TOLD YOU I WAS GOING TO SEW LAST WEEKEND!!!! WHAT DO YOU THINK I DID?

I need to get 2 baby quilts done ASAP. One baby is due any minute…..another is due Sept but all indications are that it will be much sooner than that. SO….I had to get hopping without delay! I am doing those same “counting sheep” embroidered blocks that I featured quite some time ago after I made a quilt for a friend of my daughter’s  – see post titled “Embroidered Baby quilt Project” April 11th 2012.

The embroidery design is one found on the Stitchitize 1100 Design collection that came as Janome Canada’s gift to folk who purchased the JANOME MC11000.  It is a SQUARE HOOP design. I have made some editing changes to it in our JANOME DIGITIZER MBX software: I changed the font to First Grade and I resized the design slightly larger.

THE BODIES OF THE SHEEP ARE APPLIQUE’S. I USED PINK MINKEE FABRIC FOR THIS. You may also use terry towelling or fleece – anything tactile that a baby will love to rub and touch.

I have aways to go to get all the blocks done but I made an excellent start – got 5 blocks done on Sunday when it was grey & boring outside.  I embroidered these blocks on the JANOME MC11000 SPECIAL EDITION as the design size was for the square hoop. I could easily have used the JANOME HORIZON MC12000 with the SQ23 HOOP but I would have had to resize the design a little larger OR I could have used a little more fabric & stabilizer & then cut the blocks down to size I required. That certainly would have sped up the embroidery process as it is SO much faster to read & open designs as well as embroidering at 1000spm. Oh well, as I had a Janome Mc11000 handy, I chose to use that.

Now you cannot just sit and gaze at the embroidery machine all day (well, at least, I figure that is a waste of my time) so I worked on a quilt top for my little niece in South Africa. I am making her another Flower Fairies quilt as my poor brother & sister-in-law have a real tough time getting the first one away from her to wash!! She will be turning 6 just before we visit so I figured she needed another quilt………well, of course, Aunty Libby really wanted to make her one too! I am most happy to say that I got the entire quilt top together on Sunday. Now the sandwiching and quilting remains but I think I will need to pace myself or I will be needing to go for massage every week!

This quilt top was pieced exclusively on the JANOME HORIZON MC7700 using the O2 1/4 inch foot that comes standard with the machine. It went together like a walk in the woods with the fairies! Here it is:

LEILA AND HER FAIRIES

 

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Horizon MC7700QCP, Janome Embroidery, Janome Fun, Janome Quilt, Janome Sewing Machine, MC 11000, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TOLD YOU I WAS GOING TO SEW LAST WEEKEND!!!! WHAT DO YOU THINK I DID?

  1. Bridget says:

    i’m seeing the site only now and really loved it! i love your post is so cool!http://www.casaemail.com.br

    Like

Share your comments

