QUILT CANADA 2014 IN ST CATHERINES/NIAGARA

QC 2014 EXCITEMENT IS BUILDING……Yes, our premier Quilting event of the year takes place next week at Brock University in St Catherine’s/Niagara, Ontario.  Perhaps you already have this marked on your calendars & we will see you there? Perhaps you need a reminder to attend? Or perhaps you need a reminder about WHY you should attend? QC 2014 2

  • A bunch of quilting & sewing vendors under one roof…..always draws an enthusiastic crowd looking for the latest quilting gadgets and books or new fabric lines. I always find something to buy each year …..it is not hard to spend money at these events!! Our Janome dealer from Hamilton: Nova Sewing Machines will be in attendance at the JANOME BOOTH in the Merchant Mall Wednesday through Saturday. You will be able to ask any questions, see demonstrations on a wide range of our sewing machines + purchase any machines especially the ones we will have on “smoking hot” deals like the machines we opened for the classrooms and other surprise deals we will have for you on the booth. DO COME AND VISIT US.
  • There are classes running daily from Wednesday through Saturday. I would imagine at this stage that some classes are fully booked but you might be lucky to find a spot in some of the classes? BIG NAME quilting teachers come from far & wide to share their expertise with the best of our Canadian quilters. Janome sponsors well over 100 machines for use in the classrooms so we see and watch you guys firsthand having a huge amount of fun in your respective classes. We pop in & out to check everyone knows how to thread their machine or select a fun stitch……our only regret is that we are too busy working to be able to sit down and take a class or 2 with you!!
Hilary Rice is one of our popular Canadain teachers - her classes are a hot bed of creative enthusiasm

Hilary Rice is one of our popular Canadian teachers – her classes are a hot-bed of creative enthusiasm

  • There is also the EXHIBITION of quilts…..usually more than one exhibition but the one that often draws the most attention is the current NJS entries. We get to see all the quilts that were submitted to the Jury committee and then were judged just before the show opens. This is awe inspiring: I used to look at them thinking how clever “other”quilters were. Honest, I did not even think of entering a quilt of mine. Then at Quilt Canada in Calgary 2010, I was approached by one of the Quilt Appraisers when she saw quilts I had made hanging in our Janome booth. She wanted to value my quilts but she also told me that I should be entering my quilts. I mulled over than for a long while after that & finally entered one in 2012 in Halifax. Would you know it ? I won a ribbon! Not sure yet if that was just beginner’s luck as I have not been able to enter again since then?! But now that my circumstances have changed, I am planning on entering in 2015. I currently have 2 quilts on my quilt wall and am actively planning to have them completed by early 2015. Holding thumbs!  The point is: you may not have ever thought of entering one of your quilts but I know for a fact that many quilts I see on my travels around Western Canada are plenty good enough to be submitted to the Jury committee (Remember the blog post on Amy back on 14th April – she is someone who should definitely be entering her work…as already said, it is exquisite). It sure ranks up there with one of life’s highlights to (1) have your quilt accepted by the Jury committee ; (2) to see it displayed in an exhibition and (3) to win a ribbon. I think I walked on a cloud for days after that. SO……give it some thought. It would be lovely if more people entered their work. There sure is no shortage of quilting talent in this incredible country from the West coast of Vancouver Island to the eastern shores of Newfoundland.

    This was a quilt displayed at a show in Lethbridge last year. NEXT YEAR Quilt Canada will be visiting this Alberta city......this is a taste of good things to come in Lethbridge......BUT after this year in St Catherines!

    This was a quilt displayed at a show in Lethbridge last year. NEXT YEAR Quilt Canada will be visiting this Alberta city……this is a taste of good things to come in Lethbridge……BUT that is only after this year in St Catherines!

 

  • And there are quilt raffles and other fun activities to participate in
The 2014 Quilt raffle

The 2014 Quilt raffle

  • There is time to celebrate with ribbon winners, renew friendships and meet new quilting friends…….definitely LOTS to see & do and we have not even started talking about nearby sightseeing such as Niagara Falls. I last watched all that water tumbling in August 1989 when I was a tourist to Canada and still living in another country very far away. SO –  I definitely think a revisit is long overdue….don’t you?………SEE YOU THERE!

niagara

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Canadian Quilter's Association CQA, Creativity, Janome Canada Sponsored, Janome Quilt, Janome Sewing Machine, Janome Sponsored event and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your comments

