Oh Canada, eh!

Yes the long weekend is over, but our love for Canada, `our home and native land` is all year round! After spending the weekend lounging in the sun at friends, I’m ready to spruce up my deck with pillows and rugs to spend more time outdoors.  We really do live in a beautiful country.  I’m thinking how great it will be to set my machine up, outside on the patio under the birch trees and make pillows for our new Muskoka chairs for the fire pit. Look for pictures here in the next couple of days.

Today in my mailbox, was a newsletter from Quilter’s Connection magazine, a very Canadian one! I just had to share with all of you. There’s a ‘sweet’ strawberries and cream quilt pattern, and a Canadian point that has always been dear and true with me about buying Canadian. The blog post is from A Great Notion and starts out with this powerful paragraph.

When you buy from a mom and pop business, you are not helping a CEO buy a third vacation home.
You are helping a little girl get dance lessons, a little boy get his team jersey, a mom or dad put food on the table, a family pay a mortgage, or a student pay for college.
Thank you for supporting Canadian small business!
(author unknown)
I know its so much fun to travel and see what else the world has to offer in terms of fabric and notions. I have travelled a lot, but always feel when I see fabric, that I can get it at home!  When you think about it, the world really is small.

Thank you for listening eh! Let us know what you are sewing for the great outdoors.

Happy sewing!

Linda P.

About LindaP

Educational Consultant for Janome Canada Ltd.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your comments

