THE JANOME CIRCULAR ATTACHMENT…..JUST LOOK WHAT YOU CAN DO!

My version of Libby's Pinata circles

One of  Libby’s Pinata circles

All of the applique, decorative stitching AND quilting in the above wall hanging was done using the JANOME CIRCULAR ATTACHMENT. 

JANOME HAS 3 CIRCULAR ATTACHMENTS…….. WHICH ONE IS COMPATIBLE WITH YOUR JANOME SEWING MACHINE???

A few weeks ago I featured some of the NEW JANOME products that are now available for purchase at your local JANOME DEALER (on 24th April to be exact – look for the post entitled NEW FEET & ACCESSORIES). Amongst that batch of wonderful new goodies available for you to use with your JANOME sewing machines was the CIRCULAR ATTACHMENT FOR EASY SET BOBBIN MACHINE MODELS.  I thought I would list all the Circular attachments that are available for our various JANOME MACHINES  so that you may ask your local JANOME DEALER  for the one compatible with your JANOME machine.

The centers of the 4 hourglasses were digitized in JANOME DIGITIZER MBX & then were embroidered in the hoop. You will notice the applique which was done IN THE HOOP of the JANOME EMBROIDERY MACHINE (small enough to be done in the smaller hoop on most of our Janome Embroidery machines.) The CIRCULAR ATTACHMENT WAS USED FOR THE QUILTING around the embroidery on each block. I don't know about you but I sure do not trust myself to sew perfect circles free-hand! But I DO trust the JANOME CIRCULAR ATTACHMENT  to sew a perfect circle for me!

I digitized the centers of the 4 hourglasses in JANOME DIGITIZER MBX & then embroidered my designs in the hoop on the blocks that I had previously pieced with an hour glass pattern. You will notice there is applique as part of the embroidery design. This was done IN THE HOOP of the JANOME EMBROIDERY MACHINE (small enough to be done in the smaller hoop on most of our Janome Embroidery machines.) The CIRCULAR ATTACHMENT WAS USED FOR THE QUILTING around the embroidery on each block. I don’t know about you but I sure do not trust myself to sew perfect circles free-hand! But I DO trust the JANOME CIRCULAR ATTACHMENT to sew a perfect circle for me!

This is a close-up showing the circles of quilting done with the JANOME CIRCULAR ATTACHMENT

This is a close-up showing the circles of quilting done with the JANOME CIRCULAR ATTACHMENT. This was done AFTER the embroidery, after I had sewn all the blocks together & sandwiched my quilt layers. I slipped the quilt onto the pin of the JANOME CIRCULAR ATTACHMENT making sure the pin went through the exact center of each appliqued circle/hourglass block. Then a simply used straight stitching and let the CIRCULAR ATTACHMENT do the work for me: it feeds my quilt in a circle. NO marking needed, NO need to hold my breath and hope for the best………… just the JANOME tool working for me. WHEW – this is the way I like it!

I need to tell you up front that these CIRCULAR ATTACHMENTS are for JANOME TOP LOADING BOBBIN machines only. If your JANOME sewing machine is a front loading bobbin machine, then you would need to ask your local JANOME DEALER  to show you the FLOWER STITCHER  as that is the closest sort of attachment that we can offer for these models.  Alternatively, you may like to ask your local JANOME DEALER  to show you any of our top loading bobbin machines as all of these will accommodate the optional accessory: the CIRCULAR ATTACHMENT. You may then consider buying one of our JANOME machines which has a top loading bobbin.

THE NEW CIRCULAR ATTACHMENT  FOR EASY SET BOBBIN MACHINES -  currently that would be the JANOME MC9900. NOTE THE SCREW TO THE RIGHT WHICH SECURELY FASTENS THE CIRCULAR ATTACHMENT TO THE NEEDLE PLATE - woohoo!!!!

