NEW …..FREE MOTION COUCHING FOOT …….just arrived!!

NEW FREE MOTION COUCHING FOOT  - JUST ARRIVED

NEW FREE MOTION COUCHING FOOT – JUST ARRIVED

We are very excited about this new foot that is now available through your local JANOME DEALER. (Just arrived here in Canada). Part # 202-110-006.

This foot is compatible with JANOME MEMORY CRAFT EMBROIDERY MACHINES  and HIGH SHANK MODEL machines. Please check with your local Janome dealer if you are not sure if this foot will work with your machine.

photo (6)

The foot comes with the Free motion hopping foot as well as TWO different FEET which screw into the metal part of the foot in the same way that the interchangeable feet for the Convertible Free Motion feet sets work.  Just take care that you do not drop the little screw…..it is tiny and you might struggle to find it on the floor!

These 2 attachments/feet are for different size yarns/cords.

Foot 1 (has the # on the plastic part) is for   yarns 1.5-2mm thick  >>> thicker yarns.

Foot 2 is for yarns less than 1.5mm thick >>> thinner yarns.

I have experimented with a number of different yarns & both foot 1 & 2.  Here are my observations & suggestions:

  1. The blister pack has instructions inside (it folds out like a book so DON’T throw it away without reading it!!). It says to use monofilament. I did use Invisible thread for most of the play time I just enjoyed. I used Sulky Invisible thread in the smoke colour. It worked just fine. I would very much like to try out Wonderfil’s INVISAFIL but did not have any here at work. As you may know, this is a fine 100wt polyester thread which comes in a wide range of colours so should work extremely well to blend and disappear into the yarn well. I am also wanting to try using a contrast thread which will, of course, be seen. I may or may not like the results…..but I have not got there yet.
  2. Do set up the machine as per Blister package instructions. Try to resist “winging it” and flying by the seat of your pants……read the instructions and it will save you time & trouble!
  3. Do try to select the correct Foot 1 or foot 2 depending on the size of yarn or cord you are using.  If the yarn is too thick for the hole in the foot, it will not feed through well and may get stuck & cause you problems. If the yarn is too thin – in other words you need foot 2 – then please switch over to that foot as the thin yarn tends to shift around  in the hole in the foot and the stitching may “miss” the yarn and not couch it down as you would like.
  4. DO drop the feed dogs as per instruction on the Blister package. You ARE doing a Free motion technique and dropped feed dogs in this instance allows you to move the fabric easier and not cause jamming up & bunching of the yarn.
  5. You do need to practice this: if you do not move the fabric smoothly or stop moving it, the stitching will “pile up” exactly as you would expect. However, now you will have caused a jam up IN the foot and you will not be able to continue without unjamming it. Ask me how I know?!  But then I was sewing with the Stop/start button and the phone rang…….So, steady and smooth movement of the fabric is the aim.  Stop the machine if you stop moving the fabric.
  6. I started off going really slowly as I was being a cautious girl. Actually I found that when I increased the speed of the machine – exactly as I would when I do Free Motion quilting – that I got better results. Maybe because I was now into my comfort zone of happy, smooth & fast Free Motion? Whatever it was, it worked and my excitement with this foot mounted exponentially!

Have fun, experiment and play with this foot. I have a strong feeling it is going to be a big success!! It is currently IN STOCK so do ask your local JANOME dealer to order it for you.

Here are some pics of my experimenting below:

I used a variegated metallic cording for this spiral with Sulky invisible thread in the needle

I used a variegated metallic cording for this spiral with Sulky invisible thread in the needle

For this one, I simply free motioned with invisible thread using a paler coloured slightly metallic cording

For this one, I simply free motioned with invisible thread using a paler coloured slightly metallic cording

Close up of the Free motion couching in the pic above.

Close up of the Free motion couching in the pic above.

Different yarns of varying thicknesses

Different yarns of varying thicknesses

close up of pic above. The green yarn did have silver 'flecks" in the yarn - it is not silver couching. I was still using the invisible thread for these samples.

close up of pic above. The green yarn did have silver ‘flecks” in the yarn – it is not silver couching. I was still using the invisible thread for these samples.

About lizafrica

I work in the Education Dept at Janome & Elna, Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Janome Accessories, Janome Fun, Janome Sewing Machine, Sewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to NEW …..FREE MOTION COUCHING FOOT …….just arrived!!

  1. Nora Tayler says:

    I am looking for a low shank couching foot the quilt store I deal with i Barrie Ontario say that it is not one available, but I am asking if there is any available anywhere or can it be ordered.

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Nora,
      Your dealer is correct. We do not have a free motion couching foot for a low shank machine. We do, however, have a Miracle stitcher which is a very simialr type of foot for couching. This was made for an older model machine but we do still have some in stock. Ask your dealer to make enquiries for you.

      Liz
      Janome Canada

      Like

  2. Diane Beaman says:

    Has anyone used this new foot with Superior’s Razzle Dazzle thread? I have not been able to get it to work. I pops out of the slit on the side of the foot and only attaches when heading in one direction. Is this foot only good with yarn or cording? The Janome website mentions using it with thread.

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Diane,
      I have a deadline to finish another project but I will test the foot with Razzle as soon as get a chance I let you know my findings. I have used yarns & cords successfully. Razzle is a bit thinner so let’s see what I can come up with.
      Liz
      Janome Canada.

      Like

  3. Jan Barber says:

    I contacted Janome in the UK to find out more about the couching foot, unfortunately I only have a low shank machine and as I already own2 Janomes I am not able to purchase another, I’m really disappointed about this as I do a lot of textile art and this gadget would have been really helpfull.
    Jan Barber, UK.

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Jan,
      I am actually here in Japan right now & have just asked Janome Tokyo about Free motion couching foot for LOW shank. They told me that they will consider it. No promises & it does not mean it will become available real soon but I have definitely asked about it. I will also tell Ruth & Ann about your request as they are here with us.
      Liz
      Janome Canada

      Like

      • Jan Barber says:

        Thanks Liz for your kind reply. I know these things get manufactured by popular demand so lets hope there will be enough requests to Janome for a low shank version. I would advise anyone reading theses posts not to give up but to lobby Janome direct or ask their dealer to do it. Regards Jan.

        Like

      • lizafrica says:

        Hi Jan,
        Let’s hope we see this foot in due course in our Janome stores around the world.
        Liz
        Janome Canada

        Like

  4. Jan Barber says:

    I am in the UK and would love to have one of these. My machines are MC200e which does not do free hand, but I also have a Janome 7025 which I use for free hand embroidery and quilting. I have emailed several Janome dealers but am awaiting replies. I am also excited at adding a new attachment to my machine, I usually do crouching by hand on textile art and it’s very tedious. Regards, Jan Barber, UK.

    Like

  5. Before this foot was available, I adapted a foot to use for this. So as soon as I saw Janome had a free motion couching foot, I snatched it up! I even did a multipart review on my blog about it, with a video.

    Like

  6. Me too! I sure hope it is compatible with my machine…..I have been looking for this very thing!

    Like

  7. maj says:

    How exciting! Going to try to get my dealer to order and hopefully it will be in quickly. Thanks for keeping me informed ;}.

    Like

Share your comments

