ACUFIL QUILTING KIT FOR MC12000

Oh have I been having fun working with this NEW ACUFIL QUILTING KIT FOR THE MC12000.  Simply great and could put my massage therapist out of business! It’s that much easier on my neck & shoulders than other forms of machine quilting. I am not kidding! I love it.

PROJECT #1: GEISHA WALL HANGING USING TRAPUNTO QUILTING and ACUFIL QUILTING FOR THE MC12000.

Geisha wall hanging with Acufil Quitling in the borders around the central panel

I used a printed panel in the center and Asian print & plain black fabric for the borders. Finished size is 37 ½ x 58 inches.

Acufil quilting using a large circular feather design and alternating the quilting with black & gold thread.

  • BIG TIP: if you plan to be doing Acufil quilting almost up to the outer edge of the quilt like I did in this quilt, you WILL need to plan ahead and cut your batting & backing fabric quite a bit larger than you need – probably at least 4 inches beyond the edge of the quilt top. Yes, I know this will be cut off before you do your binding. However, you can reserve those bits for other smaller projects. Think of this as being a type of leader like on a large quilting frame – you need the fabric to clamp into the hoop. Without it, your quilt edge will be “floating” and you run the risk of it shifting and not quilting in the exact spot you require. Ask me how I know!

I am SO impressed with this Acufil Quilting system as I find it amazingly easier on my neck & shoulders than some other forms of machine quilting. I am not “fighting” with mounds of fabric sandwich; nor am I having to concentrate so hard on getting my free motion even and perfect. The JANOME MC12000 does it ALL for me! Once I have marked the quilt, I do not even get up from my chair or remove the ASQ22 hoop from the machine: I just push down on the hard ASQ22 template; clamp the 8 magnets to the hoop ensuring the fabric markings were lined up with the template.  When one hooping is quilted, I simply unclamp & move the fabric to the next marked crosshair & repeat the process. Genuinely “Lickety-split”!

The wall hanging was bound using the JANOME QUILT BINDER SET – another lickety-split quick way to do a somewhat time consuming technique. THANK YOU, JANOME!!!

MORE PROJECTS TO COME……………KEEP CHECKING THIS BLOG.

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Horizon MC 12000, Janome Accessories, Janome Embroidery, Janome Fun, Janome Quilt, Quilt Binder and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ACUFIL QUILTING KIT FOR MC12000

  1. Nita Wragg says:

    I was very interested in viewing this project and I thank you for sharing it. Great job on the quilting. I am intrigued though that you said you used the Janome Quilt Binder Set for the binding as i have been advised that this does not work on the Janome 12000 (by my Janome Dealer) and advised to wait until one is developed for the 12000. Could you please confirm whether or not you did use this on the 12000 or another model? Many thanks, Nita

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Nita,
      Yes, I most definitely DID use the Janome Quilt Binder on the JANOME MC12000. Now, I can understand why your dealer said what he/she did. The foot that comes with the Janome Quilt Binder is for 7mm machines while the MC12000 is, of course, a 9mm machine. So the foot that comes with the current Quilt Binder set will not work on the Mc12000 – it will not attach to the Mc12000 ankle. HOWEVER, if you use another Mc12000 foot, such as the regular A foot, it works just fine. I have also successfully used the Acufeed Flex foot that comes with the MC12000 (dual/foot AD or single/foot VD) with the Quilt Binder to apply my binding. There is not a whole lot of room behind the binder “mouth” and the front of the foot, but as I am now pretty accomplished at using the Quilt Binder, it works just fine for me.
      I did hear a rumour that a Quilt Binder for the Mc12000 would be coming but I have not yet had that confirmed through the official channels, nor do I have an ETA for this…….so a ” quilt binding girl’s gotta do what a quilt binding girl’s gotta do” in the meanwhile.
      If you prefer to wait for the MC12000 version of the Quilt Binder set which would in all likelihood include a Mc12000 9mm wide opening foot, you might be wise so that you do not have a foot (included in the Binder set) which you cannot use on your Mc12000. If you own & use other JANOME sewing machines which are fully compatible with the Quilt Binder set, then you might like to buy now – your choice.
      Good luck.
      Liz

      Like

Share your comments

