MY SEWING ROOM: Liz shows off the results of her big January 2013 clean up!

Remember my posting on 1st January about setting goals for 2013? Well, I am happy to say that I took myself seriously and not only cleaned up & completely reorganized my classroom & Education storeroom at work, but I had enough energy & motivation left to do the same big “clean up” in my sewing room at home! Yes, and I have the photo’s to prove it. Now, mind you, as soon as I get going on the next project, it is unlikely to remain this way for long!

My JANOME CPX COVERPRO SERGER AND EL945 SERGERS below my thread wall - one of the big advantages of winning a prize of thread last year at Quilt Canada is that I wa sable to add quite a lot to my collection!

My JANOME CPX COVERPRO SERGER AND EL945 SERGERS below my thread wall – one of the big advantages of winning a prize last year at Quilt Canada is that I was able to add quite a lot of thread to my collection!

Yes, I do admit to be slightly Type A but honestly, if you have the "stuff" I have accumulated over decades of sewing & quilting, I really have to have some way of storing it properly or I will never find what I need when I need it!!

Yes, I do admit to being slightly Type A.  But quite  realistically, I really have to have some way of storing it properly or I will never find what I need when I need it!! I have stacked plastic drawers in the closet & labelled the contents of drawers. Note also my handy dandy rack for rulers on the wall – my thanks to my friend, Tim, who so generously  made it for me – I just love it as the rulers are right there when I need them but are out of the way/off my table.

I have an regular old ironing board made rather special by a large board that my son made for me for a birthday gift some years back. It has wooden brackets underneath which fit over my ironing board and keep it in place. I covered it with some old towels, cotton batting and topped that with cotton fabric. I change this from time to time when it gets grubby. Thank you, Andrew, one of gifts I am thankful for on an ongoing basis!!Having a BIG surface on which to fuse applique, press quilt tops, etc is issential as far as I am concerned.

I have an regular old ironing board made rather special by a large board that my son made for me for a birthday gift some years back. It has wooden brackets underneath which fit over my ironing board and keep it in place. I covered it with some old towels, cotton batting and topped that with cotton fabric. I change this fabric from time to time when it gets grubby. Thank you, Andrew, it is one of the gifts I am most thankful for on an ongoing basis!! 

Above the pressing station is my mini quilt wall for current smaller projects,etc.  I simply used a piece of  fleecy backed plastic table cloth with the fleecy side out. It works just great. I stuck thumbs tacks into the wall to hold it up….. Yes, I will fix the holes when/if we sell the house but in the meanwhile I will do what I please with my wall! 

I have a box with all my pressing tools & notions on top of the dresser next to my ironing station – all to make it easier and hassle free for when I am on a roll creating some exciting new project. I have the Mary Ellen’s Best Press spray; Fabric adhesive glue; the little jug for filling up the water in my iron, etc. By the way…..I just love my Oliso iron with its “feet” that pop out when I stop ironing. My iron is orange, not blue as in the link  & I know there are also yellow ones – no clue what the differences are.  The iron is much more stable left like this so I am far less likely to knock it off my pressing board (been there, done that with a previous iron which, needless to say, “died”) . I love the lightness of the iron which is good for my “wonky” elbow, but it still does an excellent pressing job.

The grass laundry basket was only there temporarily: It got filled up with fabric & other stuff I was throwing out…….Remember my advice about deciding what we ARE going to use & then get rid of those UFO’s, fabric & project supplies that are just weighing heavily on our shoulders & consciences. Again, I took myself seriously….this basket is almost full!

My quilting & garment fabric stash is housed in a wire basket system of drawers - you can see what drawer holds what so it works well. Thanks to my co-worker Debbie who was looking for a home for these drawers!

My quilting & garment fabric stash is housed in a wire basket system of drawers – you can see what each drawer holds so it works well for me. My grateful thanks to my co-worker Debbie who was looking for a home for these drawers – I just love them and they sure work way better than my previous untidy stash storage.   My Janome 7700 sits waiting for me on the sturdy table which my late father made for me many years ago. Needless to say, it was an item which came across the oceans to Canada with us.  

My cutting table is a lovely old mahogany diningroom table inherited from my husband's grandparents and which came all the way from South Africa to Canada with us. I put those old ball & claw feet on risers

My cutting table is a lovely old mahogany dining room table inherited from my husband’s grandparents and which also came all the way from South Africa to Canada with us. I put those lovely, old ball & claw feet on risers to bring the surface up to a comfortable cutting height for me.  I have found the nifty drawers on the front of the table (formerly storing placemats & cutlery) very useful for storing rotary cutting  equipment, etc.  Before the clean up, underneath this table looked like a “dog’s breakfast”. Now all that remains is one stack of  drawers containing my knitting yarns and one bag with my current knitting project – Yes, I do knit as well – just simple projects for “therapy” while watching TV.

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Horizon MC7700QCP, Janome Fun, Janome Quilt, Janome Sewing Machine, SEWING NOTIONS and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to MY SEWING ROOM: Liz shows off the results of her big January 2013 clean up!

  1. smadsen@xplornet.com says:

    Awesome!!

    Like

  2. Chris Krause says:

    Wow, what a great space to work in! You’ve inspired me to tidy up my sewing area.

    Like

  3. Lidwina Flavelle says:

    Lovely – thanks for sharing Liz. Always nice to see someone else’s sewing room. We are starting a basement reno soon and I will be getting a sewing quilting room – not a repurposed bedroom. Really looking forward to it.

    Cheers,

    Lidwina Flavelle, Valemount, BC

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Lidwina,
      Yes, I also enjoy seeing what other folk’s sewing rooms look like. There is a magazine that offers just that – can’t remember the title.
      I am using a re-purposed bedroom now that my birdies have flown the nest. I used to use my huge basement but it is being used for something else now & I am much happier in my brighter, warmer room. It is a lot smaller but I have found it workable if I am pretty organized & try to not pile things up on surfaces – but it does mean being disciplined enough to put things away as soon as I have finished using them!
      Happy sewing and all the best for your reno!
      Liz
      Janome Canada

      Like

Share your comments

