TREASURE BAGS AT QUILT BC 2013 + UPDATE ABOUT OUR BLOG BAG CHALLENGE CHARITY SEWING PROJECT

The Local Organizing Committee for QUILT BC 2013 decided to put out the request to make TREASURE BAGS  to give out as gifts  and as a Quilt Canada Fund raising effort. Many of these bags were “sold” in a silent auction during the show. I was given one as a gift for being a merchant in the Merchant’s Mall + we all received one at our place setting at the Closing ceremony.

Isn't this just lovely? This particular bag was made by Helen Gourlay of Barrie, Ontario. Thank you, Helen, I am the lucky recipient!

Isn’t this just lovely? This particular bag was made by Helen Gourlay of Barrie, Ontario. Thank you, Helen, I am the lucky recipient!

Close up showing how Helen used decorative stitching in the stripes of the fabric.

Close up showing how Helen used decorative stitching in the stripes of the fabric.

This was the bag I received at the Closing Ceremony which was quite different from the one that was at my place when I arrived at the table. This was because we played a really fun game which involved passing the bags to the left & right so many times our heads were spinning! I ended up with this bag which was made by Darlene Chapman. Thank you, Darlene!

This was the bag I received at the Closing Ceremony which was quite different from the one that was at my place when I arrived at the table. This was because we played a really fun game which involved passing the bags to the left & right so many times our heads were spinning! I ended up with this bag which was made by Darlene Chapman of Oliver,BC. Thank you, Darlene for this treasure bag as well as your efforts and hard work on the Local Organizing Committee for Quilt BC 2013!

It was made from denim – possibly recycled jeans? –  recycling is always a good thing! – and Darlene had embellished both sides of the bag with yarn couching, buttons & appliqued leaves. The flap was secured with a button and a matching hair elastic loop. Very clever and much appreciated, Darlene. I carry SO many different feet & accessories around on my travels as Educator for JANOME & ELNA sewing machines so this bag will be most useful. I like to pack an accessory with cloth & thread etc for demo’s so that everything is ready & easy to find when I need it. Here is a pic of the other side of this bag:

DSCF4592Now I had not been paying attention by reading all of the QUILT BC  website prior to the show so I was quite unaware that Treasure bags were planned. So imagine my surprize and interest when I saw them and thought about our  janomelife  Blog Bag Challenge (please refer to the many posts about this in recent months). I am going to refer you to this Quilt BC website link as there are patterns & instructions for making both the zipper bags and the bags with flap as above.

Perhaps you might like to use this information for making bags for our blog challenge???   Do please remember that Quilt BC is now over & that if you decide to make bags for the Blog Challenge, that these bags need to be large enough to accommodate a toothbrush, soap, shampoos, etc and should be handed in to your local JANOME  dealer by the end of September 2013 LATEST. Please refer to the other blog posts on this subject FOR FURTHER DETAILS. 

BLOG CHALLENGE UPDATE:

I have approached a couple of hotel chains about the possibility of getting donations of soaps; shampoos, etc.  GREAT NEWS is that the company that manufactures & packs the shampoos & soaps etc for DAYS INN  (where I stayed in Penticton while I was at QUILT BC) called to tell me that they had been contacted by DAYS INN in CANADA and would be happy to ship an entire skid of boxes of these amenities to use for this charity sewing project this !!!!!! A HUGE AND HEARTFELT THANK YOU TO DAY’S INN and their supplier of these amenities for this wonderful and generous response to my appeal for our blog challenge/bags for charity. We  will now most certainly be able to fill as many of these toiletry bags as you JANOME & ELNA sewers our there in “blogland” have time to make by Sept 30th!!!! There are going to be a lot of women in crisis & need who will be receiving these little bags of toiletries this Christmas. THIS IS SO GREAT!

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Canadian Quilter's Association CQA, Creativity, Decorative stitches, JANOME CONSUMER PROJECTS, Janome Fun, Sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your comments

