SPOTLIGHT ON A NEW SEWING CAFE IN GEORGETOWN, ONTARIO: SIT SEW SIP

Sewing cafe’s are becoming quite popular. The basic idea behind the concept is that not everyone owns a sewing machine nor does everyone know how to sew. So the sewing café gives interested people the opportunity to book time to come and sew on a sewing machine while mending a torn kiddie’s dress or hemming a pair of pants which might be too long.  This saves a bundle on alteration costs – I remember being shocked when I noticed that a store charged $25 to hem a pair of pants! I could do it almost with my eyes closed so I would NOT be prepared to  pay $25 to have it done for me…….the answer is to have somewhere to go to do it myself if I do not own a sewing machine or don’t have the skills as yet to get the job  done! AND somewhere I can learn these sewing skills in a non-threatening and pleasant environment.

OR perhaps I really want to learn to make a pair of PJ’s but I have no clue where to start. In comes the sewing café who have staff who will show me how to operate a sewing machine, teach me basic sewing skills and “rent” me the space & a sewing machine to use while I do this.

LINDA P STANDING PROUDLY OUTSIDE THE DOOR TO HER SEWING CAFE IN THE VERY QUAINT & CHARMING OLDE TOWN PART OF GEORGETOWN, ONTARION

LINDA P STANDING PROUDLY OUTSIDE THE DOOR TO HER SEWING CAFE IN THE VERY QUAINT & CHARMING OLDE TOWN PART OF GEORGETOWN, ONTARIO

This all sounds like a win-win situation………..in comes our Linda P who went  into business with Anna almost a year ago by opening THE SEWING CAFE in Georgetown, Ontario. I recently visited the store enroute to Quilt Canada. I was very impressed with the set up and fun, upbeat atmosphere of their store. The SIT SEW SIP  is very apt and sure is bringing people through the doors!

LINDA AND HER BUSINESS PARTNER, ANNA, DID ALL THE RENOVATION AND STORE FIXTURES THEMSLEVES.... AND HAVE CREATED A GREAT WORKABLE AND PLEASANT ENVIRONMENT FOR THEIR CUSTOMERS

LINDA AND HER BUSINESS PARTNER, ANNA, CREATIVELY DID ALL THE RENOVATION,  FIXTURES & FURNITURE THEMSELVES BY RE-USING, PAINTING & RE-PURPOSING CERTAIN ITEMS…. AND HAVE CREATED A GREAT WORKABLE AND PLEASANT ENVIRONMENT FOR THEIR CUSTOMERS WHICH IS ALSO GREEN IN THAT THEY SAVED STUFF FROM GOING TO THE LANDFILL!!

linda 2

linda3

linda5

Linda & Anna have introduced Janome 625E’s as their classroom sewing machines. Linda likes this model as it is a reliable, quality mechanical sewing machine model which she says does not intimidate beginner sewers as it is SO easy to use.

625e_fs

They have a busy class program offering beginner sewing classes as well as project classes or simply sessions of SIT SEW SIP where folk can work on their own projects or finish a project started in a class.

For further information or to contact the store, here is the link to their website.

We wish Linda & Anna the very best for the future of their business as the first year of being open draws to a close…….the future looks good!

 

 

 

 

 

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Fashion, GARMENT SEWING WITH JANOME, Janome Fun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to SPOTLIGHT ON A NEW SEWING CAFE IN GEORGETOWN, ONTARIO: SIT SEW SIP

  1. Laura Catto says:

    There use to be a place on Kingsway not far from 12th Avenue in Vancouver, BC that did the same type of thing….

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Laura,

      We know about The Spool of Thread at 649E 15th Ave (@Fraser & Kingsway). It is very much still there. They are one of our Elna dealers. And yes, they are a sewing café ++

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

  2. cherylsewing says:

    This is a wonderful concept. I wish Linda P and Anna the best of luck in keeping this going. I hope that this vision will reach many more in our country and more sewing cafes will pop up.

    I love to sew and think that everyone should know how to at least mend of shorten/lenghten their own clothes. I am trying to keep the tradition of sewing grow as I’ve given my 4 children the opportunity to learn with a Janome machine in each of their homes. I am also trying to teach my grandchildren to sew as well.

    Cheryl

    Like

Share your comments

