The Janome Quilt Binder Practice Set, Part 2

Ladies and Gentlemen, Mitred Corners Have Arrived!

We have another video to reinforce quilt-corner creation using the Janome Quilt Binder Set, but we wanted to at least give you a quick lesson for the weekend. We will post more video soon – promise!

So, without further delay, please enjoy (and excuse the less than pro camera work!)

Here’s the link:

 

This entry was posted in Janome Accessories, Janome Quilt, Quilt Binder and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Janome Quilt Binder Practice Set, Part 2

  1. Brenda says:

    I’m used to cutting my binding 2.5″ wide. for all quilts & wall hangings. Is the max width binding width for the QBS only 2′ wide. Will that cover thicker quilts?

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Brenda,
      Yes, 2 inches is the widest which gives a 1/2 inch finished binding. Please bear in mind that this is not a traditional quilt binding method so you do NOT need 2 1/2 inch binding. Yes, 2 inches is just plenty and once you become proficient at using this quilt binder set, you will just LOVE the results and the time & fabric you have saved!!
      When you mention thicker quilts, I would have to just guess what you mean. I have used this Quilt binder successfully with Hobbs Heirloom 80/20 batting and other similar weight batting as well as with high loft poly batting. I don’t think you could be using thicker than that? So there should be no issues with binding your quilts this way.
      Liz
      Janome Canada.

      Like

      • Wes Locken says:

        I have some skepticism because I live 4 hours away from my J dealer and was told if I bought it (he’d mail it out) I wouldn’t be able to return it if I didn’t like it. I can only see what’s on the Janome videos
        Does the QBS then sew a seam allowance smaller than 1/4″ as with a 1/4″ seam allowance & 2″ width binding it will not wrap around the edges of the quilt sandwich very well.

        Date: Mon, 29 Jul 2013 17:00:19 +0000
        To: wlocken@mymts.net

        Like

      • lizafrica says:

        Hi Wes,
        Please see my reply to Brenda. I do believe you are both asking me the same thing.
        Liz
        Janome Canada.

        Like

      • Brenda says:

        Does the QBS sew with a narrower than 1/4″ seam allowance as I tried practicing on my own using a 2″ binding and 1/4″ seam allowance and the binding is too narrow to wrap around the quilt. I’m 4 hours away from my J dealer and can’t return it after I used it. . It’s being mailed out.

        Like

      • lizafrica says:

        Hi Brenda,
        You need to understand that this technique is different to the traditional one – as mentioned yesterday. The 2 inch wide strip is folded in half by the binder and the raw edges are tucked under on the top & the bottom of the quilt. – all automatically once you have set the attachment up. It is NOT a double fold binding as I suspect you imagine. It is a single layer of binding UNLESS you decide you want a double layer – in which case you load the binder attachment with 2 layers spray glued together (see my blog post on how to do this – it WORKS wonderfully).
        Do not get hung up about size of seam or whether the binding will adequately wrap around the edge. Those concerns are not applicable to this method. It is NOT sewing the seam first then turning the binding to the other side of the quilt which then has to be sewed down. NO, this is a different technique where the strip is folded and sewed around the edge of the quilt IN ONE STEP. YOU get to decide where you want the stitching to be: right on the edge of the binding? or a little bit in? or use a decorative stitch which is more often than not my favourite method.
        You need to wrap your mind around the fact that the Quilt Binder set is offering a MUCH easier & faster method of binding your quilts. It is not the same as a traditional technique so the fears you have are ungrounded. They simply don’t apply. Trust me, once you have practiced with this binder set until you have the technique under your belt, you will be amazed. Only people who might not like it are the purists & those who cannot open their minds to new ideas & quicker, easier ways of doing things.
        Having said that, would I use tis method on a quilt I was entering in a show? No, more than likely not but not because I think it is inferior. Only because most judges have not got around to seeing the value of this method of binding a quilt – much like when the first machine quilted quilt won Best of Show. You would have thought the heavens were going to fall in!!
        I do hope I have put your fears to rest! Watch the video again. It may help you see what I am trying to explain.
        Liz
        Janome Canada.

        Like

  2. Lynne says:

    Thank you for this video. Your other tutorials on the binder have whet my appetite but not convinced me as I couldn’t imagine it would be easy to achieve a mitred corner. Now I’ve seen this I definitely want one. Brilliant video – your blog is the best place I have found for info on the Horizon. Thanks again.

    Like

    • janomecanada says:

      Thank you for the kind words Lynne – We love what we do and hope to bring your more frequent video and blog tutorials. We are alos happy to share links from other Janome users to their own blogs – so if you have something to share, please let us know.
      Happy Sewing

      Like

Share your comments

