QUILT BC 2013 THIS WEEK IN PENTICTON, BC……..see you there!!!!!!

YES, it is time for Quilt Canada’s QUILT BC show in Penticton this year. It opens THIS THURSDAY 16th May at the Penticton Trade & Convention Center and runs through to Saturday 18th May.  Check out the website – there is lots of information there about the show & Merchant Mall hours, address, classes etc.

PINATA QUILT BY LIBBY LEHMAN -photographed at this class that I did with Libby a year or 2 back.

One of the PINATA QUILTS MADE BY LIBBY LEHMAN – photographed at Libby’s Pinata class  that I took about a year ago.

We are sponsoring 2 classrooms of machines: Libby Lehman and Elizabeth Spannring’s classes will be able to use our wonderful JANOME MC 8900 . These machines will be BRAND NEW –  we will crack them open when we set up the classrooms the day before classes start so do ask if you think you might be interested in purchasing one of these lightly used classroom machines. The show pricing will be good and so buying AT the show may be just the best deal for you!! The dealer who will be working with us at the show is LINDA’S QUILT SHOPPE  in Kelowna. You are welcome to call the store for further details about these and other JANOME machines or you may also visit us in the JANOME booth in the Merchant Mall at the show. We are right inside the entrance doors to the Mall – you cannot miss us!

The blocks I made at Libby’s Pinata class have been glaring accusingly at me as a UFO for at least a year. Knowing we would be sponsoring machines in Libby’s classroom at Quilt BC gave me that little “push” and I have now completed the blocks and made them up into a long skinny wall quilt which I will hang in the JANOME booth for you to see.

The circles are applique & machine decorative stitching all done using the JANOME CIRCULAR ATTACHMENT. I sewed most of this on the JANOME HORIZON MC8900. I even used the circular attachment to do the quilting within each block: circles of straight stitching between the dec. stitching circles – infinitely easier to do that trying to sew a perfect circle freehand!!  I also used the new serpentine quilting stitch (MC8900 Quilt menu stitch # 99) in the black border – come and take  a look. I like the results a lot. I used the JANOME QUILT BINDER SET  to apply the black binding. Here it is:

My version of Libby Lehman's Pinata's - it is I am happy to say a UFO no more!!!

My version of Libby Lehman’s Pinata’s – I am happy to say that it is a UFO no more!!!

Our sincere thoughts & prayers go out to Libby Lehman for a full & speedy recovery. We will miss you at Quilt BC but we do hope & look forward to seeing you at a future Quilt Canada event.

Do come and see the other quilts displayed in our booth as well – I will have the skinny wall quilt above plus I will display my quilt which won a ribbon at Quilt Canada in Halifax last year. Some of you may have been in Halifax? But I’m guessing quite a few of you were not, so here is another opportunity to see it.  Plus ?? Not sure yet but there will be other quilts to see ON THE JANOME BOOTH …………..Be sure to drop by and take a look.

Mc8900 summer

About lizafrica

I work in the Education Dept at Janome & Elna, Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Canadian Quilter's Association CQA, Creativity, Decorative stitches, Janome Fun, Janome Quilt, Janome Sponsored event, MC8900, Quilt Binder, Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to QUILT BC 2013 THIS WEEK IN PENTICTON, BC……..see you there!!!!!!

  1. Linda Seemann-Korte says:

    HILiz,
    Love the wall hanging – great use of the circular attachment we all have and seldom use.

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Linda,
      Glad you like it. I had great fun making it and yes, whenever I do circles I use that Circular attachment as it makes everything SO perfect & easy.
      Liz

      Like

  2. JUDY BRAYER says:

    Hi Liz

    now is there a pattern for this project from janome free to do

    I love it

    looking forward to your visit to Camrose and learn so much more that we can do with or new janome 12000

    thanks for all your work on this site ,its great

    judy brayer

    Sent from Windows Mail

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Judy,
      I assume you are referring to the wall hanging with circles. No, sorry, I cannot give you a pattern for that as that would be breaking copyright. This was from a class I did with Libby Lehman in 2011 where she taught her Pinata’s. It is her idea and her class so I am not at liberty to do more than show you my completed project. Libby was going to teach this same class at Quilt BC in Penticton this week and we are all so very sorry that Libby suddenly fell seriously ill and will not be coming. We are wishing her a speedy and full recovery so this skinny wall hanging will hang in our booth at Quilt BC as a tribute to Libby and her recovery.
      And yes, I will see you in Camrose next month. Do be sure to contact the store to secure a seat for the event.
      Thank you for the kind words. I do love working on this blog.
      Liz
      Janome Canada.

      Like

  3. trinagallop says:

    Sounds like so much fun! I wish it was closer!

    Like

Share your comments

