CHRISTMAS EMBROIDERY for the JANOME HORIZON MC 12000

Donna Morton lives on Vancouver island and works for one of our dealers: Snip and Stitch, Nanaimo. She sent me 2 designs that she combined & edited for the SQ23 hoop on the Janome MC12000. I stitched this one out today.

I stitched this out in the SQ23 hoop - note how those magnets just keep my fabric so secure despite the fact that this embroidery had 73,398 stitches!! I did use 2 layers of tearaway stabilizer and one layer of thin batting in addition to the fabric to prevent puckering. I am happy to say - it worked...no puckers!

QUESTION FOR TODAY?

What do you think I should make using this embroidery stitch-out?

My first thoughts are to make it up into a door banner or a wall hanging.  BUT you might have some other more interesting or exciting suggestion………….?

Donna used some very old Janome designs: the greenery & the poinsettia's and then edited and combined them for a nice large wreath for the SQ23 hoop on the NEW JANOME HORIZON MC 12000. I added the word "welcome" using the built-in monogram font on the same machine.

Please send me comments about what you would suggest.

About lizafrica

I work in the Education Dept at Janome & Elna, Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Horizon MC 12000, Janome Embroidery, Janome Fun, Janome Sewing Machine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to CHRISTMAS EMBROIDERY for the JANOME HORIZON MC 12000

  1. GwenDerks says:

    Is there any way we could get this design now. You mentioned that it is an older one, but where can I find it. Thanks

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi gwen,
      Thanks for the query. It was a Janome MC9000 design I believe. Unfortunately we don’t have that machine anymore to check (Is there someone out there who can confirm that this Christmas poinsettia design is a built-in design on the MC9000?). Now what you saw on the blog post is that design taken quite a few steps further: It was a little design suitable for our first (in fact the industry FIRST) embroidery machine. Hoops were MUCH smaller then. Now we have the Janome MC12000 with it’s largest ever hoops. One of my friends, Donna, who works for Snip and Stitch in Nanaimo, BC took this design and played with it in software. She duplicated it & re-arranged the parts to form a big wreath. The size of the wreath makes necessary to stitch out in our new embroidery machine in the SQ23 hoop as it is quite large. Donna sent me the design, I got inspired and stitched it out after adding WELCOME. All of these changes were done in our embroidery software. The design as you see stitched in the blog does not exist as a stock design – it has been customized in embroidery software.
      Hope this answers your query.
      Liz

      Like

Share your comments

