QUILT BINDERS & TAPE BINDERS

TAPE BINDER ATTACHMENT FOR QUILT BINDER SET AND COVERPRO/CPX TO GIVE NARROW 1/4 INCH BINDINGS

OK, so I know I have told 7000 of you out there about the QUILT BINDER SET (which MUST go onto your Christmas Wish List if you do not own a QUILT BINDER SET yet!!), and I also know I have told many of you that you can purchase the JANOME COVERPRO/CPX TAPE BINDER  attachments (without base plate etc) to use WITH  your JANOME QUILT BINDER SET  for different finished binding widths.

This is just a review for those who remember me telling this at one or another promotional event. For the rest of you who have asked and perhaps did not get an answer……….. there is another NARROWER  tape binder you can buy to do smaller quilt binding for your quilts. The Part # is 795824014. We have them in stock so all you need do is ask your local JANOME DEALER to order this part # for you and VOILA…..you will be able to do quilt binding with a finished width of 8mm.  This attachment requires you to cut strips 32mm wide and then, when applied to your quilt edge, it becomes 8mm finished width  (or 5/16 inch  – approximately 1/4 inch if you think in inches)

The Quilt Binder set starts with 50mm strips and gives a finished width of 15mm. For imperial:  start with a 2 inch strip for a finished width of 9/16 inch or just over 1/2 inch finished width.

 

quilt bound using the quilt binder

HERE ARE A COUPLE OF OTHER REMINDERS:

  1. There are many (at least 6-8) blog posts dedicated just to the QUILT BINDER SET  and how to use it properly. These are either in the form of step-by-step photo’s and instructions OR video’s. Please type Quilt Binder set in the search box at the top right of this janomelifeblog home page to find these posts.
  2. You will need to own the QUILT BINDER SET  firstbefore you purchase the attachment for narrower bindings as the base plate, screws etc come with the Quilt Binder set. The Part # quoted above only contains the extra attachment to give a narrower binding.
  3. This QUILT BINDER SET is not comptaible with all our JANOME  sewing & embroidery machines. Please consult your local JANOME dealer to check if it will be compatible with the JANOME  sewing machine you currently have. Basically you need to have a machine with a clear plastic bobbin cover that is a rectangular shape (not a square shape).  Here is a quick list of machines which are compatible with the Quilt Binder set: Mc12000, Mc11000 (all models); Horizon 8900; Horizon 8200; Horizon 7700; Mc6600P; Mc6500P; 3160; 4120. I think that is them all…..hope I did not leave any off.

I hope this reminder helps and jogs some memories of things I have said before on this blog and at Dealer events & sewing shows.

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Janome Accessories, Quilt Binder and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to QUILT BINDERS & TAPE BINDERS

  1. maxine says:

    what is the model number for the quilting binder set for the horizon janome 7700

    Like

  2. Debbie Wilson says:

    Is the quilt binder set useable withthe MC 9900? I bought one and don’t get my classes until January 20. I’d like to know and I’ll consider having dealer order for pick up in January.

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Debbie,
      No, the Quilt Binder for the Mc9900 is currently not yet available in Canada. As the Quilt Binder attaches to the machine over the bobbin cover, we are waiting for a Quilt Binder that is compatible with EASY SET BOBBIN systems. Our Mc9900 and Mc15000 with all their lovely newer technology have the easy Set bobbin systems with a different size bobbin cover than previous models.
      I am, however, reliably informed that a Quilt Binder for these models is under development and should be available early in 2014. Do not have a more exact ETA yet. Sorry, but I will most certainly blog about it when it arrives.
      Happy Christmas & happy sewing on your Mc9900. I LOVE it and often take this model home to do my embroideries as it does SO much and is also so compact and easy to use. Enjoy!
      Liz
      Janome Canada.

      Like

      • Debbie Wilson says:

        Liz I bought mine in US on Black Friday. Haven’t even turned it on yet because first I had company and then got sick. I just HATE handing sewing and want to bind quilts. I have other machines, but your binder looked so easy I hoped I’d be able to get one for the MC9900. Do you think you must have the extra bobbin case for doing free motion quilting? I called my dealer and they didn’t think it was necessary so I am confused. I work long hours so I don’t like having issues. Let me know. I have been perusing Canadian site because it is better than U.S. If you think I should have it I’ll just tell her I want it and let her think I’m eccentric.

        Like

      • lizafrica says:

        Hi Debbie,
        Congrats! Good purchase and I am sure you are going to bond with & just love your machine.

        I absolutely love the Quilt Binder. Like you I do not hand sew my bindings – takes way too long. So the Quilt binder was a wonderful addition to my quilting. You will need to practice a bit to get the technique right – but there are step-by-step pics and video’s on this blog. All you need do is search in the search box for Quilt binder and then work your way through the posts. We have probably done more posts on this one item than on any other one item.

        I am surprized your dealer would say that the blue dot/low tension/quilters bobbin case is not necessary. Janome made it specifically to make your free motion so much easier. You will have much better tension and no “loopy-loo’s” on the back of the quilt when you use this bobbin case. Trust me…..I virtually NEVER free motion quilt without using it and that is for whatever JANOME model I happen to be quilting on at the time. Like you, I have a low tolerance level for “issues” as I am super busy and want to get my projects done quickly and happily with no frustrations. Buy it! You will not be sorry.

        Liz
        Janome Canada.

        Like

  3. Maj says:

    I am so very glad I found your site. One way or another my questions are answered. Thanks sooooo much.

    Like

Share your comments