THE NEW CIRCULAR ATTACHMENT FOR EASY SET BOBBIN MACHINES – currently that would be the JANOME MC9900. NOTE THE SCREW TO THE RIGHT WHICH SECURELY FASTENS THE CIRCULAR ATTACHMENT TO THE NEEDLE PLATE

  • The Circular attachment fits onto the machine by removing the bobbin cover and inserting part of the circular attachment into this same spot over the bobbin. So it would be logical that you need to have a Circular attachment that fits YOUR specific type of bobbin cover/machine model. To make it simple there are 3 different types of top loading bobbin covers:
  • Does your bobbin cover have a square or rectangular shape? Do you have a machine with the NEW Easy set bobbin system (this is currently the JANOME MC 9900)?
  • If your bobbin cover is a square shape, then you need the following part # Circular attachment: #202107000. This is the new red JANOME blister pack. The older white box with part # 200024109 is exactly the same attachment and will work just fine as well. All that has happened is that Janome has repackaged the circular attachments in our red blister packs. BOTH of these part #’s are compatible with the following machine models: MC 10000/10001; MC 4800 & MC4900; 5018; JEM GOLD, JEM PLATINUM; DC3050; MC9500; MC9700; AND any other JANOME machine models which have that clear bobbin cover with a square shape.
  • If your clear bobbin cover has a more rectangular shape, then you need to look for part# 202106009 in the red JANOME blister pack or part# 200304003 in the older white box. As above, both these part numbers are for exactly the same attachment and are compatible with these JANOME machine models: QDC 3160; QDC4120; 6500P; 6600P, HORIZON series (all models so 7700, 12000, 8900, 8200); MC 11000 /11000SE;etc.
  • There is one more circular attachment: this if only for the NEW Easy Set bobbin systems – currently that would be the NEW JANOME MC 9900 only but I expect there will be other Easy set bobbin models added in the future.  The part # for this is # 202135007. I really like this circular attachment as it comes with a screw to screw the attachment into the needle plate which makes it very secure for sewing even more perfect circles!!
More of Libby's Pinata's

More of Libby’s Pinata’s

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in 4120QDC, Creativity, Decorative stitches, Horizon MC 12000, Horizon MC7700QCP, Janome Accessories, Janome Fun, JANOME MC 8200, JANOME MC 9900, Janome Sewing Machine, MC 11000, MC 6600P, MC8900 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to THE JANOME CIRCULAR ATTACHMENT…..JUST LOOK WHAT YOU CAN DO!

  1. Ray Denton says:

    Will the circle attachment fit a New Home Memory Craft 6000 circa 1985?

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Ray,

      Yes, it is a top load bobbin sewing machine. Please ask your local Janome dealer to assist you with the correct circular attachment for this machine. It attaches in the space above the bobbin cover when you take off the bobbin cover.

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

  2. Marina.cordoba says:

    Hola buenas tardes: vivo en bogotå colombia y estoy interesada en obtener el pie para mi maquina s5 que se llama Circular attachament sewing de referencia 202135007 que no consigo en ninguna parte aca en mi país.
    Quisiera saber si ustedes me lo pueden hacer llegar y cömo sería el proceso a seguir para el pago.
    Mil y mil gracias

    Like

  3. Sally Johnson says:

    Hi Liz
    I have an Elna 7200 can I use the circular janome foot and which one
    Sally

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Sally,

      I have lifted the applicable part of this post:
      ◾If your clear bobbin cover has a more rectangular shape, then you need to look for part# 202106009 in the red JANOME blister pack or part# 200304003 in the older white box. As above, both these part numbers are for exactly the same attachment and are compatible with these JANOME machine models: QDC 3160; QDC4120; 6500P; 6600P, HORIZON series (all models so 7700, 12000, 8900, 8200); MC 11000 /11000SE;etc.
      Your EL7200 is the equivalent of the Janome 6500P.
      Your local Elna dealer should also be able to advise you which circular attachment you need. part# 202106009. Older white box is probably long gone hence me putting this # in bold type.

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

  4. Marleigh says:

    Hi Liz
    I have an Elna 7200 can I use the circular janome foot and which one
    Marleigh

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Marleigh,

      I have lifted the applicable part of this post:
      ◾If your clear bobbin cover has a more rectangular shape, then you need to look for part# 202106009 in the red JANOME blister pack or part# 200304003 in the older white box. As above, both these part numbers are for exactly the same attachment and are compatible with these JANOME machine models: QDC 3160; QDC4120; 6500P; 6600P, HORIZON series (all models so 7700, 12000, 8900, 8200); MC 11000 /11000SE;etc.
      Your EL7200 is the equivalent of the Janome 6500P.
      Your local Elna dealer should also be able to advise you which circular attachment you need. part# 202106009. Older white box is probably long gone hence me putting this # in bold type.

