LOOK WHAT I FOUND ON MY VACATION ROAD TRIP!

Vacation road trips can be a lot of fun. I have wanted to explore the Olympic Peninsula for a long time. We tend to just drive up & down the I5 from Vancouver to Seattle but I knew there had to be something out there west of the I5 as I could see the mountains. I’m talking about Washington State close to Seattle and just south of where I live in Vancouver, British Columbia. Well, I am pleased to say that I now know what is there! Finally talked hubby into planning a road  trip which effectively did a full circle of the Olympic Peninsula & The Olympic National Park.

The summer flowers were just lovely and the weather was warm & sunny every day - what more could you ask for? A quilt shop or 2???

The summer flowers were just lovely and the weather was warm & sunny every day – what more could you ask for? …………………A quilt shop or 2???

We meandered for 6 days, staying at charming B&B’s and just look what I found……..but then I always look at things through the eyes of a sewer & quilter!!

You betcha.....I made him stop at THE QUILTED STRAIT in Port gamble, Washington.  OF COURSE I had to buy some fabric. Also discovered this store had been featured in The Quilt Sampler magazine (see below)

You betcha…..I made him stop at THE QUILTED STRAIT in Port Gamble, Washington. OF COURSE I had to buy some fabric. Also discovered this store had been featured in Quilt Sampler magazine (see below)

This is a back issue of Quilt Sampler (Spring/summer 2012) but conatins a whole lot more info about this delightful & charming store in the beautiful little town of Port Gamble which was a thriving port & logging hub many years ago. The streets are lined with real old buildings, hanging baskets, etc. Just lovely.

This is a back issue of Quilt Sampler (Spring/summer 2012) but contains a whole lot more info about this delightful & charming store in the beautiful little town of Port Gamble which was a thriving port & logging hub many years ago. The streets are lined with real old buildings, hanging baskets, etc. Just lovely.

One of the bed & breakfast we stayed in (in Aberdeen, Washington) was a house dating back to the 1890's. The B&B owner has beautifully decorated the rooms in the Victorian era style and this was aprt of the furnishings in our room: sewing machine!

One of the bed & breakfast we stayed in (in Aberdeen, Washington) was a house dating back to the 1890’s. The B&B owner has beautifully decorated the rooms in the Victorian era style and this was part of the decor in our room: sewing machine!

And Victorian vintage sewing basket.

And Victorian vintage sewing basket.

A charming quilt (hand quilted) was just perfect with the rest of the Victorian era furnishings

A charming quilt (hand quilted) was just perfect with the rest of the Victorian era furnishings

naturally there was rainforest scenery - this IS the pacific Northwest after all!

Naturally there was rainforest scenery – this IS the Pacific Northwest after all!

And beautiful West Coast beaches too: this is Ruby beach which is said to be one of the most beautiful beaches in the whole of the USA - I tend to agree.

And beautiful West Coast beaches too: this is Ruby Beach which is said to be one of the most beautiful beaches in the whole of the USA – I tend to agree.

No trip to the Olympic Pensinsula should go without seeing the stunning Olympic mountains - seen from viewpoint high up above Port Angeles looking south to the ranges of mountains snow capped year round.

No trip to the Olympic Pensinsula should go without seeing the stunning Olympic mountains – seen from viewpoint high up above Port Angeles looking south to the ranges of mountains snow capped year round. BTW you can see Victoria from Port Angeles when you are looking north – it is directly across the water from this part of Washington.

It is Lavender season in July & August. I don't believe I had ever seen fields of lavender in bloom like this before - so pretty. My brain was tearing along thinking of the little lavender bags I could sew to store all that fragrance!

It is Lavender season in July & August. I don’t believe I had ever seen fields of lavender in bloom like this before – so pretty. My brain was tearing along thinking of the little lavender bags I could sew to store all that fragrance!

Our B&B in Port Townsend was also a lovely old Victorian era home with furnishings. With it being so soon after 4th July, this was the current quilted table runner on the breakfast table.

Our B&B in Port Townsend was also a lovely old Victorian era home with furnishings. With it being so soon after 4th July, this was the current quilted table runner on the breakfast table.

The Blue Gull Inn in Port Townsend also had these lovely old vintage quilts on display in the dining room - I could NOT resist taking a pic to share with you.  BTW - I just LOVED Port Townsend and definitely want to go back someday. It is utterly quaint & charming & seems to the a very popular weekend retreat for the Seattle folk (and some from Canada too!)

The Blue Gull Inn in Port Townsend also had these lovely old vintage quilts on display in the dining room – I could NOT resist taking a pic to share with you.
BTW – I just LOVED Port Townsend and definitely want to go back someday. It is utterly quaint & charming & seems to be a very popular weekend retreat for the Seattle folk (and some from Canada too!) Lots of B&B’s; fabulous restaurants, waterfront, quaint stores, music…….all housed in incredible old nineteenth century buildings. (late 1800’s)

Do hope you also managed to get out & about in our wonderful summer weather ?

I also did LOTS of sewing making quite a dent in my To do list of projects   ….. by the end of August I will have completed 5 quilts, a dress; made 2 more bra’s (Oh am I enjoying making bra’s or what?! I counted them in my bra drawer recently and I think I really should stop soon or the drawer is going to overflow!!)  And I also re-organized my sewing as I got a new table & had to shuffle everything around to make space.  So I got lots done at home as well as enjoying a lovely sunny road trip.

Watch this spot in October for more on what I was busy sewing during the summer at work……….can’t wait to share this with you…..VERY exciting!

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Janome Sewing Machine and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to LOOK WHAT I FOUND ON MY VACATION ROAD TRIP!

  1. jean says:

    I adore The Quilted Strait. One of my favorite stores! I discovered it shortly after we moved here in Washington and it’s been my go-to store for fabric. They have the area’s best selection of current stuff.

    I’ll have to check those B&Bs out. They look charming. It’s beautiful country out on the Peninsula — the beaches, the mountains, and fields and meadows. I bet that lavender farm smelled heavenly!

    Like

Share your comments

