JANOME HORIZON MC 12000 – ANOTHER NEW FOOT: ACUFEED FLEX DITCH QUILTING FOOT

NEW ACUFEED FLEX DITCH QUILTING FOOT - 9mm wide opening

I am very happy to report that these feet have arrived.  Ask your local JANOME DEALER  to order Part # 202087003 for you today. This foot is compatible with the JANOME HORIZON MC12000 ONLY.  But wait…………..there’s more: see below for other ditch quilting options.

If you are at all like me, you were probably waiting with your breath held! I simply CANNOT manage without my Ditch Quilting foot.  WHY do I love it so much?

  • For many years I have loved to embellish my quilts and other sewing projects  with machine decorative stitches. You can imagine how thrilled I was to get the JANOME HORIZON MC 12000 with 425 stitches, most of which are 9mm wide so I can continue to play big time with my decorative stitches. HOWEVER, it looks really poor if these decorative stitches drift out of the ditch just like a drunken sailor finding his way home! So that rudder or guide in the middle of the DITCH QUILTING FOOT  is simply invaluable for staying in the ditch so that your sewing looks pretty and professional.   
    ALL SET & READY TO GO WITH MY ACUFEED FLEX (SD) FOOT!!
  • Another factor that sometimes causes vexation when you stitch in the ditch is that the fabric may not feed evenly through the machine at all times. Obviously how well or poorly the fabric feeds depends on a number of things such as thickness and type of fabric; needle and thread choice; stitch selected (for example a straight stitch will feed much easier than a tight satin stitch). So if I have an accessory which helps me, I am on it like a hungry baby! The ACUFEED FLEX foot that comes standard with the JANOME HORIZON MC12000 is just such an accessory: Acufeed just got a major upgrade and new name: Acufeed Flex. This foot attaches onto the machine and the base of the foot is interchangable: the machine comes with the regular Acufeed flex foot (AD )+ the 1/4 inch quilting foot (OD). NOW we can add the DITCH QUILTING FOOT (SD) to our happy sewing room.
  • SO………I have my handy dandy guide for sewing in the ditch PLUS I have the ACUFEED FLEX  foot to feed thick or multiple layers of fabric through the machine. MAGIC!!! no distorted stitches………no “drunken sailors”…….but we do have one  super happy sewing girl!
  • There are MANY other uses for the Ditch Quilting foot – not just for stitching in the ditch. Perhaps I will do some blog posts on these sometime?

Now we do have other JANOME Ditch Quilting Feet options for you, especially for folk who do not yet own the JANOME HORIZON MC12000:

  • We have the snap on 7mm wide opening Ditch Quilting foot S (part# 200341002 for 7mm top load machines) Watch a video about this foot.
  • We offer the ACUFEED DITCH QUILTING FOOT  Part# 846413006 which is only for the JANOME MC 6600P AND JANOME HORIZON 7700QCP
  • There is also the JANOME CLEARVIEW FOOT AND GUIDE SET  Part # 200449001, which offers the best of both options to quilters: it has 2 interchangable guides. One for Ditch quilting and the other for 1/4 inch piecing and seams. This is a snap-on foot for our top loading bobbin  machines but note that it does not have a 7mm wide opening. It is designed for straight stitching. There are 4 video’s on this foot.  One video demonstrates how to use the ditch quilting guide. The other 3 video’s show other uses for this great accessory.

As you can see…………..we have your sewing needs covered no matter what machine model or project you will be sewing.

I LOVE LOVE LOVE my DITCH QUILTING FOOT for projects like this.

About lizafrica

I work in the Education Dept at Janome & Elna, Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Decorative stitches, Horizon MC 12000, Horizon MC7700QCP, Janome Accessories, Janome Fun, Janome Quilt, Janome Sewing Machine, MC 11000, MC 6600P, Sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to JANOME HORIZON MC 12000 – ANOTHER NEW FOOT: ACUFEED FLEX DITCH QUILTING FOOT

  1. irenejaeb says:

    I have had my 8900 now for a year and absolutely love it. Especially the Accufeed flex foot where I can change the feet. I use my 1/4″ foot to attach my binding onto the back of my quilt, then change to the Sitch in the ditch foot and sew it on to the front of my quilt. Works so nice, feeds smoothly and looks great when I am done! Sometimes I use just a straight stitch and sometimes #42 or a decorative stitch. Going to be taking a few of the upcoming classes to learn more about my machine!