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

  5. Donna Jupp says:

    Liz,I purchased the new easy set bobbin for my 12000 from the Quilt Shop. I also have the circular attachment in red pkg. If I want to use the new easy set would I also have to purchase a diff. circular attachment ? Thanks.

    Like

  6. Jennifer says:

    Hi, I have a Janome 8900 and would love to get the circular foot for Quilting, please tell me what Number I have to order
    Thanks

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi jennifer,
      I gave the part # required in THIS blog post you have commented on. Just carry on down reading all the information I gave.
      I cut & copied part of it here for you and bolded the applicable part I think you missed when you saw this post:
      If your clear bobbin cover has a more rectangular shape, then you need to look for part# 202106009 in the red JANOME blister pack or part# 200304003 in the older white box. As above, both these part numbers are for exactly the same attachment and are compatible with these JANOME machine models: QDC 3160; QDC4120; 6500P; 6600P, HORIZON series (all models so 7700, 12000, 8900, 8200); MC 11000 /11000SE;etc.

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

  7. Kay says:

    Hi. I have a Janome Horizon MC7700. There are circular attachments on ebay and amazon which apparently (so they say) fit my machine. But I’m really unsure. Do you know ? I’m in Cornwall, UK.

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Kay,
      We are unable to comment on circular attachments which are not our brand. Sorry. We suggest you contact your local Janome dealer in Cornwall for assistance. Alternatively you could contact your Customer Service Dept in the UK at Unit A. Janome Centre, Southside, Bredbury, Stockport, Cheshire SK6 2SP
      Phone: +44-161-666-6011 Fax (Sales): +44-161-406-6401 Fax (General): +44-161-494-0179

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

  8. Linda Falls says:

    Hello Jan
    I have a Janome SUV 1122. Is there an attachment I can buy that allows me to do circular sewing with this sewing machine? Any and all assistance with this matter is greatly appreciated.
    Sincerely
    Linda

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Linda,
      Sorry, no there is not a Circular attachment for your model. Your machine is a front loading bobbin model whereas the circular attachments work with top loading bobbin machines.

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

  9. valerie says:

    i have a 3160 qdc and i had heard this was not a very good attachment? i thought it looked so kewl and was going to order it – is it just my machine that it would not be the greatest with?
    thanx for you help
    blessings

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Valerie,
      Oh my goodness, I LOVE the circular attachments and YES, there is one for your 3160QDC. Please ask your dealer to order you Part #202106009. THAT is the one for your machine. Actually I did an entire quilt ON the 3160QDC with applique circles, circles of dec. stitching AND quilting in circles around these through all the layers of my quilt using the circular attachment. Entirely possible – I am sitting looking at that quilt hanging on the wall of the classroom as I write! I simply could NOT manage without my circular attachment for stitching in circles: decorative embellishment; applique, quilting ……you name it. There are not going to be enough years in my life to practice sewing in a PERFECT circle without a tool. Why would I waste my time trying to do that when I have the Circular attachment? Perhaps whoever said they don’t work well does not really know how to use it properly? As with everything, you need to practice to perfect the technique. I did and found that taping it down with painter’s tape on the bed of the machine worked wonderfully to hold it firmly in place. (Even Bernina suggested this for a Libby Lehman Piñata class I attended some years ago)
      Do a search on this blog as there are posts showing this wall hanging and more on this handy dandy circle tool.

      Go buy one & practice the technique for using it successfully!
      Liz
      Janome Canada.

      Like

      • valerie says:

        thank you liz! i hopefully will be at a dealership on saturday and i will ask, maybe they will even have one :O)
        blessings
        valerie

        Like

      • lizafrica says:

        Good plan, Valerie. They can no doubt order one for you if they do not currently have in stock. Just be sure you get the correct one for your machine: there are 3 different ones. And then the fun starts!!! Me? I’m into circles & spirals and whatever tool makes those easier & more fun.
        Enjoy.
        Liz
        Janome Canada.

        Like

Share your comments

