SEWING SAMPLES TO INSPIRE ….

IMG_3840I have just returned from our bi-annual Janome & Elna Dealer Convention which was held in San Antonio, Texas this time. I was reminded of one of the things I seriously do not miss about Africa……scorching hot weather! It was so hot outside, I really could not walk far or do much and inside the air conditioning was so cold, I needed a sweater. But despite this, I really loved San Antonio and hope to return one day…..maybe mid- winter?!

They have a delightful and very ingenious River walk which is below street level and planted with trees & plants so is a cooler oasis and a very pleasant area which winds all over the city. They have boats which take you along these waterways where you can meander or eat in one of the 100’s of restaurants lining the river. Here are a few pics:

IMG_3854

IMG_3846

However, what I really want to show you are some of the beautiful projects that were displayed in various educator’s classrooms:

Remember our lovely "cross stitch ladies" on the JANOME MC 15000? I know many of our Mc15000 owners have done beautiful things with these designs.....here is another quilt project using the ladies in all their glory!

Remember our lovely “cross stitch ladies” on the JANOME MC 15000? I know many of our Mc15000 owners have done beautiful things with these designs…..here is another quilt project using the ladies in all their glory!

And do you recognize this design? It is one of the designs in the Quilting category on the JANOME MC15000. here is a novel twist: the design has been stitched on faux leather and then constructed into a very elegant jacket. See the next pic.

And do you recognize this design? It is one of the designs in the Quilting category on the JANOME MC15000. Here is a novel twist: the design has been stitched on faux leather and then constructed into a very elegant jacket. It was just lovely. See the next pic.

The jacket complete with matching bag with tassles!

The jacket complete with matching bag with tassles!

Isnt this clever? Now I am not totally sure how it was made as I was just clicking away in the Janome MC15000 classroom and we were too busy for me to ask about this bag but I suspect it was digitized with M B and then made up into a little square zipper bag.

Isnt this clever? Now I am not totally sure how it was made as I was just clicking away in the Janome MC15000 classroom and we were too busy for me to ask about this bag but I suspect it was digitized with the letters M and B and then the resulting embellished alphabet fabric was made up into a little square zipper bag.

More great little zipper bags - all sorts of shapes sizes.....and plenty of fun to make.

More great little zipper bags – all sorts of shapes sizes…..and plenty of fun to make.

I liked this bag....that is not actually a zipper on the side of the bag. It is embroidered onto the bag....so again I suspect this was digitized and stitched on our Janome Embroidery machines

I liked this bag….that is not actually a zipper on the side of the bag. It is embroidered onto the bag….so again I suspect this was digitized and stitched on our Janome Embroidery machines

It is so often thelittle extra touches that raise something from simple to extra-ordinary. Note the lace pearl trim along side the zipper.......something to remember and use in our projects, don't you think?

It is so often the little extra touches that raise something from simple to extra-ordinary. Note the lace pearl trim along side the zipper…….something to remember and use in our projects, don’t you think?

There are SO many lovely pics to show……more coming up in another post soon.

Aren’t you inspired to retire to your sewing room already?!

 

 

About lizafrica

I work in the Education Dept at Janome & Elna, Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SEWING SAMPLES TO INSPIRE ….

  1. tstolich says:

    would like to know if there is a felling foot that can be used on the Janome 15000 because Janome does not make one specifically for the 15000 Thanks

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi,
      I share your wish for a felling foot. Sorry, we do not have one although we have requested one at our International Educators meeting in Japan. Perhaps I will do a blog post on an alternative way of dealing with a felled seam until we get one?!

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

  2. Deb Edwards says:

    Thank you for the pics, they are very inspiring. I was at the Edmonton show this last weekend & was wondering if you had done the little girls outfit with the smocked top & shoes with tights. That was adorable! See you at the end of the month.

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Deb,
      You did not come & say hi. Was I too busy doing demo’s on the booth? Please come say hi at the Calgary show.
      No, I did not make that super cute little outfit. My coworker, Linda, in Toronto did. I love it! Glad you liked it.

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

Share your comments

