USEFUL SEWING & EMBROIDERY WEBSITES……surfing for sewing ideas

I don’t know about you but I love to look for new sewing ideas and have found that one source of good information is to surf the web for a wide range of sewing related topics I might be looking for.  I thought I would share some of the ones I have found useful from time to time.

Please be aware that we do not necessarily support or promote products or techniques found in all of these websites.  Quite a bit you may “stumble” upon, may not even be Janome branded, so some of what I am pointing you towards may be “generic” information.

Mc8900 summer

  1. First & foremost we refer you to our website: www.janome.ca. The information & products on this website is specific to our Canadian dealers & customers but most of it is also of use to Janome customers in other countries. Our janomelife blog is part of this website. 9900 banner
  2. Secondly, I like to refer our Janome customers to the Janome America website www.janome.com. There is a LOT of really good information with links to video’s and more. Do realize that if you are a Canadian customer, not everything on this website is applicable to you. For example, we do not always have the same machine models; promotions & special offers that Janome America advertises on their website. We have our own Canadian promotions which you will be able to find out about on our website, blog and at your local Janome dealer.
  3. This is a very nice sewing website: www.sew4home.com.  This often has Janome related subject matter as Janome America is a sponsor of this website. You will find project ideas & full instructions, hints, tips & techniques. Do be sure to visit www.sew4home.com. sew4home-head
  4. If you like to learn in your PJ’s or on your own time at home, you might like to consider www.craftsy.com.  This website offers a wide variety of online workshops on sewing & quilting as well as many other crafts such as cake decorating & knitting etc.
  5. Leah Day is a refreshing young quilter who also happens to own a Janome Horizon 7700. She has a very candid blog & website where she leads you through her quilting journey. Her special interest is Free motion quilting.   daystyledesignsbannersm             Catch her at http://daystyledesigns.com/. I do believe you will also find video’s on You Tube where you will be able to see Leah in action.  I love the fact that she is a much younger quilter – I always get encouraged when I see this as I like to see the next generation getting involved in quilting…..they bring an enthusiasm & passion as well as a fresh perspective.
  6. Another young person who is also very involved in Free Motion quilting is Angela Walters. She would also describe herself as a Modern Quilter and a Long Arm quilter. I do believe she quilts for other people and has published at least 2 books that I know of. I have heard her speak in person at Quilt market and I was very impressed – she is enthusiastic, funny and very good at what she does. Catch her blog or website:  www.quiltingismytherapy.com  angela walters
  7. I have often gone to You Tube to look for ideas & see a specific technique. Sometimes I need to brush up on a topic before I teach it myself – you see, I forget some things if I have not used that technique for a long time. You Tube is a great place to find stuff. One that I particularly enjoy is Jenny from The Missouri Star Quilt Company. She has had some pretty neat projects & ideas to share. jenny msqc
  8. www.patternreview.com is another source of information. Do not be mislead by the title: it is not just about patterns. There is information about sewing, machines & much more. This website does have the feel & form of a Forum and I will be honest in saying that forums are not my favourite. But I do know that many people frequent chat rooms & forums on a regular basis. Go have a look  – you might find Pattern Review useful.
  9. If you are specifically looking for embroidery software information: try Trevor Conquergood’s website: www.sunsetstitches.com   trevorTrevor offers regular webinars & is an expert on our Janome embroidery software as well as Artistic Sewing Suite software.
  10. www.artisticsewingsuite.com is where to go for information, exercises, video’s & more about our software with the cutting needles (think applique, scrapbooking; NO need for Acuquilt cutters anymore! etc) and the crystals & rhinestones (think crystal parties & bling ) combined with your software or on their own. NO need to spend hours applying crystals one by one with a hot applicator. kingofdiamonds
  11. Most magazines have their own websites where they offer information about projects found in their magazines and or patterns, designs to download etc. Check out the following:  Threads magazine; Sew News magazine; Creative machine Embroidery magazine; Quilter’s Connection magazine; A Needle Pulling Thread magazine. I am quite sure there are many others I could have listed but you get the idea – look up your favourite magazine’s website and/or blog to get even more than what’s on your magazine pages.
  12. Here in Canada we have a national Quilting organization called Quilt Canada. Check out their website as well as the link to their blog for news about quilters & quilt events in Canada as well as their annual quilt shows which move around our beautiful country each year – next year it will be in St Catherine’s/Niagara in Ontario. Will I see you there? QuiltCanada2014-logo

Would you like to share your favourite sewing & embroidery websites with us? Send a comment & I will add your suggestions to this post.

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Janome Sewing Machine, Sewing, Sewing News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your comments

