JUST LOOK WHAT YOU CAN DO WITH ARTISTIC SEWING SUITE SOFTWARE!!!

Please refer to the previous post about Snip & Stitch, Nanaimo, BC where I mentioned that they offer superb support to their embroidery & software customers. Donna Morton inspires me every time I visit the store  so I thought I would, in turn, try to inspire you too! There is sure to be yet another incredible project that she has created with either the JANOME DIGITIZER MBX or ARTISTIC SEWING SUITE embroidery software each time I visit this store.

Here are a couple of pics of a simply lovely quilt that Donna showed us when I was last visiting: Donna used the Artistic Sewing Suite software with its cutting needles to cut the intricate applique shapes for this quilt. The applique was also done in the hoop. I believe this was/is a class that is taught at this store. My apologies for the slight fuzziness of this pic – My cell phone does the best my shakey hand allows!

EXQUISITE QUILT BY DONNA MORTON using the ARTISTIC SEWING SUITE SOFTWARE’S cutting needles to cut the cream/white applique shapes. NO laborious sitting with a pair of scissors for this here!!!! All the cutting of these intricate applique shapes was done IN THE HOOP of our JANOME Embroidery machine(s) using the cutting needles. NO scissors, no paper templates, no fuss!!

close up showing detail

Donna’s embroidered quilt label for this quilt.

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Horizon MC 12000, Janome Embroidery, Janome Fun, Janome Quilt, MC 11000 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to JUST LOOK WHAT YOU CAN DO WITH ARTISTIC SEWING SUITE SOFTWARE!!!

  1. magandmin says:

    I wanted to learn more about the 11000 but when I click to bring it up, I get the 12000. Everything seems to be 12000. I have the 11000 and would like to know more about the MA hoop and how to set it up to use, also the AcuFil. I can’t seem to find it on the site and the instructions are not too clear in the book. I tried to take a design I had, double it and do it on the MC hoop. I thought I had it very clearly matched up to do the two parts however, the second part stitched too high and went into the 1st design. Wish we had a good educator here in Nova Scotia and then maybe we Janome people would not have so many problems. My dealer here is A1 however, they are so far away from me that I just can’t go there whenever I have a problem trying to understand how to do something. I’ve been embroidering for a number of years on a 300E (which I love) and now the 11000. I also have the 350, 1600P, cover pro, 6500 and the 7700. I love my machines and have good control over most however, I am having a problem with the Ma hoop and the Acufil.
    Look forward to hearing from you.
    PS..maybe there is a video that I could watch but if so, I have not been smart enough to find it.
    I forgot to mention that I use Embird as my software but I have tried both embird and my Customizer without much luck with the MA hoop.
    Guess I need help. 🙂

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi there in Nova Scotia,

      Did I speak to you at Quilt Canada in Halifax last May/June? I spoke to so many customers just like yourself and was able to assist many of them with their queries.

      Unfortunately I cannot find a listing for a Janome dealer in Nova Scotia called A1. ??? Is this dealer perhaps in the USA? I did not recognize the name & I have checked and can’t find them. We do, however, have 3 dealers in Nova Scotia – you will find them listed under Find a Dealer in the top right hand corner of our http://www.janome.ca homepage. We would highly recommend that you call one of these dealers & possibly set up an appointment with them for a lesson. Tell them specifically what you want to find out and see if (a) they would consider helping you by phone (you could, of course call your A1 dealer in the same way) or (b) make a trip to their store at an arranged time to go over your queries. If you did not buy your MC11000 from them, you may have to come to some arrangement for remuneration for the lesson you receive. We do always recommend that you buy your machine from the closest & most conveniently situated dealer to you to prevent situations like what you now face. Our machines are truly wonderful but are supplied on the understanding that you will receive support from the dealer where you purchased them. So buying close to home from a knowledgable and certified dealer is definitely wise.

