WHAT’S GOING ON IN THIS CORNER OF THE SEWING WORLD? PART 1

I recently attended the SEWEXPO in Puyallup, Washington……my annual excursion where I take a close look at what’s new, what’s hot, what’s not hot anymore, etc at the largest consumer Sewing Show in North America.  I attend this show as a consumer but I am actually watching very carefully and “taking mental notes”  for you – we are all part of the sewing world  ………..  Here’s some of what I discovered this year:

  • Quite a few vendors from previous years were not there this year…..not sure why but I missed them. Hoping some of them will be back next year.
  • One new vendor I noticed was FASHION SUPPLIES INC  from LA with probably their main item being top quality French European dress forms. They also were selling a range of sewing notions & supplies. Joe Vecchiarelli  taught a quick class on fitting a dress form where I gained valuable information about how to make a purchased dress form be a really good fit with the body.
Deluxe dress forms from Fashion Supplies Inc

Deluxe dress forms from Fashion Supplies Inc

  • A friend and I made dress forms together last year – where you strip down to bra & panties , wrap yourself in a black garbage bag, tape that super tight around you & then your friend wraps strips of gummed paper tape around you. (So it pretty much needs to be a very good friend!)  The paper dries hard and then you get cut out of your body “cast” which gets taped together to fit your body measurements as close as possible.
  • Jan Bones of Winnipeg has offered this as a class some years at the Saskatchewan Stitches Conference. She also tells me that she offered this class at SEWEXPO this year. Jan usually has a booth at Sew Expo so I popped in there & had a brief chat with her.  I told her my friend & I had made  dress forms but that I was somewhat horrified at what my shape looked like! I felt it was a fat version of me which was a teeny bit upsetting: My dress form has pretty much stood in the corner of my sewing room for months where I glare at it periodically and remind myself that I really should not eat so much chocolate! I am sure you can imagine how relieved I was when Jan explained that Yes, the dress forms my friend & I made would always be larger than what we really are – it has to be  as the paper strips were wrapped on top of my body. Why didn’t I think of that? Anyway, Jan explained that that larger size is the EASE for fitting when you make a garment. She says you make the garment to fit the form and that becomes the garment or pattern ease. Made a lot of sense so I think I am persuaded to now use my dress form without glaring guiltily at it! Thank you, Jan.
One of the dress forms that Jan Bones and her classes of brave ladies make in a very similar way to the way my friend & I made ours.

One of the dress forms that Jan Bones and her classes of brave ladies make in a very similar way to the way my friend & I made ours.

About lizafrica

I work in the Education Dept at Janome & Elna, Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in BOOK REVIEW, Creativity, Fashion, GARMENT SEWING WITH JANOME, Janome Fun, Janome Sewing Machine, Sewing Space and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your comments

