WHAT IS ALL THE BUZZ ABOUT PURPLE TIP NEEDLES?????

NEW PURPLE TIP NEEDLES FROM JANOME

NEW PURPLE TIP NEEDLES FROM JANOME

Did you get a pack of needles with your machine and notice a needle with a purple tip?? And not know what it was for? I think the first machines to come with one of these in the needle pack was the JANOME MC12000 so these purple tip needles have been around for a little while.  They are now available in 5 needle blister packs as in the pic above. Ask for them at your local JANOME dealer.

Let me enlighten you about what these needles are to be used for:

  • They are for ALL Janome  models. Part # 202122001 for the blister pack of 5 needles.
  • They are specifically designed to effectively prevent skipped stitches when you are sewing with stretch fabrics; multiple layers of fabric eg quilts; and when sewing across bulky seams eg at a hemline.
  • I have been asked if these are ball point needles?  Yes, it has a ball point tip but also have a COBRA HEAD which opens up the fibers of the fabric allowing the needle to pierce thick layers, tightly woven fabrics or “difficult” stretch fabrics with ease.  The needle actually goes between the fibers.

 

Notice the skipped stitches on the top 2 rows & none on the bottom 2 rows............You guessed right: purple tip needle was used for bottom 2 rows. This fabric is a lycra knit made from crushed shells. It was a really difficult fabric to sew. See pics below of more skipped stitches when I tied to sew this long before purple tip needles arrived. I AM going to re sew those seams now so that I can wear this skirt after all - so glad I did not toss it out!

Notice the skipped stitches on the top 2 rows & none on the bottom 2 rows…………You guessed right: purple tip needle was used for bottom 2 rows.
This fabric is a lycra knit made from crushed shells. It was a really difficult fabric to sew. See pics below of more skipped stitches when I tried to sew this skirt long before purple tip needles arrived. I AM going to re-sew those seams now so that I can wear this skirt after all – so glad I did not toss it out!

  • I LOVE sewing with knit fabrics – almost all the garments I make are done using knit fabrics. Some of these fabrics present no issues and “behave” beautifully whether I am using my JANOME serger for 4 thread seams or my JANOME CPX 1000 for coverhem ; OR when sewing on my JANOME sewing machine – eg a top stitching etc.  HOWEVER, I have from time to time encountered some knit fabrics which turn out to be a bit of a nightmare to sew. Whether I used my serger or sewed on my sewing machine, I kept getting skipped stitches……..like badly. It nearly drove me crazy …………….until the arrival of the JANOME PURPLE TIP NEEDLE that is. Now I have NO MORE issues with skipped stitches. It would be an understatement to say that I am a happy girl now as I know that even troublesome fabrics can be tamed with the correct tools!!

Look at the completely different results on the same green fabric using a Purple tip needle: purple tip 1

  • Just recently at the Vancouver Sewing Show in Abbotsford, we had a JANOME customer come to the booth with a little piece of fabric that she was using to make dance costumes. She was “tearing her hair out” as nothing she tried would stop the skipped stitches. The fabric was a soft knit with that sort of plasticized, “rubbery” surface…..perfect for dance costumes but very tricky fabric if you have tried to sew on this before. We sent her away to try the JANOME Purple tip needles and …..the next day she came back with a smile on her face and a sample sewn on the same fabric with NO skipping  at all. …….. Success!

Trust us, these needles WORK!

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in 1200D Serger, Janome Accessories, Janome Sewing Machine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to WHAT IS ALL THE BUZZ ABOUT PURPLE TIP NEEDLES?????

  1. Susan says:

    I have a CPX 2000 and having many skipped stitches working with bamboo jersey. I was told by my dealer to try these purple tip needles but it seems from your comment above that they won’t work on CPX machines requiring EL needles. Is this correct for 2000 model and is there anything else I could try?
    thank you,
    Susan

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Susan,

      My coworker Linda suggest the following as solutions for skipped stitches:
      1. Make sure the needles are inserted up as far as they will go.
      2. The thread is too thick for the needles. use a larger needle.
      3. Lengthen the stitch length.
      4. use a new needle every project.

      If the above fails, you could certainly try the purple tip needles. The EL needles have a bigger scarf in the back to help prevent skipped stitches.

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

  2. Primrose Bohne says:

    If they work on a Janome, they should work on ELNA 444 or their newer model? The 444 is same at the 1000cpx.

    Like

  3. Do they work on Janome my lock?

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi
      Please check your manual and your local Janome dealer to discover what needles are recommended for your serger. I know purple tips won’t work on a serger that only takes EL needles. Not sure what needles your serger uses so please check. If same type as a purple tip, then yes you can. You could also give them a try and see if you like the results – but not for EL needle sergers.
      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

  4. Lay-Lay says:

    Are there purple tipped needles for longarm quilting machines

    Liked by 1 person

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi
      We do not carry the Artistic quilter long arm machines in Canada so I do not know if our purple tip needles would work on it. Not sure what needles it takes.
      I cannot answer for any of the other brand long arm machines as I have no idea what type of needles they take.
      Sorry.

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA.

      Like

Share your comments

