TRANSFERRING DESIGNS FROM YOUR COMPUTER TO YOUR EMBROIDERY MACHINE PART3

Cheryl of Saskatoon is a long time loyal JANOME customer and fan. She contacted me after PART 1 of this series was published and had some things she thought would be good to add.

Embroidery to die for .....gotta know how to get these gorgeous designs to your machine!

Embroidery to die for …..gotta know how to get these gorgeous designs to your machine!

Preparing a USB or Compact Flash Card for Embroidery Design transfer

  1.  The first thing to know is that the format for Janome Embroidery Machines is:  .jef.  So when purchasing from internet websites, you need to choose .jef format. If this format is not available, you will need software to convert the design to .jef. Same applies if you buy a CD of designs: be sure to check it has .jef format if you do not own embroidery software which will convert another format to .jef 
  2. To format a USB or Compact Flash Card (memory device), put the memory device into your computer: Right click on it and scroll to the format on the drop down menu.  The device MUST BE formatted in the FAT in the “File System” window.  A quick format will work just fine. 
  3. Take a blank USB or Compact Flash card to your sewing machine and insert it into the appropriate slot.  The machine will put the correct folders onto the memory device.  There will be 2 folders on Embroidery/Sewing machine memory devices an only 1 folder on the embroidery only machine.  The folders will be EMB (for embroidery files) and ORD (for ordinary sewing or saved stitches in the sewing mode).  The ORD folder will not be referred to as it isn’t needed for embroidery. 
  4. After the proper files are on the memory device, you put the device back into your computer and copy your .jef format designs into the Embf folder ( the inner folder) and you are ready to start your embroidery project.
  5. An extra note:  Those who own the Memory Craft 11000/11000SE; 350E; 12000 and now the new 9900, can create folders inside the EMB folder and give them a name that means something to you.  The important thing to remember is that your designs go inside that second folder so that the embroidery machine can find them.

Thank you, Cheryl, for these extra tips & information.

more "delicious" embroidery

more “delicious” embroidery

ADDENDUM TO THIS POST: JANOME CANADA HAS A SUPPLY OF 1GB & 2GB USB STICKS CURRENTLY (APRIL 2013) AVAILABLE FOR SALE. PLEASE ORDER THESE AT YOUR LOCAL JANOME DEALER BEFORE THEY ARE ALL GONE……AS WE ALL KNOW THEY ARE VERY HARD TO FIND!

About lizafrica

I work for Janome & Elna Sewing machines in Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing industry for over 20 years so I do bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Horizon MC 12000, Janome Embroidery, JANOME EMBROIDERY SOFTWARE, MC 11000 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to TRANSFERRING DESIGNS FROM YOUR COMPUTER TO YOUR EMBROIDERY MACHINE PART3

  1. Rebecca Hulme says:

    I have encountered this problem twice now. With Drawings I have created an embroidery design to fit the MA Hoop – just simple text. The file saved fine as a .jef file in my Embf folder in my Emb folder on my 2gb flash drive. However, when I try to open it in my MC11000SE it simply isn’t there.

    The first time this happened with a previous design, I narrowed it down to what I though was a corrupted .jpg file.

    This time there is no .jpg file involved. I tried creating this file with both the Dancing Script font & the Pristina font. The files will save one time & not another & when the do save they do not show up in my MC11000SE. It seems as though the MA Hoop is not being recognized & yes it is installed but only the 5×4 hoop shows up.

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Rebecca,

      The MA hoop is the Macro hoop for the Mc11000, not so? Designs for this hoop has to be split in 2 as the hoop will stitch one half and then you slide the hoop down to stitch the lower half. Have you split the design you created in Drawings? Our Janome software knows it has to split for the MA hoop and will do this automatically when you save the design after having selected Mc11000 & MA hoop. I am not sure Drawings is giving you these options for this machine & this hoop. Seems like you don’t have the correct hoop so it wont know it needs to be split? If the design is not saved in the correct hoop, it may not recognize the design when you try to open it at the machine.
      When you say you have Drawings, are you referring to Artistic Sewing Suite or another software? If you have Artistic Sewing Suite you may call our Software helpline 1-800-631-0183 Ext775. If another brand, you will need to contact the Help desk for that brand for further assistance.

