SPOTLIGHT ON JANOME CUSTOMER: Betty of Just B in Stitches

This is the tote Betty from Just B in Stitches made for me as she knows how much I carry around when I travel!!

This is the tote Betty from Just B in Stitches made for me as she knows how much I carry around when I travel!!

Now fold it up & tuck it into the flap with button & loop & you have something to toss into your car or purse for shopping!!

Now fold it up & tuck it into the flap with button & loop & you have something to toss into your car or purse for shopping!!

This month we shine the spotlight on Betty of Just B in Stitches of Vernon, BC, Canada.  Vernon is in the beautiful Okanagan area of BC (lakes & wineries and fruit trees!). Betty & I have chatted a few times at Janome events at Findlay’s Superstore in Vernon as well as at Quilt Canada in Penticton a few months back. Betty owns a Janome sewing machine, a serger and an embroidery machine. She has started a business making lovely items made on her Janome machines. I will let her tell you more below:

Some of the environmentally  friendly/re-usable items that Betty is offering- all made with her Janome sewing machines & serger.

Some of the environmentally friendly/re-usable items that Betty is offering- all made with her Janome sewing machines & serger.

“Just B in Stitches is about creating fun, inspirational and environmentally friendly products that utilize fabric to replace single or limited use items.  The three areas of concentration right now include reversible gift bags, mini-aprons and folding totes. 

I am not a quilter nor am I particularly tech-savy, so many of the newer and fancier machines out there have more bells and whistles than I need.  My current sewing machine is fine, and I have had a Janome serger for many years, so I was interested in the Janome 350E, an embroidery only machine. It has a touch screen, making it really quite simple to navigate and learn. Although it comes with 100 built-in designs, my focus is the fonts and what can created with them.  The feature that really sold me on the JANOME 350E  has to be the USB port.  There are fantastic online embroidery libraries and the only limit is your imagination.  I am looking forward to getting more font styles in order to offer several styles to my customers. 

This is a clever reversible tote bag that folds up fits inside the pocket flap: held in place by a button & loop. See pic of the one below that Betty sent to me .....I'm already using my for all the "stuff" I tote around!

This is a clever fully lined tote bag that folds up & tucks into a flap which is held in place by a button & loop. See pic of the one at the top of this post that Betty sent to me …..I’m already using mine for all the “stuff” I tote around!

My online store/website should be up and running soon, so stop by and have a look at all the possibilities when fabric and words come together to create something ‘as unique as you!’  www.justbinstitches.ca

A delightful assortment of wine bottle aprons that Just B in Stitches makes.

A delightful assortment of wine bottle aprons that Just B in Stitches makes.

Betty uses her Janome serger to neaten the edges of this pocket/name label which goes onto the wine bottle aprons. She uses a 3 thread rolled hem or neat 3 thread edge with wooly nylon/or wooly poly (floss) which gives a nice neat finish to raw edges of fabric. Quick, easy & effective when you have the right tools! ......a Janome serger is an invaluable tool for many things.

Betty embroidered a label with her JANOME 350E & then used her Janome serger to neaten the edges of this pocket/name label which goes onto the wine bottle aprons. She uses a 3 thread rolled hem or neat 3 thread edge with wooly nylon/or wooly poly (floss) which gives a nice neat finish to raw edges of fabric. Quick, easy & effective when you have the right tools! ……a Janome serger is an invaluable tool for many things.

And this REALLY impressed me: Betty is so serious about reusable items that she made a super cute shipping pouch to send the bag & wine apron to me – see pic below. She used flock backed vinyl (the kind we use for plastic table cloths); inserted a zipper on one side and then closed 3 sides with a row of decorative stitches. She pasted the shipping labels on the other side from the zipper and had a piece of ribbon looped through the zipper pull & sewn into the side seam for security. She used not even 1 inch of tape or bubble wrap!!! Very impressive.

VERY clever postal envelope made by betty of Just B in Stitches

VERY clever postal envelope made by betty of Just B in Stitches

NO prizes for guessing what this little bag is going to be used for……..you got it: the blog challenge as it is just the PERFECT size for toothbrush, toothpaste, soap, etc for our charity sewing project. See many other posts on this topic + more about how to make this super quick baggie.

About lizafrica

I work in the Education Dept at Janome & Elna, Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Decorative stitches, JANOME CONSUMER PROJECTS, Janome Embroidery, Janome Fun, JANOME MC350E, JANOME SERGERS, Janome Sewing Machine, Sewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your comments

