PROJECT IDEA: DOLL CARRIER for little “Mommies”

A “mommie birdie” whispered in my ear some time before Christmas last year that my little almost 2 year old was really enjoying playing with her dolls and would love to have a doll/baby carrier for Christmas. This was one of those projects which became a procrastination until finally in a flurry of late night activity, I got most of it done for Christmas morning! image I based it on a pic that my daughter had pinned to one of her Pintrest boards named…rather aptly…..Things for Mom to sew! So I did not have a pattern but after some consultation with my daughter, using my porcelain doll as a “baby”;  and the tweaking of my initial efforts, we now finally have a rather cute little carrier that my little one will hopefully enjoy playing with and being a little “Mommie” to her doll. She is barely 2 years old and already learning roles by playing with her toys. I guess we did it too but somehow, being a Nanna, has me seeing it all again through “fresh” eyes.

Straps pass through D-rings on the front next to the Dolly's head and then criss-cross the back & Velcro back on the front just above the Dolly's legs. Velcro works well for little fingers which still have to learn the more advanced motor skills like buttons & laces etc.

Straps pass through D-rings on the front next to the Dolly’s head and then criss-cross the back & Velcro back on the front just above the Dolly’s legs. Velcro works well for little fingers which still have to learn the more advanced motor skills of buttons & laces etc.

I 'm a very "biased" Nanna but the cuteness factor is way up there for me!!

I ‘m a very “biased” Nanna but the cuteness factor is way up there for me!!

Attention span is quite short when you are barely 2 years old, so we were ready to move on to another game.....hence pulling at the straps to come off. She will soon master the Velcro & will be able to put on the carrier & take off on her own.

Attention span is quite short when you are not quite 2 years old, so we were ready to move on to another game…..hence pulling at the straps to come off. She will soon master the Velcro & will be able to put on the carrier & take off on her own.

About lizafrica

I work in the Education Dept at Janome & Elna, Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Janome Sewing Machine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to PROJECT IDEA: DOLL CARRIER for little “Mommies”

  1. Sharon Cowan says:

    Such a cutie granddaughter! The doll carrier is a lovely idea.

    Like

  2. Bridget says:

    adorable. are you going to share the pattern, Liz?

    Like

  3. Lindsay says:

    So precious! I love that your daughter has a board called “Things for Mom to sew.” 🙂 And I’m impressed that you whipped this together without a pattern!

    Like

  4. Chris Krause says:

    Awww…. So cute, Liz! (The grandchild – and the carrier!)

    Like

Share your comments

