JANOME CUSTOMER SHARES HER FELTED WOOL PROJECTS WITH US

At a recent event at Snip and Stitch in Nanaimo, one of the customers, Stephanie Buckingham,  showed us the wool felted skirts she made for her daughter who lives in Dunedin New Zealand.

IMG_0606

I (Liz) visited Christchurch, NZ a few years ago in June (when it is WINTER there and I can testify to the fact that it was COLD!) Dunedin is even further south of Christchurch so I’m sure wool felted skirts are highly prized clothing.

Stephanie says: Felting is quite popular in New Zealand so you see it in the fashions and young people wear it.  Her daughter loves to wear her skirts at the Boys’ High School where she works.

IMG_0608

To make the skirt, Stephanie cuts out an A line skirt in a thick wool – she thinks it was Melton. She used roving embellishments and laid them on the skirt. Once she was happy with the placement, she punched away with her Janome FM725 Needle felting machine.  She originally started with orange but it looked a little too much like Halloween so she added the yellow and the coloured yarn after the skirt was finished.

IMG_0610

She took 12 inch widths of silk organza and rolled the edges using her Janome 1100D serger &  then  punched this into the wool using her Janome FM 725 needle felting machine.

IMG_0609

“For the green one, I used fiber that was Merino Wool and silk that had been made in New Zealand. For the grey and brownish one I used a wool roving”.

Thanks for sharing this with us, Stephanie. I am sure your daughter is going to be very pleased with her birthday gift –  AND she will be warm in her skirt this winter!! It is currently late summer soon to be Fall in New Zealand.

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, FM 725, Janome 1100D, Janome Fun, Janome Sewing Machine, Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your comments

