LOOK WHAT I JUST COMPLETED!

FUN PROJECT #1

Some months back I signed up for an online workshop with Carol Ann Waugh entitled “Stupendous Stitching”  on craftsy.com. Many of you know what a “Dec. stitch queen” I am, so you will understand why this workshop captured my imagination. Sadly, I was unable to follow through and sit & sew as I hit the road mid April and have only just returned from my travels from Victoria across Canada to Halifax & back again to Vancouver. WHEW! It was fun but very jet-lagging so it was certainly time to SIT and sew for a few happy hours.

The online workshop mentioned above was my inspiration but I did experiment with our JANOME HORIZON MC12000 to achieve some fun results. I tried many different decorative stitches, different threads; did some couching; machine quilting with the great Acufeed Flex foot as well as free motion quilting with the QC & QO feet – all standard feet with the JANOME MC12000. WHAT FUN!!!! If you like playing with your sewing machine, this kind of project is for you! Trust me, it has been so much fun…… that I just HAD to make a second wall hanging using the same techniques but slightly different colours and yet more fun dec. stitches on the JANOME HORIZON MC12000.

FUN PROJECT #2

close-ups of the dec stitch fun

close-up showing couching + dec. sticthing & quilting

Both wall hangings done……………aaahh…..the fun came to an end but I can always make more!! I have called my versions Sunset Stitching #1 & #2.

Not sure if you can see in the pics but I finished the edges of the wall hangings in a different way – not using traditional binding, nor using the JANOME QUILT BINDER SET…………………stay tuned for another blog post next week where I will explain how I did the “binding” on these 2 projects.

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Decorative stitches, Horizon MC 12000, Janome Fun, Janome Quilt, Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to LOOK WHAT I JUST COMPLETED!

  1. Terry Carter says:

    Very pretty wall hangings Liz.
    I have been doing children’s T-shirts (embroidering them) Have I mentioned how much I hate the SQ 14 hoop for this. I did one yesterday which measured 2 1/4 inches which is so silly in a hoop that is 7″ x 7″ on the interior but there is all that excess plastic on the outside which makes it difficult to place the shirt. Hope that the powers that be pay attention.
    Thanks for listening to my whining.
    Terry

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Terry,
      Did you think about trying the FA hoop? This embroidery field measures approx 4 x 1.6 inches so your 2 1/4 inch design would perhaps have fitted just perfectly if you had re-sized it slightly.
      I was asked by my daughter recently to embroider “Big sister” and “Little sister” T-shirts for my little grandbabies. I used the FA hoop for the baby one and I managed without having to unpick any seams at all despite how really tiny the T-shirt was! I used the SQ14 hoop for her big sister’s T-shirt (she’s just 20 months old). I used sticky tearaway stabilizer and just laid the T-shirt on top of the stabilizer – I did not hoop the t-shirts. I then basted the t-shirt to the stabilizer.
      Keep watching for more hoop options coming soon for the MC12000 though I am not sure it is going to answer this particular need you have.
      Liz.

      Like

  2. Gail M. says:

    to Liz– I am not sure if you received my note of congratulations on winning a ribbon. If you didn’t, I just want to say congratulations on a job well done!!!
    The wallhanging and the quilt pictured now are absolutely gorgeous!!!! I do hope that you bring all of these fantastic projects with you on one of your trips to the Okanagan. Awesome projects!!!!

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Thank you, Gail. My “Flower Power” quilt is currently with Wonderfil Threads – they get to keep the quilt for 12 months – this was a condition of my winning one of their sponsored awards. But I am sure they will have it displayed at some of the shows they do such as the Calgary & Edmonton Sewing Shows as well as some International shows like Quilt Market/Festival in Houston. After May 2013, I will be happy to do “show & tell” with my quilt.
      Please be sure to check out this blog towards the end of the summer when I will post my Fall schedule so you will know where I will be traveling this Sept-Nov. I will definitely bring these wall hangings and other projects not yet completed that I am currently working on.
      Look forward to seeing you then.
      Liz

      Like

  3. Shirley Wilson says:

    Very nice !
    Have heard if we are ever going to get a higher stitch count in our 12000.

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Shirley,
      Thank you.
      Are you referring to the # of built-in stitches on the MC12000? If so, are you aware that the Horizon Link software which was included with the MC12000, contains STITCH COMPOSER which allows you to create your own NEW stitches for the MC12000? There are already 425 9mm wide stitches built into the machine but only time and your imagination are going to stop you creating MANY more! I have already made quite a number of new stitches which was a good deal of fun to do – and pretty easy. I intend to do even more in the months ahead.
      There are full instructions on how to use Stitch Composer built into the software – just click the little blue question mark in the top right corner of the screen. OR, of course, see your local MC12000 certified JANOME dealer for more information about our exciting Stitch Composer software.
      Liz
      Vancouver, BC

      Like

Share your comments

