JANOME SERIES ON FEET: CONCEALED OR INVISIBLE ZIPPER FOOT

In our ongoing series of posts about various JANOME FEET & ACCESSORIES, here is the next instalment: the concealed or invisible zipper foot.

concealed-zipper-foot

It seems that the concept of sewing a zipper into a garment or other project strikes fear into the heart of many a sewist. And we have not even whispered the words: invisible zipper…… and the temptation to run for the hills gets stronger! You might think that I am too confident to identify with these fears……not so. I avoided inserting invisible zippers into garments for many years until I finally faced my resistance head-on and decided it was not going to get the better of me.

I’m glad I stood my ground, did my research and practiced until I got it right. As with anything…..it really is not that hard once you know how. There are lots of places you can go for help: www.janome.com; the new Janome accessory video APP (for apple and android smart phones, iPads & tablets), www.janome.ca; you tube video’s; another generic video – by generic I mean it is not specifically Janome. She goes on about not needing a special Invisible zipper foot. She uses the foot we have: we call it the adjustable zipper foot. I am happy this foot works for her. I definitely find the invisible or concealed zipper foot easier to use. But I have added this video link as she is fairly clear about the steps to getting a nice neat invisible zipper insertion…..and she does it on a side seam of a dress with waist inset so there are a number of horizontal seams to perfectly line up. She shows how.

IMG_2147[1]

Here is a pocket I recently added to an apron.....it has an invisible zipper closure

Here is a pocket I recently added to an apron…..it has an invisible zipper closure

JANOME ADJUSTABLE ZIPPER FEET - the one on the left is for low shank machines, the one on the right is for high shank machines.

JANOME ADJUSTABLE ZIPPER FEET – the one on the right is for low shank machines, the one on the left  is for high  shank machines.

Check out this link for the  adjustable zipper foot . We have different ones which look slightly different. Ask your local Janome dealer to assist you further if you would like to purchase one of these. We even have an adjustable concealed zipper foot (below) which must be the very best of both worlds!

The JANOME ADJUSTABLE CONCEALED ZIPPER FOOT

The JANOME ADJUSTABLE CONCEALED ZIPPER FOOT

About lizafrica

I work in the Education Dept at Janome & Elna, Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, GARMENT SEWING WITH JANOME, JANOME FOOT SERIES, Janome Fun, Janome Sewing Machine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to JANOME SERIES ON FEET: CONCEALED OR INVISIBLE ZIPPER FOOT

  1. Deb Edwards says:

    Didn’t know there was an adjustable concealed zipper foot! I may have to invest in one, but for concealed zippers the snap-on does work well. I sure like my adjustable zipper foot though, bought it as soon as it came out many years ago & it is the one I use all the time for regular zippers. Thanks Liz. Always something to learn!

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Deb,
      Love the idea about the fleece for your grandson. My son-in-law is a policeman so my little girls might like something like that too?!
      There are 2 feet options for invis. zippers: the clip on foot Z that comes with the Janome MC15000 and/or the adjustable one featured in the blog. Both work well.

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

Share your comments