    Like

  2. Ruth says:

    I have the Janome 8900 and would like to get the acufeed ditch foot for it. I’ve seen posts about one and also a narrow one, but I can’t find out what specifically fits my machine. Do you have a part number or can you tell me where to order one? Thanks…Ruth

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Ruth,
      I can definitely help you with all of this information.
      The MC8900 comes with the Acufeed Flex DUAL foot holder and the standard AD foot which clips into this foot holder. The Acufeed flex system is the “walking foot” system for this machine. ALL accessory feet are for the 9mm configuration on your machine.
      Here is a list of some of the optional accessories for the MC8900 which you may purchase at your local Janome dealer who will assist you with pricing. I have included the Part #’s to help you order the correct items:
      1. Acufeed Flex foot VD with foot holder (single or narrow Acufeed foot) Part # 202127006
      2. Acufeed flex foot OD for 1/4 inch piecing (clips onto dual Acufeed foot holder which comes with your machine) Part # 202125004
      3. Acufeed Flex Ditch Quilting foot SD (clips onto same Acufeed flex footholder that comes with the machine) Part # 202103006
      4. Acufeed Flex zipper foot ED (which clips onto foot holder #1 above ie you must own narrow foot holder to use this foot) Part # 202128007
      5. The Open toe Acufeed Flex foot is coming but is not here yet. Part # 202149004
      6. Straight stitch foot STD for Acufeed flex (fits onto dual acufeed foot holder that comes with your machine) Part # 202102005

      You can check out these feet under Accessories on http://www.janome.com. There are pics & explanations for each of these just a short way down the list > Acufeed Flex accessories. Use this link http://content.janome.com/index.cfm/Machines/Accessories

      Hope this helps you select which feet you need.
      Happy sewing on your MC8900!
      Liz
      Janome Canada.

      Like

      • Sandy says:

        Hi Liz,
        I have a Janome 12000 which I just love. I purchased two specialty feet today – the Ditch Quilting Foot 9mm S and the AcuFeed Ditch Quilting Foot SD 9mm. My question is can I use the AcuFeed Ditch Quilting Foot SD with decorative stitches? The instructor at my Jamone sewing store advised that I couldn’t because the duel feed system only stitches forwards or backwards. It would be nice to be able to use the decorative stitches when using the AcuFeed system for quilting layers and stitching in the ditch. If I can’t use the SD foot I would assume that one could use decorative stitches with the S foot when the AcuFeed system is not used. Thank you in advance for your help.

        Sandy

        Like

      • lizafrica says:

        Hi Sandy,
        Yes, your dealer is correct. The Acufeed Flex foot is recommended for those straight type stitches which are marked on your flip top lid (I am away from the office so don’t have the machine in front of me but I think it is the red stitches). However, I have experimented with many of the decorative stitches using the Acufeed flex and have found I get acceptable results. I like to stitch decorative embellishments on my quilts and other multi-layer projects so, like you, see the value of the Acufeed flex system. I will warn you that not all stitches work well. Some distort a bit and you will probably not be happy with the results. This is why the red stitches are recommended. My suggestion is to play and experiment and see what you like. I have a few favorites that I use frequently with Acufeed Flex and am very happy to have that foot moving the multi layers for me.

        Yes, the S Ditch quilting foot is merely an alternative ditch quilting foot. There are many uses for this foot – not just ditch quilting. You might like to search for info on this foot in the search box on this blog. I am sure I have done a post a while back on what you can do with this foot.

        HAPPY SEWING!

        Liz
        Janome Canada

        Like

      • Sandy says:

        Thanks for your help Liz! I love the AccuFeed System for quilting layers. The Stitch in the Ditch feet are wonderful. Your articles are full of information and I love the excellent photos. I’ll have to look for the previous blog posting you mention on the many uses of the Stitch in the Ditch feet. Thanks again for helping me out. BTW I am taking MC 12000 lessons with my Janome dealership too.

        Like

      • lizafrica says:

        Hi Sandy,
        Glad to hear you find the blog so useful.
        Happy Sewing.
        Liz
        Janome Canada

        Like

  3. I have a G and a S foot, but can they be used for the same thing? The S is stil in the packet, and the shop are happy for me to return it if I already have it! (I went in with a list of the letters that I already have and S was not one of them) but I thought that I did have a stitch in ditch foot – this must have been the G!

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi,
      Thank you for your query. NO, the G & S feet are not the same. The G foot is the blind hem foot to be used for guiding along the folded edge of hem fabric when you are doing a blind or invisible hem. The little piece in the middle is not the same as the guide in the middle of the S foot. This is because the feet are designed for completely different things. The S foot is for DITCH quilting and a whole host of other things. I am almost sure I did a blog post ages back about a dozen different uses for the Ditch Quilting foot. Maybe not? I will try to do that when time allows.
      Please check out the accessory video’s on http://www.janome.com (search for accessory video’s in the search box) – this shows much more than I can say here. Plus it will show that we have 5 different kinds of ditch quilting feet. Your local dealer will also be able to explain to you what they are all for etc.
      Happy sewing – and I would definitely keep that S foot. It’s the one that goes with me to that desert island if I ever have the misfortune to be shipwrecked on one! But, of course, I’d better also have my Janome sewing machine and a generator and then they can leave me there for the next 5 years!!!!
      Liz

      Like

  4. Laura says:

    I read somewhere that there is a roller tote for the 12000 – is this true and if so are they available in canada

    Laura

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Laura,
      Keep watching the blog. The roller totes have literally just arrived. I have not even seen one yet so cannot tell you much at this point. But we plan to post to the blog as soon as the information and pics are available.
      Thank you for your enquiry.
      Liz

      Like

Share your comments

