QUILTING WITH JANOME PART 1: QUILT LABELS

We would like to focus our attention on QUILTING WITH JANOME  so here is Part 1 in a series of posts on this topic.

One of my Japanese quilts: trapunto quilting of the panel; Embroidery in the black border section (Kenny Kreations designs); and Quilting in the black border area using Janome's exclusive Acufil quilting system (Quilting designs used were Expressions of Texture by Leah Day from the Artistic Embroidery Collection (available from your local Janome Dealer)

One of my Japanese quilts: trapunto quilting of the panel; Embroidery in the black border section (Kenny Kreations designs); and Quilting in the black border area using Janome’s exclusive Acufil quilting system (Quilting designs used were Expressions of Texture by Leah Day from the Artistic Embroidery Collection (available from your local Janome Dealer)

Adding a quilt label to a quilt can be seen as a chore…..just one more thing to do after you thought you had finished that big quilting project? However, the importance of adding a good label to your quilts cannot be underestimated. Here’s a link to one quilter’s thoughts on this topic.  and another from Brandy Lynn here in BC, Canada. The general consensus is that our quilts are very precious so we should take that little bit of extra time to make a label and attach it firmly to the back of every quilt we make. I am guilty of slipping up sometimes but for the most part I have made this part of my routine: quilt….sleeve……label……binding.

There are, of course, many different ways to label your quilts. Probably the laziest and quickest way is to use a black sharpie (permanent) marker and simply write on the back of the quilt. Guilty…..been there, done that. However, it is a bit crass so I have attempted to be more refined by embroidering a label with my Janome embroidery machine to then stitch to the back of the quilt. If I am very organized, I sew this to my backing by machine before I sandwich the quilt. However, most times I forget so the label ends up being tucked into the binding on 2 sides of the label with the remaining 2 sides being slip-stitched by hand onto the back bottom corner of the quilt.

All our Janome embroidery machines have the functionality to “type” words onto the edit  screen on the machine. This can be a little time consuming though it works perfectly well. All Janome embroidery machine models offer several fonts from which to choose as well as size (small, medium & large) font size; some also offer orientation in the hoop: vertical or horizontal. This can be very useful if you have a lot to say on your label & stitching it vertically fits in more than the narrower horizontal orientation – for example in the RE or B hoop. Whichever you select, the words will show on the screen and you still have the option of moving them around by selecting each little green box in turn & using the jog keys or click & drag to move the wording.

Quilt label for the above quilt. I used the block font for this and stitched it entirely in red on the Janome Mc15000.

Quilt label for the above quilt. I used the block font for this and stitched it entirely in red on the Janome Mc15000.

It is quicker, however, to type the label using your embroidery software: JANOME DIGITZIER MBX or ARTISTIC SEWING SUITE. Select the font, size, orientation +any other variables you might like to use. Then type words onto the software screen such as GEISHA QUILT # made by Liz THOMPSON…. or whatever you wish to record about your masterpiece. And it IS a masterpiece to be treasured and remembered for many years to come. Many of my quilts are made as samples to showcase machines and/or quilting techniques so I often end up writing little “stories” on my labels………you can use whatever style that floats your boat! These labels take a rather long time to stitch out as tiny lettering is a time consuming stitch-out:  each letter is done separately with a thread trim between each (which is much appreciated by me as I do not have to do a myriad of jump thread clips afterwards).

So here’s my advice: set up your Janome embroidery machine to make a label but have some other sewing to do on your other JANOME  sewing machine……yes, I know you have more than 1……many of you tell me just how many Janomes you own!    OR or you bought your  2nd, 3rd or 4th Janome from me at one of our Janome events! Don’t be tempted to sit & watch the embroidery as you might get bored…rather occupy your time starting on the next quilting project!

 

a simpler embroidered label but very effective

a simpler embroidered label but very effective

Another simple label which gets the task done quickly

Another simple label which gets the task done quickly

Framing a label with embroidery

Framing a label with embroidery

adding embroidery other than words to a label can be very pretty and frames the wording of the label beautifully

adding embroidery other than words to a label can be very pretty and frames the wording of the label beautifully

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Digitizing, Horizon MC 12000, Janome Embroidery, JANOME EMBROIDERY SOFTWARE, Janome Fun, JANOME PROJECT IDEA, Janome Quilt, MC 11000, Memory Craft 15000 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to QUILTING WITH JANOME PART 1: QUILT LABELS

  1. Ruth Kellam says:

    I have a janome 300e ,and am new to embroidery,someone gave me the machine and some one else gave me import customizer not a clue on how to even begin a quilt label for a friendb

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Ruth,

      Unfortunately it is not possible to offer this type of support on a blog comment forum. You will need to contact an authorized local Janome dealer who may be able to offer you support and training on how to use the 300E and how to operate Customizer. Ideally the dealer where you purchased the machine would be bale to help you, but you can ask any dealer if they will be prepared to teach you – even if there may be a charge for this service.

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

  2. Linda Mihay says:

    Where’s part 2? I have a 200e and can’t figure out how to do multiple lines. After all the trouble of getting line 1 done, I lost it, doing line 2. The manual is useless for this. HELLLLPPP!

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Linda,

      Not sure as that is over 3 years ago. It is possible I got side tracked and did not write a part 2. However, if you search “Quilting With Janome” on janomelife blog, you will find over 2 posts on this topic. Happy reading!
      As regards multiple lines, I am not 100% sure it can be done on this model. Maybe not. I scrolled through the instruction manual online and see it has quite a lot of detail on Lettering from page 27 onwards. I would try to see if you can use the Edit mode Page 31 onwards and/or the Combining patterns on page 35 onwards. It might be possible to do. I don’ have a 200E available to test it out for you.

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

  3. Stephanie Buckingham says:

    A draw to this blog would be to share some of your digitized bordered labels.

    Like

  4. Christine Gibbons says:

    Liza: I just wanted you to know how much I enjoy and learn from your wonderful blog. I love the information you share on using your sewing machine feet and print off many articles. I have the Janome 6600 and would love to get the 12000 however I will not be trading in my 6600. Lucy is my dream machine and was a gift from my Dad and my Husband.

    Christine in London, Ont

    Like

Share your comments

