HERE’S A CUTE LITTLE PROJECT ……GREAT CHRISTMAS STOCKING STUFFER

iPhone cover ……Blackberries & androids also fit – same little bag.

I thought you might like to see this cute little project I put together last week for an event at one of my dealers: Prince George Sewing Center. We sewed little iPhone or Blackberry cover on the Janome Horizon 7700 QCP but you could make this project on pretty much any Janome sewing machine that has a few decorative stitches.

Of course, this same little cover/baggie could be used for other things: a slim digital camera; an ipod; a Kleenex pack; a few feminine items to be tucked into a purse: lipstick, powder compact etc. Alter the size of cover to suit what you intend to put into it.  Eg: make it larger for a iPad or larger digital camera; or make one for your GPS…….the list is endless. One Prince George customer suggested she might put a cord onto the baggie and hang it round her neck so that her cell phone was close by and not falling out of a pocket  – good idea.

I especially thought of this little idea as my iPhone is getting a little scratched in my purse when it shifts against keys or a pen etc. If it is in it’s little pouch while being carried in my purse, then I feel I am being a more responsible iPhone owner. Well, that’s my story and I am sticking to it. I learnt my lesson with scratches on my glasses:  I have to just live with blurry sections from several nasty scratches on my current pair of glasses till it is time for my eye exam next year.

Of course, if you don’t like pink, you can make another colour: we also made green ones but it could just as easily be a manly grey or black for the man in your life?

I used ribbon ties here instead of the ribbon strip to slip the flap through. Velcro, a button or snap could also be used just as easily.

So how did we make these?

  1. Cut 2 strips of fabric (one for outside & one for lining/inside) approx 5 x 14 inches. These fabrics do not have to be the same: make it black outside & red inside for a different look?

    fabric and batting required for the project

  2. Cut a strip of low loft batting the same size.
  3. Finger press or mark a line down the center of the outside fabric. Attach the Border Guide foot which comes standard with the Janome Horizon MC7700QCP. This foot is INCREDIBLE! I just love it for lining up rows of decorative stitches as well as many other quilting and top stitching applications to mention just 2. This is a snap-on foot so will fit ANY of our top load 7mm wide stitch sewing machines. The Janome Horizon is the ONLY machine in our line which packs this foot with the machine. However, your local Janome dealer will be able to show and demo the foot for you and you will want to add it to your collection – for sure!

    Border Guide foot - ride the little red marking in the middle of the foot along the pressed or marked line.

  4. Just a little heads-up for our Janome VIP customers who have purchased the NEW Janome MC12000: some of the optional accessories have just arrived in Canada. Your dealer will not have them yet (as of today 23 Nov 2011) but they may be ordered. The border guide foot for 9MM stitching is one that is now available. The part # is 202084000. Your local dealer will assist you with further information about this foot.
  5. Be sure to use just the top layer of fabric + batting at this point. We will add the lining later.
  6. Now select whatever decorative stitch you would like down the center of your cover. Some that I used are satin category #’s 134; 141; Decorative category #’s 186;187 etc. The choice is very wide on the Janome Horizon 7700 QCP  with its choice of 250 stitches. The new Janome MC12000 offers even more with 425 stitches!!
  7. Using the border guide foot as directed on the back of the blister pack, stitch 5 rows of decorative stitches. Select different stitches for rows 2 & 3 + 4 &5. Mirror image these rows if necessary.

    close up of dec. stitches.

  8. Now lay the second strip of fabric right sides together with the section you have just stitched. Trim neatly around the edge with a rotary cutter so that all 3 layers are even & exact.
  9. Exchange the Border guide foot for the Acufeed foot as we now require the very efficient feeding of this foot to evenly feed the mulitiple layers of fabric.
  10. Select the straight stitch and sew all the way around the “sandwich” about 1/8 – 1/4 inch away from the edge. Leave a section of about 2 inches open to turn out.
  11. Clips the corners and turn out. Finger press the edges & pin the opening closed tucking the raw edges inside.
  12. Select the zig-zag stitch and adjust SW to 4 and SL to 2.
  13. Fold the strip over so that it forms a bag into which the cell phone will go. Adjust the fold + fold of upper flap until you are happy with the size. I did not make mine too deep as I didn’t want to be digging down to get to my cell phone. I wanted it to be sticking out a little to be easily accessible & then the top flap would cover over that.
  14. Take the ribbon strip and pin it in place with the ends tucked into the seams. I allowed a little fullness with the ribbon to give a little bit of ease for tucking the top flap under the ribbon.
  15. Now start at the top of the side seam and work towards the bottom using the zig-zag. You are basically just sealing the bag closed by “zigging” into the fabric layers & “zagging” off the fabric. Back stitch on both ends to secure your seams.  Repeat for the other seam.
  16. You are done: pop your cell phone into the cover, tuck the flap into the ribbon and there you have your phone protected from scratches!

This would make a great stocking stuffer for all sorts of friends & family. I plan on making a bunch of them and popping specific items inside such as my son-in-laws’s favourite candy or my friend’s favourite hand cream.

Very quick to make: start to finish after cutting fabric took me 25 minutes.......YOU can easily do it too.

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Decorative stitches, Horizon MC7700QCP, Janome Accessories, Janome Fun, Janome Sewing Machine, MC 11000, MC 6600P, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to HERE’S A CUTE LITTLE PROJECT ……GREAT CHRISTMAS STOCKING STUFFER

  1. Sharon Finley says:

    Hi Liz, I was at Snip and Stitch when you were there last year and you showed a sample of the Horizon making a stitch that looked just like hand quilting. I didn’t write down what you said and can’t remember what you did. I bought the free motion bobbin case but don’t remember what else to do, would you mind sending me the instructions. Thanks so much
    Sharon

    Like

    • janomecanada says:

      Hi Sharon,

      We will try tio get something on the blog later this week on the hand look stitches – they are great fun.

      Like

    • lizafrica says:

      With Pleasure, Sharon.
      To do the Hand look quilt stitch, select stitch # 94 from the Quilt section on the Janome Horizon 7700.
      Use Invisible thread in the needle and the bobbin thread should be the colour you require for your “hand quilting” (Cotton or poly thread is fine).
      Insert the blue dot bobbin case and increase the upper thread tension one or 2 numbers.
      Adjust the stitch length to 4 or 4.5.
      Make sure you sew slowly so lower the sewing speed.
      Watch the blog as I will do a posting with pictures in the next week or 2 on this.
      Liz

      Like

Share your comments

