broken needle!!

NOW however, we have the one step needle plate conversion system on the MC12000 so all you do is press the little lever on the front of the machine…..the needle plate pops off and you put in the single hole needle plate. NO screw driver necessary….NO screws! Isn’t that wonderful? I was thrilled to have this annoying little procedure SO simplified for me. Now I have absolutely NO excuse for not doing that housekeeping, nor for not using the correct needle plate and bobbin case EVERY time.

press the lever on the front of the machine to remove the needle plate - NO SCREWS OR SCREW DRIVER!

It's that simple!

Replace the needle plate with the single hole needle plate and notice the screen: now ONLY the straight stitches are available for selection: the rest are greyed out..........too clever!

The Janome Horizon Mc12000 also reminds you with messages on the screen to attach the correct foot for each function when you have exchanged the needle plates. The Janome Horizon MC12000 comes standard with BOTH the 9mm and single hole needle plates.

I think that is so clever……reminders, ease of use…..no more screw drivers……no more broken needles when I forget what needle plate I have on the machine! That counts for a LOT in my books.

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Decorative stitches, Janome Accessories, Janome Sewing Machine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your comments

