WHAT’S GOING ON IN THIS CORNER OF THE SEWING WORLD ? PART2

Well this isn’t really just in this corner!!! It was pretty big news at SEWEXPO.  The launch of Nancy Zieman’s book: “Seams Unlikely” . I went to a short seminar where she talked about why she wrote an autobiography and shared with us a little of the story  behind her amazing success to where she now is a sewing star & icon of the sewing industry (my words…not hers). One thing that really struck me was that she did not want anyone to think she was full of her own importance and so wrote a book. Nooooooo, she wrote it because she was somewhat shocked when she googled herself and saw that all the top hits were about her face and what was medically wrong with her.…..nothing about sewing. Bit of a surprize. She decided it was time to set the record straight – so to speak. What followed was a little of her story of triumph over adversity and serious health issues dating back to when she was a baby. I am not going to spoil it by telling you the story……… Go get yourself a copy of her new book and read it. I am sure you will be inspired and touched by her life story. We gave her a standing ovation at the end of her presentation……and she is so humble that she was somewhat horrified when we did that and quickly asked us to please take to our seats. She is one pretty amazing woman who could never ever be described as a primadonna.  Read her book……you will love it.

book-cover-large

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in BOOK REVIEW, Creativity and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to WHAT’S GOING ON IN THIS CORNER OF THE SEWING WORLD ? PART2

  1. Sandy says:

    Nancy Zieman is one classy lady. I always enjoyed her on her sewing TV shows. Thanks for the heads up regarding her book.

    Like

  2. Dawn Fielden says:

    I watched her on TV for years and her shows were great – she is a pro in so many ways! Will have to add her book to my “gotta read” list. Thanks, Liz:-)

    Like

Share your comments

