WE SHINE THE SPOTLIGHT ON ONE OF OUR NEW FAVOURITES: THE JANOME SKYLINE S5

JUK in frame

This Janome sewing machine is new in our line-up: the JANOME SKYLINE S5 has been introduced especially for people who are ready to move on from a basic, simple sewing machine…… Those who might be wanting something larger (but not too large); something with more features & stitches that can take them and their sewing to a new level. The machine offers 9mm stitches and 8 1/4 inches of space for larger projects like quilts, table cloths, drapes, etc. The machine is a little bit like a breath of fresh air with its light blue & white colours and contemporary, modern feel. We are most encouraged by the sales of this machine which is appealing to just the demographic and group of sewers for whom we were providing this machine.

SKYLINE 2This caught my eye in my inbox a week or so back: Amy of Amy’s Free Motion Quilting Adventures had something to say about this machine. She does a great video demonstration:

A Review of the New Janome Skyline S5 – Amy Johnson of Virginia, USA.

Here’s a video review oftheJanomeS5 at the shop I work at, Sew Simple. Not one of my best, since it was taken at night and I had the hold the camera with one hand throughout. I didn’t do any fancy free motion quilting on it on videosinceone handed quilting has limits. I do really like the machine and think it’s a great one for someone who wants to move up from a regular sized sewing machine, but doesn’t want to go whole hog on a high-end 11 inch throat machine. That knee lift is a hugely useful feature! To clarify, it has 8.25 inches to the right of the needle.

SKYLINE 3

THERE ARE 3 GREAT FEET & ACCESSORY KITS THAT ARE AVAILABLE AS OPTIONAL EXTRA’S FOR THE SKYLINE:

  • QUILTING KIT
  • FASHION & FINISHING
  • HOME DECORATING

We will be showing these kits on this blog in the coming weeks…..watch this space.

SKYLINE

 

About lizafrica

I work in the Education Dept at Janome & Elna, Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Decorative stitches, Janome Fun, Janome Sewing Machine, Janome Sewing Machine Feature, Janome Sewing Machines, Skyline and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WE SHINE THE SPOTLIGHT ON ONE OF OUR NEW FAVOURITES: THE JANOME SKYLINE S5

  1. Sharon says:

    I am the target market for this machine. As a mom, the lock button was worth the extra money! I was about ready to go back to a mechanical as I would always lose my settings when turning off my dc2013, even though it was a great little machine. I didn’t want any of my little ones to sew through their finger by accident, (as i did when I was a teenager), so I just love the lock button. Also, I don’t have a lot of extra time, so not having to cycle through the stitches to select them helps me feel like I’m not wasting my sewing time pushing buttons.

    I do need some more feet now, and I don’t know which one set to get… as I want the pintuck foot, applique foot, fmf, piping foot, and bias binder attachment as I think they’re all in different sets. I also love the fact that a lot of the decorative stitches are actually applique stitches ( though maybe you should’ve included an applique foot!) I don’t quilt; just sew clothes (mostly from Ottobre magazine) and toys for my kids, so that’s what I have in mind with those attachments.

    I’m not at the place I want to (or can) buy a $10000 machine and as an artist, I know I would be frustrated at embroidery machines unless I could make my own designs, so I wasn’t interested in that. This machine is just perfect for what I want. Thanks.

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Sharon,
      So glad you are happy with your Skyline S5 purchase. WE sure like it too!
      There are 3 kits with feet but you can also buy individual feet as we’ve always been able to do. ASk your local janome dealer for options and they can also sell you the applique foot which – as it happens – I have on the machine right now as I am prepping a sample for a show!! LOVE the fact that it is short & stubby so a breeze to applique around curves & corners etc.

      Happy sewing.
      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

Share your comments

