JANOME “RULER FOOT” PART 2

2 of the rulers I have been using for curves & circles & scallops.....a lot of fun.

2 of the rulers I have been using for curves & circles & scallops…..a lot of fun.

In Part 1 a few weeks back (17th June 2015), we spoke about using long arm rulers to guide our free motioning on quilts to create straight lines, grids and more. Pictured above are 2 of the rulers I have found very helpful in guiding me to make lovely circles, curves, scallops and so on. Here are some pics of my “play time”:

No perfect yet......still learning & playing.....but getting there slow but sure!

No perfect yet……still learning & playing…..but getting there slow but sure!

rulers 16

scallops...clam shells......matchstick quilting.......lots of creative possibilities

scallops…clam shells……matchstick quilting…….lots of creative possibilities

more matchstick quilting. Would I ever have used my walking foot to do multiple rows of straight quilting this close? You guessed right! But with a ruler and free motioning......you betcha! In no time an entire section is filled with with matchstick quilting.

more matchstick quilting. Would I ever have used my walking foot to do multiple rows of straight quilting this close? You guessed right! But with a ruler and free motioning……you betcha! In no time an entire section is filled with with matchstick quilting.

And then I got creative trying to make a skyline to match our SKYLINE range of sewing machines......YES, you can use these rulers on the Skyline machines!

And then I got creative trying to make a skyline to match our SKYLINE range of sewing machines

 

 

About lizafrica

I work in the Education Dept at Janome & Elna, Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Janome Quilting Machines & accessories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to JANOME “RULER FOOT” PART 2

  1. Ann Bell says:

    Is there a ruler foot for the Janome 1100????

    Like

  2. Linda says:

    Looks like fun.

    Like

Share your comments

