SUMMER SEWING PART 4: COOL SUMMER DRESSES

JALIE PATTERN # 3024

JALIE PATTERN # 3024

Wendy & Brenda at HAUS OF STITCHES in Humboldt, SK highly recommended this pattern so I bought it last year during the SK Stitches Conference. Brenda had made View B in a thickish black knit fabric like a Ponte and she was wearing it with a grey jacket – it looked really smart.

Did I make anything with this pattern last year? What do you think?!  I so often buy stuff and it lies around for ages before inspiration, time & energy allow me to actually put my expenditure to good use! Does this happen to you too? Bet it does as I can’t be the only one!

Jalie is a CANADIAN  company out of Quebec. I think I now own about 6 or 7 Jalie patterns and I can say that none of them have disappointed me. I do think the pattern instructions are a little minimal which is OK for an intermediate to advanced sewer even though I sometimes have to scratch my head a few times before I figure out what they mean. But it does all work out and the diagrams are pretty good.  HUGE multi-sizing – this pattern runs from little girls age 2-13 and adults size 4-22!! So it really is a pattern that will suit any size.

I made View C on the right (with the black & white stripe bodice) in the pic below. It sewed up SO fast I am calling it my “one hour dress”. No kidding…..after it is cut out, you sew & can walk out the door wearing the completed dress in an hour! I used a very thin knit print (this Jalie pattern is for knit fabrics only). Have made 2 dresses with view C (pics below) and definitely want to try view A & B as well…..soon?

This does not look like much on the hanger but I have received a number of compliments on the 2 occasions so far that I have worn this dress - and this despite the fact that I really need to lose the extra lbs that have slipped in while I wasn't looking......don't you hate that?

This does not look like much on the hanger but I have received a number of compliments when I have worn this dress – and this despite the fact that I really need to lose the extra lbs that have slipped on while I wasn’t looking……don’t you hate that?

This is the exact same Jalie dress except that I finished off the neck & armhole edges a little differently.....more on this coming.

This is the exact same Jalie dress except that I finished off the neck & armhole edges + hem a little differently…..more  coming on this topic.

 I will be doing some follow-up blog posts on construction techniques when sewing with knits + how to finish the armholes, neck edge & hemline in the coming weeks. Watch for it in October or November: I will give you handy hints & tips + several options so you can ring the changes and not have all your garments looking the same.

About Janome Canada

For over 100 years, Janome has been the brand of choice for sewing, embroidery, longarm quilting, sergers, coverhem machines - and MORE! Our Janome Canada head office; our Janome HQ, is the Janome Sewing and Learning Centre in Oakville, ON. Be sure to follow us here on Janome Life blog, as well as our other Janome Canada social media so you get the most from your Janome machine! @janomehq @janomecanada Janome HQ Facebook, Janome Canada Facebook Janome HQ You Tube channel, Janome Life You Tube channel
This entry was posted in Creativity, Fashion, GARMENT SEWING WITH JANOME, Janome Fun, JANOME PROJECT IDEA, JANOME SERGERS, Janome Sewing Machine, Janome Sewing Machine Feature, MC8900 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to SUMMER SEWING PART 4: COOL SUMMER DRESSES

  1. Fran Sheeley says:

    Love the dress, will have to get busy & start sewing when garden is all finished, looking forward for that time!

    Like

  2. Lovely dresses! I have had this pattern for a few years, you have inspired me to give it a try! 🙂

    Like

  3. jenerators says:

    I made this dress using a grey marle cotton lycra but I used a grey lycra with sparkles from my dance fabric stash for the bodice front and the band. Didn’t have enough left over to do the bodice back too. I wear it to work often.

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi,
      Your dress sounds wonderful. Haven’t you noticed that grey has almost become the “new black”? I made or bought at least 5 items in grey(s) for this COMING winter as it seems to be such a hot colour – and fairly practical too like navy & black – goes with most things.
      Glad you had as much success as I did with that pattern.

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA.

      Like

  4. DIANNE ROSS says:

    Please send in English i do not understand this. Tks Dianne

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

Comments are closed.