JUST LOOK AT THE LATEST ISSUE OF A NEEDLE PULLING THREAD MAGAZINE……..

JUST LANDED ON MY DESK YESTERDAY!! The Spring 2013 issue of A NEEDLE PULLING THREAD magazine. This is a Canadian publication that we are real proud of as there are not too many like it in Canada that we can say is truly “home grown” – published by Canadians with articles about Canadians.

ANPT MAG

I got so excited when I saw Beverly Johnson’s winning quilt on the front cover……….but wait….there’s more: There is whole article about Beverly, St Peter’s Abbey (Muenster, Saskatchewan) where the annual Saskatchewan Stitches Conference is held.   This is on page 10 following & includes instructions about how Beverly made her very clever circular quilt with its hidden bra’s, panties & corsets!!! And there’s more: On page 96 & 97 is a report on the 10th Anniversary of the Conference – in 2012. My elephant quilt (which I called “Passage to India”) that I entered in the Anniversary challenge is there on page 97 and I do believe I am in the group photo though so small I can’t even see myself and I do not remember exactly where I stood…..no matter. Important thing is that I was there and had fun working & teaching & selling sewing machines!!!

I highly recommend you go get your copy of the Spring 2013 issue of A Needle Pulling Thread if you want to read more.

I have said this before, and I will say it again here: wild horses would not keep me away from this Conference. I mean it. For a big city, super stressed out girl like me, there is something incredibly special about going to an itsy bitsy tiny town hours away from Saskatoon. When you turn the lights off in your room at night it is DARK and so quiet & peaceful that sleep is a very possible option.  The first year I went, I was really quite  worried about my very sick husband and I kind of just needed to get away while at the same time work which is a therapy of its own. Man alive:  maybe it was the water?  maybe it was the people?  maybe it was the monastery venue for the Conference? But I honestly believe that there were spiritual things happening too. I am not a Catholic but I went away from that first Conference revived and refreshed ….ready to face my challenges with sick hubby with renewed strength.

I have met some of the very nicest people in my line of work , starting with Wendy and her staff at Haus of Stitches, to fellow teachers at the Conference;  to folk coming to attend classes at the Conference.  There are even folk who come to just chill out, breathe in the fresh, clean air of rural Saskatchewan and sew happily in their room or in the communal meeting area. There’s a LOT that goes on from May 3oth to June 9th (2013 dates)  so there is something for everyone.  Check out their website for more details on this year’s Conference…..next month & counting!!!  You can also call the store at 1-800-344-6024 HAUS OF STITCHES, HUMBOLDT , SASKATCHEWAN.  I know at this point many of the classes may be fully booked, but you can always ask and see what is still available.  See you there!

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in BOOK REVIEW, Creativity, Fashion, JANOME CONSUMER PROJECTS, Janome Fun, Sewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to JUST LOOK AT THE LATEST ISSUE OF A NEEDLE PULLING THREAD MAGAZINE……..

  1. cherylsewing says:

    Liz the brochure is on the website but you need to look for it. However, ther is a Facebook page: Saskatchewan Stitches Conference that had lots of information. I learne Bout this from Wndynwhen I went to help her sew some clothes for the Monks. Oh, I got a surprise to see my sewing in the Needle Pulling Thread Magazine. I really didn’t expect that, but was thrilled. My little ones look even better in the dresses than on the maniquins, but I’m just a proud Grandma.

    Like

    • Liz, thank you very much for you great comment. It’s a privilege to showcase talented designers like Beverly Johnson, she’s an inspiration to all of us. I thought your quilt was super rendition of the challenge! My only regret is that it was impossible to fit ALL the exciting projects submitted by the attendees of the Saskatchewan Stitches Conference, such creativity! I look forward to see what this year’s attendees will submit! Thank you Wendy Toye for working very hard to put on a successful and fun SSC every year.
      Cheerfully,
      Carla, Editor-in-Chief, ANPTmag

      Like

      • lizafrica says:

        Hi Carla,
        It was a lot of fun. I was actually one of the judges for this Saskatchewan Stitches Conference 10th Anniversary Challenge. It which was a great experience for me too.
        Thoroughly enjoyed this issue of your magazine.
        Liz Thompson
        Janome Canada.

        Like

Share your comments

