IT’S BEGINNING TO LOOK A LOT LIKE CHRISTMAS…….!!

Just in case you had not noticed that it is only 17 days to go…….?!

Decorating a Gingerbread House at my daughter's house......my little 3 year old grand- daughter was just loving it and (amazingly) lots of candies made it onto the house & not into her tummy!

Decorating a Gingerbread House at my daughter’s house……my little 3 year old grand- daughter was just loving it and (amazingly) lots of candies made it onto the house & not into her tummy!

"It is such fun to help Mummy decorate the house even if she said not I  was not allowed to eat anymore candy....I had to stick it onto the house!"

“It is such fun to help Mummy decorate the house even if she said I was not to eat anymore candy….I had to stick it onto the house! My Nanna said I did a good job”

And, yes, I know this is a SEWING blog, so I thought I would add pics of the Advent calendar that I have just finished making and (indeed) did manage to deliver to my little ones by 1st December for goodies in the first pocket!

This was a quilting panel I bought a few years ago just waiting for when my little ones would be old enough to appreciate the little gifts in the pocket for each day leading up to Christmas.

This was a quilting panel I bought a few years ago just waiting for when my little ones would be old enough to understand & appreciate the significance of the little gifts in the pocket for each day leading up to Christmas. And no, I did not make the little gifts that went into the pockets! Are you kidding me?…..I barely managed to get the calendar done in time!  No, it was the $store for little candies & toddler gifts.  Another year, another time, I might be more inspired to make items like felt finger puppets or dolly clothing. However, this year was not the year for that level of productivity! Alas.

I cut the tree shape from the panel….easy  – just follow the lines….not rocket science. Then the rows of pockets. I pressed the raw edges under & pinned in place onto the tree.  I decided to sandwich the quilt first before doing any sewing of the pockets. This way, when I sewed the pockets in position, it was also part of the quilting. Labour & time saving was my goal!

advent calendar 2

I did a wide zig-zag all around the tree to hold it in place on the red background fabric and then pressed gold fusible bias tape (Clover) all around the edge of the tree. This covered over the raw edge of the fabric & zig-zag basting. I used gold metallic thread to stitch a serpentine stitch over the gold tape.  No pins necessary as the fusible backing on the tape & my trusty Olisio iron took care of that.  All this stitching was also part of the quilting as it went through all layers.

advent calendar 4

Next I threaded up with red thread and quilted the background with echo quilting of the tree shape. I used the JANOME Acufeed foot and quilting guide bar on the JANOME HORIZON 7700 QCP to do this quilting.

close up showing the yarn couched against the raw edge of the wall hanging. This is an alternative way to treat the edges of a quilt or wall hanging.

close up showing the yarn couched against the raw edge of the wall hanging. This is an alternative way to treat the edges of a quilt or wall hanging.

Lastly, I trimmed the edges straight and instead of adding a traditional binding, I couched 2 strands of bottle green yarn against the cut edge of the quilt sandwich. I used a zig-zag stitch and went twice around the edges so there were actually 4 strands of yarn “sealing” & covering my raw edge. If I had used a thicker yarn, I would maybe not have needed to sew around twice. But I wanted it to look properly covered and that medium weight yarn was all I had at home to complete the project…….where there is a will, there is a way!

WATCH THE janomelife BLOG NEXT WEEK FOR MORE CHRISTMAS SEWING IDEAS as we shine the spotlight on the customers at LANGLEY VACUUM & SEWING  who have been sewing up a Christmas storm of delightful projects……more next week!

About lizafrica

I work in the Education Dept at Janome & Elna, Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Decorative stitches, Horizon MC7700QCP, JANOME HORIZON MC15000, JANOME PROJECT IDEA, Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your comments

