PART 8 IN OUR JANOME FOOT SERIES: THIS MONTH WE FOCUS ON THE PIPING FOOT

Lots for you today about PIPING WITH JANOME

There are a few different feet so let’s make it simple:

PIPING FOOT FOR 7mm machine models. Part Number: 200314006

piping footPIPING FOOT FOR 9mm machine models  Part Number: 202088004

piping foot 9mm

PIPING FOOT FOR JANOME SERGERS  – there are  few different ones for different model sergers so please check with your local JANOME dealer who can advise you what is available for your specific Janome serger model. This foot allows you to insert piping into a seam AND finish the seam with a serged overedge at the same time. Very useful in many applications.

öÙÓÜ

Here are some step-by-step pics  + video’s for making  & inserting piping using the Janome piping foot:

 

First fold the fabric over to form a bias 45 degree angle. This is very necessary for piping that will be applied to curves or corners

First fold the fabric over to form a bias 45 degree angle. This is very necessary for piping that will be applied to curves or corners  as you will need that little bit of stretch for manipulating the fabric & having everything lie flat & even on curves & corners. PART 1

 

 

Now you need the piping cord. I prefer to use cotton although poly or nylon cording will also work. If cotton it MUST be pre-shrunk or your piping will "wrinkle" later when you wash the item. Just put in a bowl and pour boiling water over the cotton cording. When cool, hang to drip dry.  Rat tail also works well.  If you want to use micro piping (baby items or doll's clothes), then use crochet thread or similar as your cording. Lay the cording inside the piping fabric strip & fold over enclosing the cord.  I find it helps to use my fingernail to crease up against the cord to keep it real snug in the fold. I do this & sew for a bit, stop, push into the fold again & sew some more.

Now you need the piping cord. I prefer to use cotton although poly or nylon cording will also work. If cotton it MUST be pre-shrunk or your piping will “wrinkle” later when you wash the item. Just put in a bowl and pour boiling water over the cotton cording. When cool, hang to drip dry.
Rat tail also works well – you do not need to pre-shrink rat tail & other similar poly or nylon products.
If you want to make micro piping (baby items or doll’s clothes etc), then use crochet thread or similar as your cording.
Lay the cording inside the piping fabric strip & fold over enclosing the cord.
I find it helps to use my fingernail to crease up against the cord to keep it real snug in the fold. I do this & sew for a bit, stop, push into the fold again & sew some more.

The JANOME PIPING FOOT IS USED IN THE SAME WAY TO INSERT THE PIPING MADE ABOVE INTO SEAMS ON PILLOWS, GARMENTS & MORE:

I like to sew my piping down onto my project (in this case it was a pillow) FIRST to hold it firmly in place. This could be done with a basting stitch if preferred. THEN I add the pillow back fabric on top & once more use the JANOME PIPING FOOT  to ride along the cord within the seam so that my stitching to hold all the layers together is correctly placed.

I like to sew my piping down onto my project (in this case it was a pillow) FIRST to hold it firmly in place. This could be done with a basting stitch if preferred. THEN I add the pillow back fabric on top & once more use the JANOME PIPING FOOT to ride along the cord within the seam so that my stitching to hold all the layers together is correctly placed.

Why are there 2 grooves under the foot? That is because you can make double piping or welting with this foot…..but that is for another day!

And…..what is on your sewing menu today or tomorrow? Piping?

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Janome Accessories, Janome Embroidery, JANOME FOOT SERIES, Janome Fun, JANOME PROJECT IDEA and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to PART 8 IN OUR JANOME FOOT SERIES: THIS MONTH WE FOCUS ON THE PIPING FOOT

  1. cheryl says:

    I’m making “baby” piping. What size piping foot do I need for Janome 4120 qdc?

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Cheryl,

      I actually like to use the Pintuck foot when making baby piping as the grooves are much narrower and it holds the cording better. Please ask your local Janome dealer for the correct pintuck foot for the 4120QDC. There are 2: 5 groove & 7 groove. You would need the one for 7mm machines. I’m pretty sure the box both the pintuck feet is available.

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

  2. Christina says:

    I love this foot and make all of my own piping. One tip I can offer is that when you sew the final seam, move the needle position closer to the cord so that your basting stitches do not show. Thank you for these great tutorials!

    Like

Share your comments

