LOOK WHAT CAN BE DONE IN OUR JANOME DIGITIZER MBX SOFTWARE!!

I had a huge amount of fun recently playing with the fringe foot (more in another blog post) as well as the cute little fringe flowers which are built-in designs for the FA hoop on the JANOME HORIZON MC12000.

MC12000 FA HOOPS DESIGNS - FRINGE FLOWERS

My creative juices then started flowing and I pondered what I could possibly do with these fringe flowers in our JANOME DIGITIZER MBX SOFTWARE???

I send the designs via HORIZON LINK from the JANOME HORIZON MC12000  to my computer where I brought them into the MBX software program. I resized them hugely – making them at least 5 times larger. They ended up being over 5 inches in diameter.

FRINGE FLOWERS ENLARGED IN THE JANOME DIGITIZER MBX SOFTWARE

Do remember that you can resize designs in the edit mode on all our embroidery machines. However, as the stitch count is not recalculated, there is a resize limitation of 20%. In JANOME DIGITIZER MBX,  however, there is no such limitation as the resizing process completely re-digitizes the design and recalculates the optimum number of stitches for the size you have chosen.

You may note in the pic below that the pink fringe flower is very full – this is because I copied and pasted the fringing exactly on top of the other. In other words, it stitched the fringing twice which took a very long time but I believe it was worth the extra effort. I think it looks something like a dahlia or a peony. I was very happy with the results of my play-time!

 

JPX FRINGED FLOWER WALL HANGING with large fringed flower and little ones in the top & bottom borders.

OK, I did not make an typo in the above caption: JPX is the new format available with the JANOME HORIZON MC12000 AND DIGITIZER MBX SOFTWARE. This is not a stitch format like .jef. It is a graphics format which allows us to LAYER an embroidery design with graphics – in this case as can be seen in the above pic: an iron-on transfer was applied to the fabric and the embroidery fringed flower was done on top of that. In order to line everything up perfectly, the iron-on transfer was scanned and saved as a .jpx. This was then sent to the JANOME HORIZON MC12000  as well as the fringed flower embroidery design which was then positioned in the spot I needed on top of the graphics image of the transfer. All is visible either on the screen of the JANOME MC12000 or on the Horizon Link screen on the computer.  Pretty cool!

 

 

 

 

 

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Horizon MC 12000, Janome Embroidery, Janome Fun, Janome Quilt, Janome Sewing Machine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to LOOK WHAT CAN BE DONE IN OUR JANOME DIGITIZER MBX SOFTWARE!!

  1. Laura says:

    Hi Liz…I don’t have a comment on this particular project however I have a question about another file I have…When i open it in MBX4 I place it side ways in the GR (230×300) hoop and it fits or to me it looks like it fits however if I save it and then try and bring it up in Horizon Link it tells me it exceeds the stitch count (100,000 stitches)…any suggestions?

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Laura,
      Sorry for the delay in replying. I have been away from the office at the Saskatchewan Stitches Conference and am now at Quilt Canada in Halifax. I am currently investigating this for you and hope to be able to get back to you next week with an answer when I am back in the office. Please bear with me a little longer – thanks.
      Liz

      Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Laura,
      All our embroidery machines have some limitation as regards design size, # of stitches and # of colour changes. I have sent a message through to Japan asking for clarification but it would seem from my exercises trying to send various designs from Horizon Link to the MC12000, that 100,000 stitches is the limit.
      You do not mention what design file you are referring to: are you able to know how many stitches it has? Either from the source where you got it? or in Digitizing software: that would tell you the stitch count.
      It would seem that you will need to reduce the stitch count if you want to send this design to the machine. OR split the design.
      Quite frankly, I had not tested the upper limits as I doubt I will ever stitch a design with that many stitches – I do not have the time or inclination. IF I ever did want to do this, I would split the design in Digitizer MBX and stitch in multiple hoopings – something that is remarkably easy to do with the version 4 MBX software.
      I hope that answers your query.
      Liz

      Like

  2. Deb E says:

    This is soooo very cool! Thanks for getting MY creative juices going!!!!

    Like

Share your comments

