CHRISTMAS STOCKINGS………PROJECT IDEA

I posted How-to pictorial instructions last week on 7th December: that was how I made the stocking for my little grand-daughter. Well, truth be told, Granny has had a no-name brand stocking for many years (I did make it but it did not have my name on it!)…………….. a bit like the man of the house is an electrician but his house always has the broken circuits?!

SO – last night after wrapping up a few more gifts, I figured it was about time to put that right in our household: so I made myself a Christmas stocking complete with name. Took me just over an hour so you too can make one – between decorating the tree & basting the turkey………right????

Crazy patchwork Christmas stocking

Please refer to the How-to instructions posted on 7th December 2011 for how to construct this stocking. I used the same method.

The embellishment on this stocking is, however, a little different:  Instead of the little 2 inch squares of Christmas fabric and strips of gold fusible bias tape that I used on my little Evyn’s stocking, this time I started in the center with an irregular 5 sided shape of fabric. Then I just crazy-patched around this, sewing a piece of fabric; flip & press; next one etc; moving outwards & around until my entire foundation area was covered. I used a piece of fusible interfacing as my foundation but I could have just as easily used a piece of muslin. Once done, I cut out the stocking shape, backed it with fusible batting and then set about embellishing with gold metallic thread: This was the real fun part for me as I played with various decorative stitches on my JANOME MC6600P. Lots of stitches, lots of fun!  In addition, I used my JANOME MC11000 to monogram the top of my stocking.

The back of the stocking is simply a single piece of Christmas fabric which I quilted in a diagonal grid pattern using the quilting guide bar and my Acufeed foot. Then I put the 2 halves together the same way I did with the previous stocking.

back of my new Christmas stocking

About lizafrica

I work in the Education Dept at Janome & Elna, Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Decorative stitches, Janome Embroidery, Janome Fun, Janome Quilt, Janome Sewing Machine, MC 11000, MC 6600P, Sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to CHRISTMAS STOCKINGS………PROJECT IDEA

  1. Cheryl Paul says:

    Another nice Christmas stocking Liz. Now Evyn can put something in it for Grandma.

    Like

Share your comments

