SPOTLIGHT ON JANOME CUSTOMER AND QUILT ARTIST: TERRY ASKE OF VANCOUVER, BC

Terry Aske in quilt studio (1)

I met Terry Aske some time back through a mutual friend. I recently asked Terry if she would like to give us a glimpse into her world of making and selling art quilts. I am happy to report that she agreed to do so….. Terry tells us that:

“Over the years, I’ve dabbled in many creative activities, including drawing, painting, knitting and sewing. When I discovered quilting and the concept of art quilts, I knew I had finally found my creative niche.  A perfectionist by nature, the precision demanded by the complex quilts I create, combined with my passion for beautiful and vivid fabrics, makes art quilting the perfect outlet for my creativity.

Self portrait
My style is contemporary. Note Terry’s Self Portrait quilt above. Some of my quilts are pieced, some are fusible appliqué, and some are a combination of techniques. I love bright, intense, complex colors. My favorite color is chartreuse; you’ll find at least a bit of it in almost every one of my quilts.

Since 1998, I’ve completed more than 100 art quilts. I enter my quilts in juried shows and submit my quilts to magazines. I have had quilts accepted at the Canadian Quilters’ Association National Juried Show and the International Quilt Festival, and published in Quilting Arts Magazine and Art Quilt Studio Magazine.

In 2009, I had the opportunity to retire from my full-time job, and devote more time to quilting.  I’ve been a Janome owner for many years, so it was an easy decision when I wanted to upgrade from my Janome Memory Craft 4000.  I purchased a Janome 6600P, which I refer to as my “trusty assistant”.  I love the additional bed space, the needle down option, the automatic thread cutter, the Acufeed system – and it came with its own sewing table.  I think my favorite accessory is the Acufeed ¼” foot – bindings are so much easier!

About my quilt art process:

The concept for a new quilt might be based on a specific color combination I want to use, or I might be inspired by a photo I’ve taken of leaves or flowers or a landscape. The design always evolves during the creative process, and the final quilt is often quite different from my original concept. I love challenges and commission work, because they often take me in an artistic direction I might not otherwise have followed.

Here are three recent quilts I’ve made:

Even trees get the blues

Even trees get the blues

Even Trees Get the Blues – this art quilt above shows the detail on the pic below of the full quilt. It is machine pieced and free motion quilted.  I create a full size pattern, trace it onto freezer paper, cut the pieces apart and iron each piece to the back of the fabric.  Once I’m satisfied with all my fabric choices, it’s time to sew. All seams are straight lines (no curves at all), so I leave the freezer paper on the back of each piece as I sew it together.   This technique requires a lot of precision.  I’ve learned from experience with previous quilts I’ve made, that the more careful and accurate I am when sewing the pieces and sub-sections together, the better the larger sections will go together.  Using my JANOME Acufeed walking foot (for Janome MC6600P and JANOME HORIZON 7700QCP) reduces slippage as I sew the seams, even on the really long seams across the width of the quilt.  For the free motion quilting, I find the JANOME free-motion foot gives me really good visibility around and behind the foot.

Even trees get the blues

Even trees get the blues

Scrappy Lone Stars

Scrappy Lone Stars

Scrappy Lone-Stars – This modern quilt features prints from the Madrona Road fabric line from Michael Miller designer Violet Craft. The Modern Quilt Guild and Michael Miller Fabrics sponsored a challenge to members of modern quilt guilds around the world, and as member of the Vancouver Modern Quilt Guild, I was eligible to participate. I’ve long wanted to make a Lone Star quilt, and decided a scrappy lone-star would be perfect for the Madrona Road fabric.  I quilted it with right-angle parallel lines in each quadrant.  The JANOME Acufeed foot makes it easy to sew these long straight lines without any pulling or shifting of the fabric.

Rainy Day people

Rainy Day people

Rainy Day People 3 –  For this art quilt, I used fused raw edge appliqué, and machine quilting.   I did the zigzag stitching around the people and umbrellas before sandwiching the quilt, which allowed me to use the automatic thread cutter instead of having to bury all the thread ends.  After sandwiching the quilt, I machine-stitched ‘rain’ with a variegated black-white-gray thread using painter’s tape as a guide.  Again, the JANOME Acufeed foot made the straight-line stitching a snap.”

THANK YOU, Terry, for sharing your quilt art story with us.

To see Terry’s quilts under construction and what’s on her design wall, please visit her at  http://www.terryaskeartquilts.com/Studio/

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, JANOME CONSUMER PROJECTS, Janome Fun, Janome Quilt, MC 6600P and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to SPOTLIGHT ON JANOME CUSTOMER AND QUILT ARTIST: TERRY ASKE OF VANCOUVER, BC

  1. Thank you Liz for introducing me to Terry, I so enjoyed this article and the discovery. Her Art is amazing.

    Like

  2. Liz – thanks for the feature! I’m honored to be included in your very interesting blog.

    Like

  3. I love all of Terry’s work and it’s nice to hear more of the story.

    Like

Share your comments

