LETHBRIDGE FESTIVAL OF QUILTS 2013

I have recently returned from a long road trip around Alberta starting in Edmonton & ending up in Lethbridge 6 days later! Thank you kindly to Alamo Car rentals who upgraded my rental vehicle to an SUV.  I didn’t ask for this upgrade …… it just came my way. Wouldn’t it be SO nice if Air Canada would upgrade me just once to business class???? It has NEVER happened to me despite all the flying I do with Air Canada year in & year out! Oh well. Anyway the SUV was very wonderful seeing as I had long distances to drive every day and was able to do this in style & comfort and arrive at my destinations not too tired out.

It was lovely to meet with many loyal JANOME customers and we sure had fun making those Purse Organizers as you got to try out one of our new JANOME machines: the JANOME MC 8900; MC8200 OR MC9900.

PURSE ORGANIZER  sor all those bits 7 bobs we ladies leep in our purses..........hunt for them in the bottom of your bag no more! Well those who attended the testr drives don't need to hunt anymore - they got to make one while they also learned about the features on the JANOME MC8900; MC8200 and/or MC9900.

PURSE ORGANIZER for all those bits & bobs we ladies keep in our purses……….hunt for them in the bottom of your bag no more! Well those who attended the test drives don’t need to hunt anymore – they got to make a purse organizer while they also learned about the features on the JANOME MC8900; MC8200 and/or MC9900.

I was quite pleased that I had included a buttonhole & button sewing by machine in the project as it seems that many of you out there have not ever used these features before or are scared stiff to try it on your own.  We sure got those button holes & buttons sewn real quick & easily with the deluxe button hole foot & stabilizer plates which come standard with all 3 of the machines mentioned above that we were using for our Test Drives.

See upcoming blog post on making button holes & using our button hole stabilizer plate (August 2nd).  Don’t forget that you can sign up for email alerts to new blog postings so you won’t need to remember to check in often at this blog – an email will pop into your box each time a new post is published. Just fill in your email address in the + FOLLOW  box.

Deluxe button hole foot showing button inserted for perfect button hole sizing. I have shown the 2 parts side by side here: the stabilizer plate is on the right. Find out more about this on 2nd August.

Deluxe button hole foot showing button inserted for perfect button hole sizing. I have shown the 2 parts side by side here: the stabilizer plate is on the right. Find out more about this on 2nd August.

When I got to my last “stop” on the road trip: Lethbridge, Alberta, we conducted the Test Drives in a little “classroom” area on the Lethbridge Sewing Center booth at the Lethbridge Festival of Quilts show. This show is held every 2 years at the Lethbridge College campus and is hosted by the Lethbridge Centennial Quilters Guild. I  must say, I do enjoy attending this show. The quilts are generally of a pretty high standard and the Quilt guild which hosts the show sure has a friendly and accommodating bunch of volunteers. Thank you to all you folk: you did an excellent job!  Must say I did wonder if you will still have your quilt show in 2 years time what with QUILT CANADA  being hosted in your city (at Lethbridge University campus) in June 2015??? I guess I will hear the answer to this in due course.

So here are some pics of the fun in Lethbridge:

 I really liked this quilt: "Wind in the Lilies" by Linda Cavanaugh

I really liked this quilt: “Wind in the Lilies” by Linda Cavanaugh

Remember the fun I had with carol Ann Waugh's Stupendous Stitching (search earlier blog posts for pics etc). This was also inspired by the same : Rose-Marie Christie called this The Bordello Project as her hubby asked her "And which bordello do you plan to hang this in?"

Remember the fun I had with Carol Ann Waugh’s Stupendous Stitching (search earlier blog posts for pics etc). This was also inspired by the same technique class : Rose-Marie Christie called this “The Bordello Project “as her hubby asked her “And which bordello do you plan to hang this in?” Now if my hubby had said that…….well, let’s just say he knows better than to say that!

This was one of the ribbon winning quilts at Quilt BC in May 2013. Judy Barnett called her wall quilt "Sunflower with Attitude" This award was in the Excellence in Threadwork category sponsored by Wonderfil Threads of Calgary.

