MORE EMBROIDERY FUN ON THE NEW JANOME MC9900

I made this project on the NEW JANOME MC 9900 sewing & embroidery machine:

Fresh, contemporary & a practical table runner for the summer - embroideries are all built-in designs on the JANOME MC 9900

Fresh, contemporary & a practical table runner for the summer – embroideries are all built-in designs on the JANOME MC 9900

Here are the steps I used to create this runner:

  1. I first cut out the white tone on tone print 100% cotton fabric for the runner top. At the same time I also cut a piece for the backing as well as the batting (I like Hobbs Heirloom 80/20 fusible batting as it is on the thinner side + the double sided fusible makes it SO easy to sandwich my project: NO safety pins; NO spray glue).  The finished size of my runner is 40.5 x 16 inches.  I cut the fabric across the WOF a little larger than finished size & then trimmed it before adding the binding.
  2. Sandwich the runner top with batting. I found the embroidery was stabilized well when I used the batting instead of tear away stabilizer.  The backing is added later after the embroidery is complete.

    3 designs were used; 2 were repeated each side of the center to complete the 5 embroideries.

    3 designs were used; 2 were repeated each side of the center to complete the 5 embroideries.

  3. I used 3 of the built in designs: The circular one in the middle is RE 20a hoop design #6.  I embroidered RE20a hoop design # 4 either side of this & on the 2 ends of the runner I used RE 20a hoop design # 5. I am pretty sure these were pretty much in a “set” as the digitizing & colours used are very similar so they work very well together on one project. I used the colours almost exactly as indicated on the JANOME MC9900:  I selected the JANOME polyester embroidery thread in the SET MENU of the JANOME MC 9900 & then embroidered with the Janome polyester Thread collections #1, #2 & #3 so that I was able to match up with the colours exactly.  I was happy with the results – a fresh, crisp look.
  4. Next step was to mark the fabric so that the 5 embroideries were positioned exactly where I wanted them: I printed a paper template for each of the 3 designs.
    PAPER templates printed from JANOME embroidery software

    PAPER templates printed from JANOME embroidery software

    This can be done using your JANOME embroidery software. Be sure to select the clothsetter marking and actual size for the printing. Some folk like to print their templates on vellum as it is a bit see-through but quite honestly regular printer paper works for me. Once printed I cut around each design to get rid of the excess paper. I also punch 5 holes on the clothsetter marking which is the center of each design: one hole in the middle & one on each of the 4 cross-hairs. It is also important to note the direction of the arrow which ALWAYS  points to the TOP of the hoop.  I used an eyelet punch and the reverse side of my cutting mat as the punch makes nasty little holes in my mat!

  5. Now find the center of the runner fabric by folding or measuring the vertical & horizontals; OR use a fancy ruler if you have one. I would recommend  marking the long center line down the length of the runner as you will use this for all 5 designs. Use a blue wash away marker or even better still, one of those new Frixion iron away pens  which is my new favourite!This center marking is the center of the first design # 6. Mark the design onto the fabric by positioning the paper template over the center line marking just found by measuring/folding. Mark all 5 holes & then join the dots with a ruler and MARK the arrow pointing to the top of the hoop.
  6. Next figure out how far apart you want to position design #4 from the center one. If you line up the paper templates, it is easy to see how it will look after embroidering. Use the center line already marked to line up the templates for the remaining 4 designs and mark through the punched holes. Draw the crosshairs with arrows in with a fabric marker.
  7.  Use the JANOME CLOTHSETTER  for the JANOME MC 12000 AND JANOME MC 9900  PART # 859439008.  Attach the RE20a hoop to the appropriate part of the clothsetter and hoop up the fabric & batting so that the clothsetter arm is positioned exactly on top of the fabric cross hair markings you made in steps 5 & 6 above.
RE20a hoop attached to the Clothsetter
RE20a hoop attached to the Clothsetter
showing fabric marking lining up with the clothsetter
showing fabric marking lining up with the clothsetter

8. Attach the JANOME RE 20a hoop to the MC9900 and embroider all 5 designs as marked on the runner.  9900 runner 1

9. Press to remove all Frixion pen markings.

10.Add the backing fabric and press to fuse the layers well.

11. Free Motion quilt the sandwich around all 5 of the designs. Use the Free Motion PD-H foot that comes standard with the JANOME MC9900 as well as the blue dot bobbin case for free motion quilting. This is an optional accessory part # 200445007 – HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. I  would simply NOT do free motion quilting without this bobbin case.

12. Trim the outside edges of the runner ensuring edges are straight and even.

13. Add binding in the same fabric as the runner using the JANOME QUILT BINDER SET. PART # 846421007 for 7mm or PART # 20210-1004 for 9mm machines.  Please note that I did not do this step #13 on the JANOME MC9900. I used the JANOME MC8900 stitching down the binding with stitch # 112 in the Quilt menu.  (On the MC9900 it is stitch # 18 in the Quilt menu). If you would like to know more about the Quilt Binder set, please type Quilt Binder set into the search box on the home page of this blog. We have numerous posts with step-by-step pics as wells as video’s for your enjoyment and education. Please use these resources – they will help a great deal.

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Janome Embroidery, JANOME EMBROIDERY SOFTWARE, Janome Fun, JANOME MC 9900, Janome Quilt, MC8900, Quilt Binder and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to MORE EMBROIDERY FUN ON THE NEW JANOME MC9900

  1. Nancy says:

    I just got my machine and they gave me a beautiful box of embroidery thread to start me off. I don’t know how to keep the spools on the machine though – I guess it’s a stupid question but I’ve tried everything – do I need a special attachment?

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Nancy,
      I do not know what thread you refer to so I cannot comment fully. We always, however, recommend that all our sewing & embroidery machine owners purchase a spool stand which attaches to the back of the sewing machine. It has a long antenna which feeds the threads optimally into the machine. Please ask your local Janome dealer about this. Regular size spools can lie horizontally on the machine and are held in place with the spool caps that come with the machine so I can only assume you are referring to large cones of thread.
      I would approach the dealer who gave you the thread and ask him to sell you the spool stand I refer to.

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

  2. Lorrie says:

    love the idea of a pen that removes with heat. Where can I get these?

    Like

Share your comments

