LIZ’S FAV MC15000 FEATURES: PART 3 – STITCH COMPOSER

I am LOVING the enhanced & improved STITCH COMPOSER …….INCLUDED with the NEW JANOME HORIZON MC 15000

STITCH COMPOSER  - ADD EVEN MORE 9MM STITCHES TO YOUR JANOME MACHINE!!!

STITCH COMPOSER is a terrific software program (INCLUDED with the purchase of the JANOME MC 15000) that allows you to create NEW 9mm decorative and utility stitches for your Janome MC15000…….that is if the 500 built-in stitches isn’t enough?!  The STITCH COMPOSER  software is part of the HORIZON LINK SUITE OF SOFTWARE. This is all found under one “roof” on the CD in the Mc15000 box – simply install the Horizon Link Suite software on your laptop or desktop computer.  I must add here that STITCH COMPOSER  is only ONE part of the Suite of software on this CD. There are no less than 5 different software programs to enhance and increase your sewing & embroidery enjoyment……….but more about the other programs in another blog post. Today we are looking at STITCH COMPOSER.

Notice the pic above: The row of E’s was done like this: I scribbled my initial on a piece of paper with a sharpie pen. I then scanned this with my scanner & saved the image in my folder on my computer that I have labelled: Stitch Composer images.  I then opened Stitch Composer on my computer and imported this E image which I used as a backdrop to follow with a simple dot to dot process following the loops of my initial. I then saved it ( incidentally it saves all created stitches as .stx format). I then transferred the created stitch to my JANOME MC 15000  and stitched a row of my initial………….how cool is that?

In the row below my E’s, I simply combined a machine built-in stitch with my created E……more fun.

MORE CREATED STITCHES

MORE CREATED STITCHES, including words & simple doodlings.

In the pic above, some of the stitches were created by Linda at our Toronto office (thank you, Linda) and the others by me.  Note the mushrooms with grass between them.  I used another backdrop for these: this image below was used as a template to click around the mushroom shape and the grass was just ziggy-zaggy stitches – one was more of a satin stitch than the other.

Image used as a backdrop to assist me to create a nice mushroom shaped stitch

Image used as a backdrop to assist me to create a nice mushroom shaped stitch

I would like to mention that the Stitch Composer software program does come with the JANOME MC 12000  on the Horizon Link CD with that machine model.  However, there are a number of improvements to the program that have been made which make the one included with the JANOME MC 15000 much easier & simpler to use…….eg no more fiddling around with start, end & loop points. No, just now click finish & it is all done automatically for you! Wonderful.

I got “playing” one morning last week and created some more fun 9mm stitches for my JANOME MC 15000. I used the image of the inukshuk for one of them as a backdrop but the rest were just me clicking away doing dot to dot!! Fun, fun, fun.

INUKSHUKstitch Composer 15K

WOW….. I was having so much fun but eventually I just had to stop as I had to pack my suitcases for another trip away to promote and launch our fabulous new JANOME HORIZON MC 15000.

One last thing: if you are feeling a teeny bit nervous….maybe you are thinking this is all sounds too complicated? ……rest assured it is WAY easier than you would think AND all you need do is click on the little blue ? in the top right corner of the STITCH COMPOSER screen and……voila! ……….you have an entire 48 page workbook/manual right there, built-in that you can follow to learn just how easy it is to make more 9mm stitches for your JANOME MC 15000.

So how many built-in stitches do we have on the JANOME HORIZON MC15000? 500?………….No, no…….you will have as many as you have time to create in Stitch Composer to add to the 500 built-in stitches! I think that means an ENDLESS number of stitches.  Have fun……I know I am!

JANOME HAS THOUGHT OF EVERYTHING!!!

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Decorative stitches, Horizon MC 12000, Janome Fun, JANOME HORIZON MC15000, Janome Sewing Machine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to LIZ’S FAV MC15000 FEATURES: PART 3 – STITCH COMPOSER

  1. karen rigby says:

    how do I get my composed stitch from my pc to my sewing machine?

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Karen,

      Sorry for the delay in replying. I have been away on vacation.
      Please click on the little blue ? in the top right corner of the Stitch Composer software in Horizon Link Suite. This has lots of information about how to operate this software. The information of how to get the design to the machine is covered here under the section: Transfer the composed stitch data

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

  2. Karen Edgecombe says:

    I love using Horizon Link, but I have a new computer and don’t remember how to set it up. Can you help?

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Karen,

      Your local Jnaome dealer where you purchased your machine should be able to assist you or you may call the Software helpline 1-800-631-0183 Ext 775.
      It is beyond the scope of this comment forum to explain this all to you. But it would require you to install the Horizon Link CD that came with your machine onto the new computer. And once, installed, the little blue question mark in the top right corner of the screen is the built-in manual which gives you plenty of information about how to use Horizon Link to the max.

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

  3. Saied says:

    Hi Liza,

    How can i get the stitch composer software for the MC9900? Or alternatively how can I modify the stitch patterns on the MC9900?

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Saied,
      Stitch Composer is only offered with the following models: Mc12000, MC15000 & Elna 860. Sorry, it is not available for the Mc9900.
      You are able to make adjustments to stitches on the MC9900 in terms of SW & SL etc. But I do not think that is what you mean. Sorry, cannot be done without Stitch Composer software.

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

  4. Marilyn says:

    thank you for the class in Saskatoon
    marilyn

    Like

Share your comments

