A fun little sewing tip!

During a recent project, I had to applique a ‘patch’ I embroidered onto a store bought diaper bag. I digitized the design then embroidered it onto heavy, stiff fabric on my Memory Craft 12000. I didn’t want to do it directly on the bag, in case they wanted to change it in the future. But even with its 11″ of space….I wasn’t able to easily turn the bag to stitch around the applique!

So I pulled out my snap on freemotion foot! Went into the Sewing Applications, selected Quilting > Free Quilting > ZigZag Stitch 2 and changed the stitch width to 1.9.  I also increased the height of the presser foot in Set Mode, as it was quite thick!

And for those of you who don’t have the freemotion convertible foot set, you can use your P2 foot or darning foot as it is sometimes referred to, drop your feed dogs and you’re all set.

I quickly zigzaged around the applique and was done in about 5 minutes!

Make sure you remove pins before stitching or use fabric glue to hold in place temporairly

Time to rethink how you use the rest of your presser feet!  Walking/Evenfeed foot or Acufeed foot perfect for knits, velvets, vinyls and leathers. Beading feet for ‘couching’ on cording and other thick trim.  Zipper feet for putting in piping in the home dec pillows you’ve been meaning to do!

Let me know how you use your feet!

Happy Sewing Linda P.

About LindaP

Educational Consultant for Janome Canada Ltd.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Horizon MC 12000, Janome Accessories, Janome Fun, Janome Quilt, Janome Sewing Machine, Sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your comments