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

      • Rebecca Hulme says:

        Thanks Liz. No I did not split the design nor was there any indication than I had to in the Artistic Sewing Drawings software. The MA Hoop is just another options in the drop down hoop menu. Also Drawings does not give you an option to split the design. So are you saying I should make 2 separate designs & JEF files?

        Like

      • lizafrica says:

        Hi Rebecca,

        I cannot say exactly how the Drawings software operates as I don’t have it. I would assume you have a large design to stitch or you would not be choosing the MA hoop. If so, then yes, it has to be split and sent to the machine as 2 halves of one design. Our Janome software does this automatically.
        I would not think there would be much point in using the MA hoop for smaller designs or making 2 separate designs. They are not really separate – they are 2 halves to be stitched in one hoop.
        And yes, they must be .jef format.
        Liz
        JANOME CANADA

        Like

      • Rebecca Hulme says:

        Liz would it be the Customizer 11000 software that I need & where can I purchase it?

        Like

      • lizafrica says:

        Hi Rebecca,
        Yes, that would be one software package you could use although that was replaced by Digitizer Junior a long time ago so I doubt very many dealers will have inventory of Customizer 11000. I would recommend Digitizer Junior or the full Digitizer MBX software. You may look on the dealer locator on our http://www.janome.ca website for dealers. Try any that are near you for further software information. You might be wise to check that the dealer you select is able to give you lessons and support on the software.

        Liz
        JANOME CANADA

        Like

  2. suhubenSusan says:

    Somehow all my purchased designs are no longer in my sewing machine. Erased I assume. I have 3 CD’s of designs. How do I get the designs back into my Janome Memory Craft 9700? I am not very computer savvy so in simple terms will be appreciated. Please email me directions if possible. I really need help. I have a bazaar coming up & I can’t do any embroidery until I recapture my designs. Thank you in advance.

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Susan,

      I am sorry but this is not a topic that can be addressed in this simple query format. The blog post you accessed has a lot more information but I really think the best thing to do is contact your local Janome dealer where you purchased your machine and ask them to show you how to do this. It does involve having a reader-writer box and blank ATA card as the Janome 9700 does not have a USB port.
      Alternatively, you could ask the Software helpline at 1-800-631-0183 Ext 775. Leave a message and they will call you back.

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

  3. My Laptop that had Windows XP died…I am trying to use a CF card to download designs to my MC 10000/updated to 100001? When I put the card in the machine it gives me an error message: “ERROR OCCURRED WHILE PROCESSING” and then “FORMAT CARD”. Can you please please help. Also I have no idea of how to format a card.

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Vicke,

      The card is formatted in the SET menu of your machine. Either your sewing machine manual and/or Your local Janome dealer where you purchased your machine should assist you with this.
      Not sure what those messages mean. It is best to contact our Janome Software Helpline to get assistance: 1-800-661-0183 Ext775.

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

      • Hi Liz,

        Sorry to bother you but I finally got someone to answer the phone at the number above and it was a dispatcher…Said there is no ext 775 and this is not Janome helpline??

        Vicki

        Like

      • lizafrica says:

        My apologies, Vicke. It was a typo. Software Helpline or Technical support is 1-800-631-0183 Ext 775. Leave a message and # where you can be reached and they will call you back.

        Liz
        JANOME CANADA.

        Like

  4. Wilma hennebury says:

    How do I save a poem I created with the machine

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Wilma,

      Not really sure what you mean? Have you used the fonts on the machine to create a poem you wish to stitch out in the embroidery hoop?
      If so, the save function is found in the EDIT screen. you can save to the machine or external media.You do not say which embroidery machine you have so I am not able to be more specific than that. But your instruction book will definitely explain how to save files.

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

  5. Ashley says:

    I’ve had so much success using this method to transfer designs to my machine (MC10001, inherited and I love the machine to bits). I’ve bought several designs and used Hoop A plenty of times with success, even multi-colored designs. However, I recently bought a 5×7 applique design and no matter what I cannot get my machine to read it off the sd card. I opened the file in the Janome software and it shows Hoop A, which is too small for this design. Do larger designs require a direct-connect transfer from my computer to the machine? What am I doing wrong? Thanks.

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Ashley,
      If your applique design is for a 5×7 hoop, it IS too large for the A hoop. You will need to open it in the B hoop which accommodates 5×7 designs. It might be some issue with the digitizing or the design saved in an incorrect hoop size. You might want to contact the supplier of the design and query this with them. If it is a 5×7 design, it should open in your MC10000.

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

Share your comments