      The Mc11000 was replaced by the Mc12000 quite some time back so a lot of what you will find as current information is about this new top of the line machine. Having said that, there is LOTS of information available to Mc11000 owners:
      1. There is an instructional DVD that came with your machine. If you cannot find it, I would recommend that you contact the dealer where you purchased the machine. Explain to them that you have lost it and ask them if they can supply you with another or a copy. We often get folk asking for instruction manuals and such like and we do help our dealers with duplicate copies where we can. But you have to go to the dealer. We do not supply these directly.
      2.I have done a search on our janomelife blog for both Mc11000 & macro hoop – there are a number of posts where these products are mentioned. While it may not be answering your specific queries, it certainly does show that we have not forgotten this machine. It is still very much in use by many of our customers.
      3. We recommend you research http://www.janome.ca and http://www.janome.com – there is a good deal of information on both these websites.
      4. I would suggest you google Janome Mc11000 as well as look for video’s on various aspects of using this machine on You Tube. You will be amazed at what you will find. Many dealers as well as Janome distributors have placed information & video’s on the web for free use by anyone.
      5. Your macro hoop did have an instruction sheet in the box. I actually found that most helpful. However if you have lost that, you would need to ask your Janome dealer to get you a copy.
      6. Much the same with the Acufil Quilting kit for Mc11000. These kits were packed with instructions and the understanding that the dealer selling it would teach you how to use it. You do not mention if you are referring to version 2 or 3 although both operate in a similar way – 2 different sized hoops and version 3 has certain upgrades beyond version 2 which enhance the use of the Acufil quilting system. Not sure if you have already purchased this Acufil system or were just wanting to know more about it? If you have not yet purchased this Acufil system, I recommend contacting a Janome dealer by phone or email to ask for more information. Once again, use our Dealer locator to find contact information for every dealer in Canada (including Nova Scotia). We suggest you try a dealer who is authorized to support high end embroidery customers. Any dealer who has the Horizon Mc12000 certified logo next to their name will more than likely also be knowledgable about the previous top of the line model – your Mc11000.

      You mention you have Embird embroidery software. We support our Janome digitzing software. Unfortunately we cannot support Embird as we know nothing about it. What I can, however, tell you is that the macro hoop requires that large designs be split in software FIRST before sending it to the machine to stitch out in the Macro hoop. This is because the macro hoop is a 2 part hoop requiring that you slide the hoop from the top half to the bottom half to stitch out the 2 parts If the design is not split first, it will not work. If you know how to split designs in your Embird software, then I dare say that it might work. But I cannot offer you instruction on how to do this.
      We can refer you to http://www.sunsetstitches.com or to your local Janome dealer who could order you an instructional DVD produced by Trevor Conquergood of Saskatoon. He has a very good DVD all about splitting designs and how to use the Giga hoop & Macro hoops which are both 2 part hoops. Obviously this DVD refers to the Janome software but if you contacted Trevor at the website I listed in this paragraph, he might be able to advise you if his DVD would assist you. By the way, the part # for this specific macro hoop DVD Tutorial is # SSS007-MA should you wish a Janome dealer Canada to order it for you.
      Failing that, I would have to refer you to Embird for further instruction on how to split designs to use in the Janome Macro hoop.

      I hope I have been of some assistance to you. I know it can be frustrating when you are not sure how to use your equipment. Please refer to the sources I have listed above. Good luck!
      Liz
      Western Canada.

      Like

      • magandmin says:

        Dear Liz,
        It seems I did not explain myself very well…A1 was not the name of my dealer but I was just telling you that they are the best there is in dealership and I think a lot of them. Sorry about the misunderstanding. The dealer I go to is Knit n Stitch in New Minus Nova Scotia. I was just up there today and Dianne explained a few things regarding the Ma hoop and gave me a print out that might or might not have been with the MA hoop. It’s been a long time since I bought it so chances are, it’s in my binder and I did not see it. I think the problem I’m having is with the way I downloaded the designs and nothing more. I will do a design again and maybe this time I will pay more attention to the way I bring the design into the customizer.
        The other dealer here is Marlene’s Sewing Bee however, I feel that as they are new with the dealership, they may not be up on the embroidery part.
        As I have been going to Knit n Stitch for many years now, I prefer to go there for my needs.
        Yes, you did meet me at the Quilt Canada in Halifax and we did have a conversation. It was very nice meeting you.
        Thank you for your input. I will try the sites you mentioned and see if I can master the Acufil.
        Thanks again,
        Doreen Ritchie

        Like

      • lizafrica says:

        Hi Doreen,
        So glad you were able to see Dianne and get some assistance. Often it is just a simple step that might be overlooked. Good luck and yes, I am sure you will find lots of good information on the links to websites that I provided.
        Liz
        Western Canada.

        Like

  2. Donna Morton says:

    You are too kind Liz! I’m blushing!

    Like

Share your comments