This was one of the ribbon winning quilts at Quilt BC in May 2013. Judy Barnett called her wall quilt “Sunflower with Attitude” This award was in the Excellence in Threadwork category sponsored by Wonderfil Threads of Calgary.

Just take a look at a close up of the threadwork on Judy''s quitl above and you will see why she won not just one but TWO awards in this category at Quilt BC 2013.

Just take a look at a close up of the threadwork on Judy”s quilt above and you will see why she won not just one but TWO awards in this category at Quilt BC 2013.

This quilt was also pretty spectacular: Asian Glacier Star by Barbara Sheen was the final result of using the Judy Niemeyer pattern Glacier Star. I really like & admire these quilts but as I have an allergy to paper foundation piecing, it is highly unlikely that I am going to produce one of these masterpieces!

This quilt was also pretty spectacular: Asian Glacier Star by Barbara Sheen was the final result of using the Judy Niemeyer pattern Glacier Star. I really like & admire these quilts but as I have an “allergy” to paper foundation piecing, it is highly unlikely that I am going to produce one of these masterpieces!

This is another of those simply stunning paper foundation masterpeices: this one was done by Bev MacTavish and is called "Milky Way". Sorry about the pic quality. I tired but there was a light directly above which somewhat defeated my efforts. The colours were incredible and the workmanship was very good.

This is another of those simply stunning paper foundation masterpieces: this one was done by Bev MacTavish and is called “Milky Way”. Sorry about the pic quality. I tired but there was a light directly above which somewhat defeated my efforts. The colours were incredible and the workmanship was very good.

last but not least is a simply HUGE bed quilt by Elinor Carpenter called "Persian Mosaic". It was just lovely.  She started the center piece using Stonehenge fabrics and then added several borders. No kidding when she says she does not need a bed skirt anymore with this bed quilt!

last but not least is a simply HUGE bed quilt by Elinor Carpenter called “Persian Mosaic”. It was just lovely. She started the center piece using Stonehenge fabrics and then added several borders. No kidding when she says she does not need a bed skirt anymore with this bed quilt!

Trust me….there were many other very worthy quilts of quality but I only had a limited time to wander & look + take pics so these are but a few that stood out for me. I do not know who won ribbons for the Viewers choice in each category as that was announced after I left to travel home. However, if I hear, I will let you know.

JANOME TEST DRIVE activity in the classroom section of the booth at this Quilt show.

JANOME TEST DRIVE activity in the classroom section of the booth at this Quilt show.

Test drivers comparing their projects? They each made a little purse organizer while they tried out a bunch of features on one of the 4 machines we had set up for them in our "makeshift" classroom.

Test drivers comparing their projects? They each made a little purse organizer while they tried out a bunch of features on one of the 4 machines we had set up for them in our “makeshift” classroom.

About lizafrica

I work in the Education Dept at Janome & Elna, Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Decorative stitches, Janome Canada Sponsored, Janome Fun, JANOME MC 8200, JANOME MC 9900, Janome Sewing Machine, MC8900, Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to LETHBRIDGE FESTIVAL OF QUILTS 2013

  1. shirley says:

    love the purse organizer is there any way those us who didn,t attend due to distance and we have already purchased a Janome emb machine get the pattern?
    Shirley in Chilliwack BC

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Shirley,
      I have offered this Test Drive project at many of my Janome dealers across Western Canada since early Spring. In fact, I offered it at Toews Sewing in Abbottsford back in April – which is close to you! As it is still a current Test Drive project available at my dealer’s stores, I am not able to publish the project yet. But keep watching, when we are done with this current campaign, I will be happy to share the project. Keep watching!
      Liz
      Janome Canada.

      Like

  2. Eyvonne says:

    SURE WOULD LIKE TO HAVE THE PATTERN !! think it could be offered to us who didn’t get to the festival. ?? Thanking you in advance. !! Eyvonne

    Sent from Eyvonne’s iPad

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Eyvonne,
      Do you mean the pattern for the Purse Organizer? If so, that is an ongoing/current Test Drive project offered to our Canadian dealers and as such I am not able to share it at this stage on the janomelife blog. However, when we have stopped offering this Test Drive campaign, I will be happy to feature the project on the blog. Keep watching!
      Liz
      Janome Canada.

      Like

Share your comments

